The Tarot Studio

Finally, I have a dedicated place to practice the craft. It is not mine, though I feel most at home there, and I am very blessed to have been offered the space for my tarot work.

A dark and cloudy day… The tarot studio in the foreground, the Healers Role behind it, and the Balinese garden surrounds. Bliss.

The space is part of The Healer’s Role, a magical space in the heart of Proserpine. Felicity Chapman is the Grand Alchemist and creatrix extraordinaire behind the Healer’s Role, where she creates magical potions for health and healing, performs Reiki treatments, and offers a sacred space to retreat from the hectic and often chaotic world out there.


It makes a huge difference to have a dedicated space for tarot work, a place away from home, and one that has air conditioning! ;) Believe me, when the daytime temperature is 30 Celsius at 10am in the morning, it matters. I am still in the process of getting bits and bobs sorted for my little nook, but overall I am ecstatic with the space.



Most importantly, I recognise that many, many women and men lack, yet crave, time for themselves, and I hope when they step inside, they enter a sanctuary. A sanctuary for their thoughts, their worries, their dreams, their pleasures, their visions, paths, strengths, tears, smiles. As a tarot reader, I’m in awe of what people share with me, in awe of their strength and fragility, and I feel enormously blessed to walk this path. Before each reading I offer a prayer and ask for blessings, guidance and protection for both the querent and myself.


I do feel blessed to have this opportunity, and even more, to have such a place in Proserpine. I offer much heartfelt gratitude to Felicity for having trust and sharing her dream with me.

The Balinese garden and courtyard adds a serene feel. Balinese furniture and garden ornaments are for sale throughout and beyond.
The Balinese garden and courtyard adds a serene feel. Balinese furniture and garden ornaments are for sale throughout and beyond.

Before leaving today I drew a card on the studio and on my work as a reader there. The King of Cups has actually come up before in readings relating to my tarot vocation, and I feel it’s a great card for a tarot reader.

King of Cups - Victorian Romantic Tarot by Baba Studio
King of Cups – Victorian Romantic Tarot by Baba Studio
Looking out towards the artist studio opposite.
Looking out towards the artist studio opposite.

And here I conclude my tour for today. I’ve come a long way, and have a longer way to go still. Today I relished each and every moment of this journey.

DSCF7218  Wishing everyone a blessed weekend,


18 thoughts on “The Tarot Studio

  1. pippalot February 8, 2014 / 8:45 pm

    Great news Mon! Congratulations :) xxx Zoe

    • Monica February 8, 2014 / 8:51 pm

      Thanks Zoe :) I am ecstatic, it’s a lovely place, you would love it. xxx mon

  2. louiseeddy66 February 8, 2014 / 9:10 pm

    That is such great news. I see there are new things in the courtyard, including Felicity’s bright red door. It is such a peaceful, beautiful space. I can’t wait to experience what you do for myself. It has been quite the year so far. :-) Lou.

    • Monica February 8, 2014 / 10:53 pm

      Thank you Louise, yes the bright red door is just the cherry I reckon :) Now we just need some comfy cushions and an outdoor screen projector for movie nights :)

  3. Adie February 8, 2014 / 9:10 pm

    Oh Mon – it looks amazing. You have created the most beautiful space for your craft and I will definitely spread the word. Between Felicity and you that area will draw very special people and become the healing centre of Proserpine. May the Universe provide you both with an abundance of love, prosperity and constant joy in your chosen crafts. Love ya’s. xxx

    • Monica February 8, 2014 / 10:54 pm

      Thank you Adie, Who would have thought, Proserpine eh ;) Making the Goddess proud. Love you too, hope to see you soon xx

  4. Ellen February 8, 2014 / 11:18 pm

    Hi Monica, this is truly a beautiful opportunity for you. I wish this place will bring you everything you have hoped for :)

    • Monica February 9, 2014 / 1:02 pm

      Thanks Ellen! I pray so too.

  5. Kathy B February 9, 2014 / 12:33 am

    What a magical place. I wish you the best!

  6. D. D. Syrdal February 9, 2014 / 5:11 am

    What a lovely place, best wishes for your great success there!

    • Monica February 9, 2014 / 1:03 pm

      Thank you DD, it’s such a lovely spot, very calm and harmonious. Will keep you updated.

  7. Jennifer Barricklow February 9, 2014 / 5:36 am

    Congratulations on finding such a lovely space to work in, and thank you for posting photos. As yet more snow falls outside my window, I’m just a tiny bit envious about needing the air conditioning. ;-)

    • Monica February 9, 2014 / 1:06 pm

      Your comments are very welcome and I thank you. As someone who is not fond of the cold, I don’t mind the heat that much, but when it comes to reading cards, an air conditioner is imperative!

  8. herself February 9, 2014 / 1:50 pm

    Looks like a beautiful studio! I especially love your altar by the door.

    • Monica February 9, 2014 / 11:20 pm

      Thank you, the Quan Yin image is actually a postcard from a museum. I like the colour and serenity it brings. I light my incense in front of my altar before smudging the room, it’s a small ritual that centres me.

  9. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) February 11, 2014 / 7:40 am

    What an excellent space, Monica! Does this mean you’re going to be doing readings regularly? What’s the news? ;)


    • Monica February 11, 2014 / 11:48 pm

      I hope so! at the very least I’ll have a comfortable place from which to build up a client base. I’m still doing my “normal” job, but will be hoping to phase it out later this year – we shall see!!

  10. mytarot3 March 4, 2014 / 10:40 pm

    uh… gosh! what a lovely place – i wish i had a place like this <3

Leave a Reply

