Soul Search Tarot Spread

Friends, I am placing the blog on holiday for a while, since I’m heading off for one too :) We’re loading the bus up, and heading to the northern shores of Queensland, in search of sun, chilling, good food, awesome beaches, the most amazing rainforest sights (the Daintree) and a bit of tarot reading at the lovely Mission Beach festival not far from Cairns :)

Tough life, I know. We’ll be away for two weeks, which is never enough, but a welcome break, nonetheless. I’ll be back mid-October or so. Until then, I’ve dug the post below from the archives (it’s very lazy of me, but I have to pack and plan and am running out of time!) To redeem for my lack of fresh ideas, I must say the post below really struck a chord with me at the time. And I realise I haven’t blogged about any other spreads I dreamt of while reading Women who run with the wolves, which is something I’ll be thinking of while on holiday and hopefully will share when I return.

Many blessings,

Soul Search

This is a very simple spread, with only 2 cards. It came to me while reading Women Who Run With the Wolves, by Clarissa Pinkola Estes. I have many, many spreads from this seminal book. This one is from the story about losing and finding one’s soulskin.

It is a spread on a noble quest, the soul search.  What is it you seek in life, what is it you want? What does your gut response tell you? Don’t kid yourself, for the ego and the soul want different things, and so, how do you know what you want? Shuffle your deck, and pick two cards. The first card answers the question What does my soul want? The second card answers the question What does my ego want? Take the time to focus before doing this spread, turn off all external noise, find a quiet space, and focus. This is what I got.

Soul Search Spread – Rider Waite Smith deck

1. What does my soul want? The High Priestess.

Mystery, intuition, the subconscious, behind the veil, the unknown. She who knows but doesn’t tell. What a powerful woman, a woman initiated. My soul wants to seek, my soul yearns to contemplate a full moon, my soul wants life to be a mystery, my soul will take nothing but the sacred. My soul asks for a woman true to herself, she doesn’t have to justify herself to no one else. My soul wants to understand, to study, to learn, to be dedicated to the inner work, to know and to not know.

2. What does my ego want? 3 of Swords.

My ego wants pain. Ego loves pain, and sorrow, and martyrdom. The same story that energetically sucks you into a black vortex of “poor me”. Ego wants a threesome, a love triangle, or maybe just a deep, deep release of pain. Janina Renee notes “this card could denote someone whose view of reality has been distorted by depression, indicating a need to change perceptions”. Ego wants heartbreak.

11 thoughts on “Soul Search Tarot Spread

  1. Ellen September 26, 2013 / 12:46 am

    I wish you a wonderful holiday and I am looking forward to more spreads inspired by “Women who run with wolves”. This is a book a keep reading again and again. And every time I find new treasures in there. :)

  2. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) September 26, 2013 / 5:43 am

    HAVE AN AWESOME TIME!!! You rock. Wish I could see that. :) See you in October!

    p.s. that is one intense spread–I love it!

    • Monica September 26, 2013 / 10:38 pm

      Thanks Mentha :) Will certainly do. No work, lots of sun, beaches, chillaxing…. will have to take some photos :)

  3. Jenni Robertson September 26, 2013 / 10:08 am

    It is amazing how sweet life can become, have a enchanting journey and would love to catch up when you get back. Love & Light Jenni

    • Monica September 26, 2013 / 10:38 pm

      Thank you Jenni :) Yes a catch up when I return is due. Hope you are well xx

  4. Ditto September 27, 2013 / 10:24 pm

    go well Monica

    • Monica October 13, 2013 / 10:58 am

      Thank you Paula it was incredible and I could do with another two weeks somewhere up north, far far away :)

  5. October 10, 2013 / 5:04 pm

    Have a fantastic holiday! I’m starting to get excited for winter and the festivities too :)

    • Monica October 13, 2013 / 11:00 am

      Thank you :) Now that you’ve mentioned it, I’m ready for the next holiday ha ha :) Two weeks flew by in a dream.

  6. Virginie October 20, 2013 / 6:50 am

    Hello, I just nominated you for the Liebster Award because I really think you deserve it. Of course you don’t have to participate if you don’t want too. If you are interested please check the rules and questions will be blogged this weekend. Love, Virginie

    • Monica October 21, 2013 / 10:42 am

      Thank you – that is a beautiful gesture. I am not sure I will participate – simply because I am too busy at present, perhaps later in the year. It put a smile on my face though :) Blessings.

Leave a Reply

