Case Studies in Tarot : Case Study 4

Question: Will I find true love? Will I be in a relationship soon? 

Before I proceed, I must talk a little bit about the nature of this question, and admit it took me a little while to come up with the final spread. Firstly, let me say there is nothing wrong with the questions per se. Aside from the philosophy of what constitutes “true love”, which can be debated endlessly and is subject to cultural viewpoints and bias, this is, in essence, a question most people deeply want an answer for. My main conundrum, though, was how to actually ask this of the cards. This is because the question is what is known as a “Yes” or “No” question, and usually I do ask a client if they are ready for the answer. The advantages of a person – to – person reading is that you can go through these issues first, and offer a spread that benefits and empowers the client. One has to ask, do you truly want to know the answer to this question, and if it isn’t to your liking, what will you do with this answer?

Beyond this, though, and most importantly, is the realisation that love is not a commodity reserved for a select “lucky’ few – and, for a client’s benefit, the better question would be, “what do I need to do in order to be in a fulfilling and loving relationship?” as this places the power and ability to be in such a relationship with the client, not with the cards, and certainly not with me.

The above noted aside, I decided, in this instance, to draw two cards to answer each of the querent’s questions directly, rather than re-work the questions.

Tarot Spread with Golden Tarot deck Cards 1 and 2 (top), Cards 3 and 4 (bottom)
Tarot Spread with Golden Tarot deck
Cards 1 and 2 (top), Cards 3 and 4 (bottom)

Will I find true love? – Cards 1 and 2 : The World and Wheel of Fortune

Will I be in a relationship soon? Cards 3 and 4 : 9 of Swords and Ace of Wands

Golden Tarot Cards 1 and 2
Golden Tarot
Cards 1 and 2

Will I find true love? – Cards 1 and 2 : The World and Wheel of Fortune

If you ever had doubts about this, please don’t. The answer to this question is a definitive Yes. I decided to draw two cards instead of one, for extra clarity, and in this instance, both cards support a “Yes” answer. I particularly like the scene shown in the Wheel of Fortune card in this deck, showing a family scene. This is a strong indication finding love will lead to a family down the track. The World card is a great, good omen in this question, in fact in most questions it bestows luck, benefit, and abundance.

Golden Tarot Cards 3 and 4
Golden Tarot
Cards 3 and 4

Will I be in a relationship soon? Cards 3 and 4 : 9 of Swords and Ace of Wands

The 9 of Swords indicates the immediate future is not favourable for a relationship, however the Ace of Wands shows this won’t last long. I read the timeline from left to right, so for the immediate future, the answer is No, but, the Ace of Wands confirms this won’t last long. The Ace of Wands is a card of new beginnings, depicted here by an angel. I also see the 9 of Swords as a card of worries (often known as the card of bad dreams, nightmares and anxieties in Tarot), showing you possibly may worry too much about when and how and whether you will be in a relationship after all. Please do not, as easy as this may seem as an answer! This was a very clear reading, and there is no ambiguity as to whether this will happen or not, as explained in the previous question. I wish you all the very best for the future and thank you for your submission.

Warm blessings,
Monica

7 thoughts on “Case Studies in Tarot : Case Study 4

  1. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) June 18, 2013 / 2:40 am

    Very well interpreted, Monica! Glad to see you back.🙂

    I think you did a very good job with the yes/no answer but also the timing question–two things that aren’t always easy with tarot. I’ve been working on my timing stuff but I still don’t quite have it. The yes/no cards I’ve done a bit. Sometimes I will get mixed answers, which confuses me, but again…with practice it is easier to sort them out.

    XOXO,
    MM

    • Monica June 18, 2013 / 9:48 am

      Thanks Mentha! Yeah I know what you mean, I was reluctant to ask the questions as the querent wrote them, but then sometimes as a tarot reader you have to trust your instinct as well and mine said just do it🙂

  2. D. D. Syrdal June 18, 2013 / 4:21 am

    Nice “spin” on the Wheel there😉 I always think when the Wheel shows up that change is coming, and since most questions deal with wanting an end to troubles (financial, marital, work, etc.) a change to me indicates a change for the better.

    Hope you had a good time at the festival!

    • Monica June 18, 2013 / 9:50 am

      Thanks DD. I wasn’t sure if the querent actually wanted a family, but nonetheless this is what the card shows. I guess family can take many forms these days as well. I definitely took the Wheel to mean a change for the better as it sits so nicely next to the World card. And yes, loved the festival, I must blog about it sometime🙂

  3. Alie June 18, 2013 / 1:48 pm

    Great reading and spread!

  4. Joseph June 18, 2013 / 5:25 pm

    This may have answered a dark area for me. Thanks!

  5. Zanna Starr June 19, 2013 / 12:18 am

    Nice way to handle these yes-no questions. Like MagicMentha, I often get mixed answers to such questions — I can’t help thinking it is the Tarot’s way of discouraging that type of question.

Leave a Reply

