Tarot Spread : Choosing a business name

Ahhh, the conundrums of choosing a name. What’s in a name? What isn’t? etc etc …

For a while now I’ve been mulling over choosing a consultancy name. I’ve wanted to use my real name, since it is not a common one owing to its Romanian roots. Then I wanted something a bit more mystical, after which I penned down a gothic one, a witchcrafty one, a “sensible” one, and around and around I went until I came back to my real name and so on. Another Full Moon came and went, and divine inspiration eluded me still.

So, I did what any other self-respecting tarot reader would do, and drew some cards on my options.

Options 1 to 5  Tarot of the Absurd
Options 1 to 5
Tarot of the Absurd


I focused on five options, and used Tarot of the Absurd. In an instant, my focus narrowed down considerably. My consultancy vision will be on tarot and astrology, specifically on one-to-one consultations. Looking at all the cards above, the first one strikes me a a definite, based first on the visual imagery: two people engaged in an exchange. It’s a comforting scene, and what’s more this is the 4 of Wands, a great card in the Tarot due to its associations of happiness, celebrations, success. Overall though, I like the exchange of these two, the engagement and the energy shown in the card – and the fact they are facing each other as well.

Next was the third option, 10 of Cups – this is a card of emotional satisfaction and happiness. If I could combine option 1 and option 3 into a name, that would be grand.

As for the rest, none really jumped up.  Certainly not option 4, showing 2 people in a battle, swords drawn – sheesh! And not option 5, with too much going on in the card (option 5 was for a name not yet thought of, and it just looked like I’ll be going in circles again and again…) I’ll have to give it some thought, naturally. I’ve set myself a deadline in March, and in between now and then, I need to think about website design, logo, fliers, and everything else. I’m not computer savvy, if anything I am technically challenged, so there’ll be a few late nights no doubt, trying to figure all this out. Still, I have a dream, and it feeds the hunger, and that is all that matters.

Warm blessings,

6 thoughts on “Tarot Spread : Choosing a business name

  1. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) February 26, 2014 / 3:22 pm

    Those cards are really intriguing. I am drawn to them for sure! I’ll be curious to see what name you choose…

    • Monica February 26, 2014 / 4:09 pm

      Thanks Mentha – the deck is exceptional :) very fresh and ingenious, despite its “black and white”. Anyhow. This is harder than I thought!! :)

  2. Ellen February 27, 2014 / 4:45 am

    I notice the queen in the middle as if she is the one to help you decide on a name without an inch of a doubt :)

    • Monica March 2, 2014 / 10:47 am

      …the Queen of Swords is great for that, isn’t she. Option 2 was (and still is) my preferred option, actually – it will be a combination in the end, I think.

  3. Jennifer Barricklow February 28, 2014 / 8:03 am

    I agree with Ellen — the queen between options 1 and 3 appears to be whittling something down, peeling away the unessential to get at the heart of the matter. Sounds like an ally to me!

    • Monica March 2, 2014 / 10:48 am

      Ha ha, thank you Jennifer. Hmmm, I like what you are saying. Option 2 is still definitely “on the cards” :) Next week I am registering my business number, then it’s all on!!

Leave a Reply

