Thunder and lightning

1

Above is a photo taken about a week ago, giving you some idea of just how dry it has been.

The grass is crunchy.

DSCF7895

After months of no rain, you start to really ache for some rain drops. You see the grass turning brown, and even the weeds dry up, and you start daydreaming about rainy days.

The flowers of a native tree, whose name I really do know, yet it's eluding me today...
The flowers of a native tree, whose name I really do know, yet it’s eluding me today…

And then finally, last night, the skies opened up. I think Zeus was right above us, for the lightning and thunder were relentless. Every few seconds the skies lit up, and the thunder kept rolling endlessly. It was quite the experience, I tell you – and it went on for what seemed like hours, though I couldn’t tell for sure since we fell asleep at some point, despite all the apocalyptic backdrop.

DSCF7903

So this morning’s first cards somewhat reminded me of rains and water, and lots of it – the Ace of Cups and the 2 of Cups. These are from the fairly new 78 Tarot, “a global art collaboration” of 78 different artists.

DSCF7904

 

I love collaborative decks, even though I don’t use them for public readings, but I just like the different styles of art and fresh ideas.

These three cards welcome a great day in my opinion, even though the rain has now subsided and the sun is out again.

Wishing everyone a splendid weekend,
Monica

4 thoughts on “Thunder and lightning

  1. The Crimson Moon December 14, 2014 / 12:21 am

    Living in Wales I can’t imagine what it’s like to go for months without rain! I’m glad you got some eventually, I love a good thunderstorm. Your cards certainly look like a good day ahead.

    PS. Just reading your about page… I was also born on a full moon with a Sagittarius Sun and Gemini Moon🙂

    • Monica December 15, 2014 / 4:40 pm

      Thank you fellow Sagittarian🙂 It’s a normal thing here in the tropics, a sunny winter with no rain followed by downpours throughout summer – still getting used to it! Blessings.

  2. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) December 15, 2014 / 4:41 am

    What a cool reading. Glad you got some rain. An interesting deck–I haven’t heard of it. Huge hugs…MM p.s. Love the tablecloth.

    • Monica December 15, 2014 / 4:41 pm

      Thank you Mentha! He he I did think the tablecloth is more your style🙂 I bought a couple of them a while back, now I wish I got more! The other one is a funky purple😉 Blessings.

Leave a Reply

