A tarot spread on Geomancy

The Haindl Tarot
The Haindl Tarot

I decided to get a book on Geomancy thinking, erroneously, that it was about earth energy and lay lines and the like. As it turns out, Geomancy isn’t quite that, and as I started reading John Michael Greer’s The Art and Practice of Geomancy, it became apparent I have bitten off more than I can chew. Keep in mind, what with Moon in Gemini, intense study isn’t my cup of tea. Not that I’m not capable of it, I just need something like this broken down into little morsels, rather than one big gulp. Truth be told, Moon in Gemini expects to just inhale a book and absorb it all via osmosis.

Feeling a bit dejected by the fact I have to, you know, think (it is Sunday after all, folks), and caught by surprise that Geomancy isn’t something I’ll master in an afternoon, I drew the above cards with the following questions:

1. In a nutshell, what is Geomancy all about?
9 of Cups – Fortune

2. Advice for me on practicing Geomancy 
7 of Swords – Uselessness

3. What will be the outcome of studying and practicing Geomancy?
Ace of Swords in the South

4. What do I need to know about Geomancy?
Ace of Stones in the West

The advice card is excellent. On one hand, it mirrored how I felt about the whole thing. On the other hand, 7 of Swords (generally speaking) is a card where one tries to understand and learn. The Druidcraft version of this card shows this brilliantly:

Druidcraft Tarot
Druidcraft Tarot

Knowing this, and seeing the last 2 cards, gave me some hope. I shall have to put a bit more effort and set aside some study time for it. As for the first card – well I just had to laugh, and that’s all I’ll say for now.

“To the diviners of earlier times, the entire world was a dance of meanings that could be read by the perceptive eye and interpreted by the attentive mind. When birds flew past from a particular direction, when stars and planets assumed certain arrangements, or when the chance patterns of a geomantic divination gave rise to a specific set of figures and their interactions, some part of the great dance of the cosmos was brought into clearer view. All these events formed pages in what scholars and magicians of the Renaissance called the Book of Nature – a book that geomancers, among many others, studied with great care and learned how to read.” J M Greer, The Art and Practice of Geomancy

Wishing everyone a blessed week ahead.

Monica

2 thoughts on “A tarot spread on Geomancy

  1. Solstice Scents September 10, 2014 / 7:50 am

    I just found your blog after searching for information on the Herbal Tarot. I love it! I’ve already read several of your recent entries and look forward to seeing your thoughts on other decks and oracle cards as I go through your archive. Love the Haindl deck!

    • Monica September 11, 2014 / 12:10 am

      Thank you🙂 it’s my pleasure – I have not been able to write as often as I like, but rest assured will keep on posting. Happy reading and blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

