Full Moon in Aries

1
T
his is now my Tarot nook. In preparation for the Full Moon in Aries tarot work, I cleaned the table and changed the cloth. Normally it’s rather messy, with books, notebooks and stationery everywhere.

2

Moon in Aries is a “brain dehydrator” so the best I could do was a low-caffeine coffee. Tarot in a coffee cup doesn’t quite sound right though – but never mind.

3

I decided to work with a recent gift from a close friend, who happens to be a kiwi (there’s quite a few of us in Australia, it seems!). She had recently gone home and came back with her own old tarot deck, complete with the box she had always stored it in.

4

 

The one and only, Marseille Tarot. What a treasure this was! This is!! I couldn’t believe it when I opened it – aside from the fact I do not have this deck (and the only Marseille type deck I have is a Jean Noblet, which is a great one but I did always want another one – I suppose all readers say that🙂 )  – aside from this, it’s in mint condition, a 1982 print, all the cards are there and I love it.

6

5
I’m going to take my time with this deck, for now I just wanted a 3 card guidance reading:

7

 

The Tower, Page of Pentacles and the World – no big deal. As with any lunar eclipse, I think the message will take a while to filter through. My thoughts were, this is possibly related to me breaking through (Tower) my own fears and advertising a tarot course, which I will run as an eight week course on Monday nights. This is a new endeavour for me (Page of Pentacles) but it will indeed mean the World to have a small core group of students to share my experiences and knowledge with. I’m sure I will learn a lot as well – everyone who comes to the (Tarot) table has stories to tell and wisdom to share.

I’ve also, for the first time (appropriate for an Aries Moon!), started working with natural magic. I made an amulet, and consecrated it. I used frankincense from Mount Athos (Greece) to purify and bless it for magic. I think the three cards above are also a fitting description of this kind of work – there’s me in the middle, the student (Page of Pentacles), breaking through and shaping the material world, which natural magic is a part of.

Wishing everyone a blessed weekend ahead,

Monica

 

7 thoughts on “Full Moon in Aries

  1. Bobby October 9, 2014 / 3:34 pm

    How cool🙂 I love old decks. The card on the top right of your banner… is this actually from a deck? I love it!

    • Monica October 9, 2014 / 6:51 pm

      Hi Bobby – yes me too🙂 The card you are asking about is a modified Hermit (I changed it to black and white) from the Jolanda Tarot – I love the deck, check it out🙂

  2. Ellen October 9, 2014 / 11:04 pm

    What a cozy nook you have created for yourself Often less is more (without the books etc) Since I am a coffee person myself i think coffee and tarot go very well together, although “tea” sounds better:)

  3. graytarot October 11, 2014 / 2:38 am

    I’m curious. How have you been finding the Marseilles deck, Monica?

    • Monica October 12, 2014 / 12:41 pm

      Hello – I do really love this deck, although it will take me a while longer to be completely “comfortable” with it – I’ve always read with decks that have pictorial scenes in the Minor Arcana, so this will take some time to get used to. However, I think its history and mystique make this deck one of my favourites🙂

  4. Fern Mercier October 11, 2014 / 4:14 pm

    have you read – or rather acquired – Jean Michel David’s Reading the Marseille Tarot. (Association for Tarot Studies) If you haven’t got it – you need it! Wonderful book with good exercises for learning how to read the Marseille decks. Lovely Reading nook! x

    • Monica October 12, 2014 / 12:44 pm

      Ah, no – not yet!! I was going to get it at our last trip in Melbourne, and now I regret not doing so! Perhaps there is another Melbourne event to consider in the near future?😉 I shall have to order one online if I can – I see this deck as a long long-term companion🙂 Big hug to you xx

Leave a Reply

