From the archives : Veronika Tarot Spread

I am re-posting below am entry from my archives, a while back. I think the starting quote, one of my favourites, came to mind straight away when I read something a good friend sent me: Women of Power.

Photo of Maria Ela Lewańska from Women of Power by Katarzyna Majak
Photo of Maria Ela Lewańska
from Women of Power by Katarzyna Majak

‘Women of Power’ is a series 29 portraits of Polish witches, healers, enchanters, visionaries and spiritual leaders. According to what Ewelina Jarosz wrote about the project: “The title points to Katarzyna Majak’s intention to develop and socially rehabilitate women identifying themselves with the widely understood spirituality of their ancestors, Mother Goddess, pagan beliefs, and old sources of wisdom, which may still empower and inspire contemporary secularized consciousness by its valuable content and alternative energy”. The website for the project along with more detailed descriptions of some of the women can be found here. I think I’m starting to really enjoy this Hanged Man year. It’s cementing and solidifying my path, bit by bit, ever so slowly yet surely. Every time I have a doubt about my path or purpose (and I’ve had plenty), there’s a reassuring nudge from the universe. 

‘Am I cured?’
‘No. You’re someone who is different, but who wants to be the same as everyone else. And that, in my view, is a serious illness.’
‘Is wanting to be different a serious illness?’
‘It is if you force yourself to be the same as everyone else: it causes neuroses, psychoses and paranoia. It’s a distortion of nature, it goes against God’s laws, for in all the world’s woods and forests, He did not create a single leaf the same as another. But you think it’s mad to be different and that’s why you chose to live in Villette, because everyone is different here, and so you appear to be the same as everyone else. Do you understand?’

from Veronika Decides to Die by Paulo Coelho

Another simple two card spread came to mind reading the above. A few people I know do not like Paulo’s writing style, which is a shame, although millions have been touched by his books. Regardless of whether his writing is liked or not, the messages contained within are so relevant – take the above paragraph, in the context of the rise and rise of prescription medicines for depression, anxiety and so on. Anyhow, I kept this one simple. One could ask for advice on how to nourish or support what makes them different and so on. I chose the Vanessa tarot mainly because I received this not long ago from a friend and wanted to try it out, though I feel it is more of a “practical” deck for day-to-day events.

1. How am I different
2. How do I conform

Veronika Tarot Spread using Vanessa Tarot

Well, look at that. I conform in a group, and am different on my own, is perhaps what really stands out. The 3 of cups explains the How – social situations, parties, friendships – how many times hasn’t it happened. Not always a bad thing, of course. As for the Queen of Wands, the words freedom and adventure jump right out of that card. So vibrant and alive, that one. When I was young, about 8 or 9, my friends asked “What do you want to be when you grow up?” Everyone had something to answer: doctor, pilot, architect. My answer: I want to be an adventurer. I kid you not. Everyone had a good laugh on that account – you know, what kind of a job is that, it’s not a proper job blah blah blah. At that time I was reading a children’s version of Jules Verne, and was so engrossed in that world, so mesmerized by it all, I lived it and loved it with pure naivety. And so far, I have to say, life has been a pretty fascinating journey.

8 thoughts on “From the archives : Veronika Tarot Spread

  1. Zanna Starr September 16, 2013 / 2:50 am

    I love those two cards in those two positions, Monica. And the subject of being different vs being “the same” has been such an important issue in my life. I remember feeling isolated (different) as a child, and then connecting with a friend, and agreeing that we were both “different” (or “odd” as we liked to put it), and that was just fine with us.

    • Monica September 17, 2013 / 3:55 pm

      Thanks Zanna🙂 The more I think about those two cards, the more insight I get. I love the wild and carefree Queen of Wands and I would love to have horses too ha ha. At the core, the message is indeed “be who you genuinely are” versus some society construct. I think that applies to everyone. Blessings.

  2. D. D. Syrdal September 16, 2013 / 4:13 am

    It’s very difficult to be ‘different’ in any way in a world that demands conformity.

    • Monica September 17, 2013 / 3:57 pm

      Indeed, how true. The most conflicting thing is the conflicting messages we receive about being ourselves versus the common expectation of fitting in. Blessings.

  3. Jennifer Barricklow September 17, 2013 / 7:17 am

    Thank you for this timely (for me) reminder that the urge to be different and the urge to conform can be healthy or unhealthy, depending on how we express them and where we let them take us. As much fun as it is to explore and unravel complex spreads, I find myself more and more drawn to the simpler ones because of the depth of consideration they invite.

    • Monica September 17, 2013 / 3:58 pm

      Thank you Jennifer, I agree, while from time to time I do larger spreads, the simple ones can be so straightforward and to the point. Blessings.

  4. Ellen September 21, 2013 / 11:33 am

    I am going to try this spread out. So strong in its simplicity. Thank you

    • Monica September 21, 2013 / 2:24 pm

      Thank you Ellen. I would love to see what you receive – if you are happy to share that is. I love how one can ask the cards pretty much anything, as long as you are ready for the answers. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

