Taking a long, indefinite break

Over the past few months I’ve had to let the blog posts slide in frequency, though it’s not for lack of trying. Tarot continues to be an integral part of my life, of who I am, and shaping to be. In saying that, I am joyously taking a slight detour through the woods, a new path, a new beginning.

MM
At the half way mark and feeling very much like the Empress (or a Queen…)

My partner and I are expecting our first child in July, and among the preparations (read: I’m enjoying doing as little as possible for as long as I can, in a very good way) blogging has fallen to the side. Initially it was a lack of energy and the common “morning sickness”, although now the more delectable endeavour known as “nesting” is taking place.

Through it all I am still reading cards, though almost exclusively for myself (save for a handful of clients), every week, if not every day. Cups of nettle and red raspberry tea are savoured in vintage Crown Lynn, so some things will never change.

Despite this, I have to acknowledge time will become an increasingly rare commodity, and the blog is basically being put on hold. I am not even sure if I will keep it or delete it – it seems there’s 97 subscribers out there, and a few more regular readers, and I thank everyone for taking the time to browse through, comment, and give me feedback.

For anyone wishing to get in touch in the future, or request a reading, please go to my Whitsunday Oracle website (which is in a very draft stage – one more project to tidy up before the big day…) and you’ll find contact details there.

Finally, I’ll leave you with a lovely Tarot story about the beginning of my journey into pregnancy: a while before I fell pregnant, I asked the Dark Goddess Tarot for a Goddess to guide and help me through the journey of conception and birth. I needed a bit of encouragement and strength at that time, you know, when you really need the energy of the world to acknowledge and support you.

The Empress card from the Dark Goddess Tarot by Ellen Lorenzi-Prince
The Empress card from the Dark Goddess Tarot by Ellen Lorenzi-Prince

It so happens that I drew the Empress card, which was a very strong message of support and guidance for me at the time. I have actually taken this card out of the deck and kept it framed, either by my bedside table or on my Tarot study table, ever since. I know I still have a long way to go – and the best part is yet to come, but having her as my guide is exceptionally reassuring.

Again, thanks to everyone for taking the time to read and/or comment on my little corner of the world. I’ve loved it all and am grateful to live in a time when the Tarot world is so widely, and openly, created and shared. I thank all the women and men who have contributed towards making this world available and beautiful, despite considerable challenges over the past few decades.

Wishing everyone a blessed journey ahead,

Monica

21 thoughts on “Taking a long, indefinite break

  1. credencedawg April 9, 2015 / 11:31 pm

    thanks for your blog – I wish you much happiness🙂

    • Monica April 9, 2015 / 11:55 pm

      Thank you, much the same for you too, Blessings.

  2. mallow blossom April 10, 2015 / 12:40 am

    Monica,

    I am so sad to hear you won’t be blogging anymore. However I am so joyous that you are expecting! You have no idea how much this will change your world. If you think you don’t have time now to blog just wait till that little one comes along. Ah, but that is the way it should be. That little one will require all of your attention. You will be a wonderful mother, I am sure. Many, many blessings to you and your loved ones 🙂

    • Monica April 11, 2015 / 10:12 am

      Thank you for your warm wishes and comments🙂 Yes I gather I shall be rather busy for the next 20 years or so😉 Blessings.

  3. Mel April 10, 2015 / 2:18 am

    Best wishes Monica – enjoy this special time! We’ll see you around xxx

    • Monica April 11, 2015 / 10:13 am

      Thank you! I shall hopefully continue blogging… at some stage! Blessings.

  4. Tammy April 10, 2015 / 3:58 am

    I have enjoyed your blog tremendously, and I am thankful to you for sharing part of your life and your love of tarot with all of us. Congratulations on the new blessing coming your way!

    • Monica April 11, 2015 / 10:14 am

      Thank you Tammy, I am so happy to read of you enjoying the blog, your comments do mean a lot to me. Blessings.

  5. Ann April 10, 2015 / 5:43 am

    Congratulations! Thank you for all the tarot wisdom you have shared. Best of luck and joy always.

    • Monica April 11, 2015 / 10:15 am

      And many thanks to you too Ann for stopping by and commenting. I feel very blessed and hope to one day return… Blessings.

  6. tarottiferet April 10, 2015 / 7:06 am

    I’ve always enjoyed reading your blog, so if you return, we’ll see you then ..

    However, enjoy this new pathway into motherhood with your family. Wishing you all the very best!

    • Monica April 11, 2015 / 10:17 am

      Thank you and likewise, I’ve very much enjoyed reading your blog, all the way from the Princely beginnings😉 Will be keeping an eye out for your posts as always. Blessings.

  7. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) April 10, 2015 / 7:25 am

    OH. MY. GOSH. I had no idea! But at the same time, I am not surprised! I was waiting for this to happen! Congrats. I totally understand your desire to not overdo things in this crucial stage before motherhood. I know how it is…

    I will bookmark your other page, and I hope you’ll keep this blog, even if it lays fallow for a long while. It’s such a fun little place. Though I understand whatever you end up doing.

    Sending lots of love and support,
    MM

    • Monica April 11, 2015 / 10:18 am

      Ha ha, well there you go!! I also love your blog too Mentha and will be stopping by from time to time he he – one does need an infusion of colour and whimsy in one’s life, after all😉 Thank you for all your comments and thoughts over time. Blessings.

  8. velvetinabat April 10, 2015 / 8:38 pm

    How lovely that you are expecting a child🙂
    I’ve very much enjoyed reading your posts; I’m a rubbish ‘blogger’ myself but hugely appreciative of other people’s on-line journals and yours has/is very interesting.

    I hope everything goes smoothly for you.

    • Monica April 11, 2015 / 10:19 am

      Thank you so much, I do hope to return one day, though I may change the format and content – guess that’s inevitable! Blessings to you.

  9. D. D. Syrdal April 11, 2015 / 11:20 am

    Oh my gosh! Best wishes to you as you embark on this new chapter of your life! Congratulations! Wishing you an easy pregnancy and delivery🙂 And I will miss your lovely blog, but understand that there is only so much time in the day all too well. Be well.

    • Monica April 15, 2015 / 3:44 pm

      Thank you!! Yes an easy delivery sounds good to me too ha ha. All the very best for you too, look forward to some blogging catch ups one day in the future… Blessings.

  10. Ellie April 11, 2015 / 3:28 pm

    Monica, many blessing to you, your partner and your bundle of joy. Motherhood is the most fascinating and terrifying adventure a woman can endure, but boy is it worth it!

    • Monica April 15, 2015 / 3:49 pm

      Thank you for your wishes and blessings, I do look forward to the whole journey ahead of me🙂

  11. Yvonne Lovejoy April 16, 2015 / 2:18 pm

    That is such wonderful news, Monica..I am so happy for you and your partner…I can understand you wanting to devote your time to your self and the new life coming…..Your life will be forever changed……Many warm blessings to you…..

Leave a Reply

