Happiness and contentment spread

Haindl Tarot
Haindl Tarot

It must be the mid-year funk – there are no public holidays for a while, the New Year break is a long way away, and an irritable energy hangs in the air. God only knows we’ve had nothing but sunny skies for a while now, hot days and warm evenings, the garden looks great and peace is upon us. Nevermind all that, sometimes the tension of trying to direct one’s life on the path true to one’s heart permeates through the calmness and deep fears raise their ugly heads. I’ve even stepped away from the blog, from checking other blogs, and leaned on Leunig for some support.

Leunig

Michael Leunig
Michael Leunig

M Leunig M Leunig lifeache

And then, I picked up my trusty Haindl and asked for advice on what I need to do in order to be happy and content. I guess I just wanted to see what the cards had to say, versus reading a book on buddhism or doing a yoga practice…

So, the cards I drew said to me: adopt a more carefree attitude and don’t take yourself too seriously (The Fool), keep an optimistic and positive frame of mind (The Sun – and maybe some more sun and vitamin D wouldn’t hurt). Then Osiris was rather interesting. Here are some of the quotes from Rachel Pollock’s book on this deck that resonated with me:

As a ruler, Osiris taught agriculture to humanity… In readings Osiris symbolizes someone gentle yet persuasive. He is highly intelligent and may be an initiate into esoteric mysteries, or at least someone with a strong interest in esoteric matters. ” I guess I have a love for organic gardening (in a way, agriculture) and the “occult”, so the advice on what to do is to follow these, though I think specifically my studies in tarot and astrology which have languished over the last few months. I shall keep this in mind.

Many blessings,
Monica

8 thoughts on “Happiness and contentment spread

  1. D. D. Syrdal August 19, 2013 / 11:55 am

    Sometimes it’s hard to just keep on keepin’ on. Maybe there’s nothing spectacular going on right now, but trust me, that’s better than disaster looming.

    • Monica August 21, 2013 / 12:08 am

      True that DD. Maybe a relic of mid winter blues from my New Zealand past?!😉

  2. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) August 19, 2013 / 3:11 pm

    I feel like I was reading an excerpt from the pages of my own mind. I can totally relate! I get into lingering funks that I can only describe as ‘divine discontent’. I think, with our South Node in Pisces, that this is entirely normal. And doing something in our North Node (Virgo) such as gardening and herbalism and the like is a great idea. And the occult stuff is what is normal and natural to us–so that can be a great comfort.

    Lotsa hugs n’ healing,
    MM

    • Monica August 21, 2013 / 12:09 am

      Hah, yep agree with the node stuff. North node in Virgo is excellent for grounding work like gardening etc. Thank you xx

  3. JJ August 21, 2013 / 2:15 am

    Leunig seems like a wise fellow. I’ve never heard of him but that’s probably because he’s Australian and I’m in Canada.

    I get you about the blog thing, I pulled back too. In some ways it’s like watching the news on television, we get a compact view of things but we are focused on the electronic box, no one looks out at the sky.

    See, we hear everything about Kim Kardashian et al. but nothing about Michael Leunig.

    The Haindl was my second deck, there is something about it.

    • Monica September 1, 2013 / 5:47 pm

      Yes he is indeed a wise fellow. I like his sense of humour, though it can be very political too. The Haindl is my favourite deck, ever🙂

  4. Izrea August 29, 2013 / 4:06 am

    Makes good sense to me that to be more happy and content, get out in nature … every day, even if only for a short walk or to sit under a tree. It makes a world of difference. I wonder why more people don’t think of it.

    A year ago when my friend lost her husband to suicide, I advised her to get out and work in her garden and among her flowers. “The plants will comfort you and help you heal,” I said.

    • Monica September 1, 2013 / 5:48 pm

      Nature healed me too when I was in a dark place. It’s my place of comfort. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

