Enter the Death year

Death card from Anna K tarot deck
Death card from Anna K tarot deck

Hello 2014. Enter the Death year.

Technically, I entered the Death year in December, which is when my birthday is. I suppose I could reduce this down again, and say it’s the Emperor year, but that’s not how it works if you apply the Tarot system of 22 Major Arcana (except the Fool, which is 0). For numerology purists, single numbers would apply, I think.

Anyhow. See how I’m wondering off on tangents avoiding the elephant in the room? Death. Can there be a more charged card in the Tarot? I know, I know, for all the psychology enthusiasts out there, it’s all about transformation. But let’s infuse this with reality: it’s death, it’s the end. No iPhone app will change that one, I’m afraid.

Druidcraft Tarot
Druidcraft Tarot

I have a fairly good idea of what this will bring, notwithstanding the fact that in life, we often have no inkling of what’s around the corner ;) There will be an end to my environmental job this year, at some point. It won’t mean the end of my environmental path, far from it. But here I am, on a Monday morning, 20 minutes away from starting work, and I’m updating my blog. My priorities are evident.

I’ll be focusing most of my energies this year in creating an online and physical consultancy presence, with a focus on tarot, astrology and yoga therapy. This will mean finding a name, creating a website, getting fliers done, putting myself “out there”. I’ve avoided doing this so far as my environmental job is in a fairly mainstream organisation and don’t want to raise too many eyebrows in the small town where I live. Death asks, would the real Monica please stand up?

New Mythic Tarot
New Mythic Tarot

“It is rare that in your Death Year an actual death will occur, for it signifies transformation and regeneration as well as termination. In general, it’s more a time to shed old skin for new growth. Following a Hanged Man Year in which you faced whatever was hanging you up, now you are liberated, often resulting in a fresh surge of energy. You cut through stagnation to get to the things that work for you. By trimming off the deadwood and dying aspects of your life, you allow all the life force to flow into healthy parts so that they can spring forth anew. Whatever is destroyed this year makes way for new life.” Mary Greer – Who are you in the tarot?

Wishing everyone a blessed 2014,


8 thoughts on “Enter the Death year

  1. Felicity Chapman January 13, 2014 / 5:16 pm

    Pleased to hear the true Monica is standing up, looking forward to seeing you have a very successful year in all aspects of your life.

    • Monica January 14, 2014 / 9:42 am

      Thanks Felicity :) Something to consider for the vision board! x

  2. Ellen January 13, 2014 / 10:39 pm

    In my opinion Death is a great year card. I think it can be so freeing to be able to let things go and make room for new adventures. It is hard and scary sometimes, but in the end you gain often more than you had to leave behind

    • Monica January 14, 2014 / 9:44 am

      Thank you Ellen, certainly I agree. It will be an epic year for me, after the balance of Justice in 2012 and the stillness of the Hanged Man in 2013. I’ll be savouring every bit of it ;)

  3. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) January 14, 2014 / 12:44 pm

    Right on! I’d rather have Death than waiting. At least it’s not the Tower. :D Death is timely change…hopefully it will all be good stuff. I’m sure you’ll do well with it. How do you do the math on what year it is for you? I may need help figuring this out. Using regular numerology I’m in a ‘1’ year, which is new beginnings/new ventures/fresh energy–which is also kinda similar to the Death energy.

    • Monica January 15, 2014 / 10:15 am

      Thanks Mentha :) You add the day and month of birth and the current year of birthday. Say your birthday will be on 1 February 2014 – then you add 1 + 2 + 2 + 1 + 4 = 10. Some people would reduce that to a 1, for me 10 as the Wheel of Fortune was apt: whirlwind year of travel! Note that this would apply from 1 Feb 2014 to 1 Feb 2015. Hope that this makes sense! xx

      • Ellen January 15, 2014 / 10:53 am

        I have a question about this too:
        when I add up my birthday and this year I get 3+5+2+1+4=15 Devil
        But when I count like I’ve seen on other blogs: 3+5+2014= 2022= 6 Lovers
        So what method is best or doesn’t it matter as long as you stick to one method.?

      • Monica January 15, 2014 / 3:18 pm

        Hi Ellen

        15 for the Devil again adds up to 1+5=6 (sorry to state the obvious!)

        So, for people who don’t work with the Tarot, they would reduce to a single digit. But if you do work with the Tarot system, you’d reduce to 2 digits up to 21 (the last card of the Major Arcana).

        That’s if you are interested in seeing if there is a correlation between the events of your year and the Major Arcana symbolism. I’ve found that to be true, e.g. Number 10 year was a year of massive changes and lots of overseas travel. See what the year brings :)

Leave a Reply

