Songs for the journey home

Finally, it has arrived. This is one of those deck I’ve been waiting for, for a long, long time. Before I let the photos do the talking, I need to say a few things. Firstly, it is a New Zealand deck, people. Not Australian, as I’ve seen it being referred to😉 You may want to enjoy a nice slice of pavlova while shuffling this, since that’s also a kiwi creation, ha ha… (anyone disputing this will be reported to the authorities). If you are interested in obtaining a copy, check out the website here.

This is a truly beautiful deck. It is the creation of Dwariko von Sommaruga and Catherine Cook, and comes with a detailed book on the creation journey for both women, and on the deck imagery and interpretations as well. I found reading their stories utterly fascinating and inspiring. I plan to do a review in the near future, but for now, please enjoy…

DSCF6030

DSCF6033

DSCF6035

DSCF6037

DSCF6038

With all new decks, I draw one card when I first receive them as a gesture of blessing but also guidance. I drew Renewal (the Temperance card) which I fondly refer to as “my” card in the tarot (it is associated with Sagittarius).

DSCF6042

Warm blessings
Monica

7 thoughts on “Songs for the journey home

  1. D. D. Syrdal July 22, 2013 / 4:06 am

    I didn’t realize this deck was still available. I’ve had it for years, think I got in on a group order when I was active on the Tarot-L mailing list. Both creators even signed the book I received. Dwariko sadly passed away a few years ago. This is a lovely deck that helped get me through a very bad time in my life.

    • Monica July 23, 2013 / 12:58 pm

      That is such a lovely comment to read, about the deck helping you get through tough times. It is a gentle deck, soothing and comforting I feel. Blessings.

  2. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) July 22, 2013 / 6:40 am

    Oh, pretty!

    Love the background you chose, too, with the woven table runner or whatever it is. I like this–I love smallish round decks with lots of color. Haha…

    Hugs,
    MM

  3. JJ July 24, 2013 / 1:57 am

    What a treasure! This was the 7th deck I bought, way back at the beginning in 2002 and I still love it. I like the philosophy of the book and was saddened when I learned that Dwariko had died three years ago. She must have been a gentle spirit because her art is so lovely.

    Unlike a lot of the newer decks, it holds up, they put so much of themselves in it. Yup, I’ve always loved it.

    • Monica July 24, 2013 / 1:10 pm

      Totally agree JJ. The art is so soothing, and the gentle spirits of the artists come through really well (they both contributed to the art and the writing as well, it was not a separate activity for them). This whole deck also to me speaks about what NZ as a whole stands for, despite idiot politicians and corrupt business practices that have become prevalent over the past decade or two. To me the whole feel of NZ is embodied in the deck, sometimes it’s like I’m touched by the west coast winds and waves shuffling it. Ok that may be a bit dramatic, but there you go😉

  4. Sharyn July 24, 2013 / 9:14 am

    My all time favorite deck. The one I go to in hard times. The images are both comforting and their difference from rws always pulls out something unexpected.

    • Monica July 24, 2013 / 1:13 pm

      Hi Sharyn, that is such a great comment, and you are not the first to say that this is the deck to reach out for when in troubled times. I am sure both artists (Catherine and Dwariko) are warmed by these sentiments. I know Dwariko has passed away, but the spirit lives on, when the body dies (a line from a song…). Anyhow. Hope the land of Toth is treating you well🙂

Leave a Reply

