Tarot Case Studies : Case Study 3

(I will be away from tomorrow at a folk festival doing readings, so won’t be able to respond to any emails until mid-June. If you would like a reading, please check out the Case Studies in Tarot page. Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!)

Question:

  • I work in a large bureaucracy which is about to undergo cutbacks. Most of the cuts will start 2 years from now but we should soon find out which areas are affected. I am well liked and do well at work but that isn’t a guarantee that I’ll do okay.  I am worried about my job.
  • I recently bought a house which is turning out to be a bit more expensive than I thought. I am worried about not being able to afford it.

My question: How should I focus my efforts through this time? And what I really want to know – will I lose my job? Will I get another one easily? Will I be able to keep the house?

5 card spread using the Herbal Tarot deck
5 card spread using the Herbal Tarot deck

Firstly, thank you for your request. Once again, I decided to draw 5 cards as follows:

1. Main card for you, your current situation – 5 of Cups
2. Advice for you: how you should focus your efforts during this time – King of Wands
3. Your job: current situation – 5 of Wands
4. Your job: what the future will bring – 3 of Cups
5. Will you be able to keep the house? – Ace of Pentacles

Cards 1 (left), 2 (centre) and 3 (right)
Cards 1 (left), 2 (centre) and 3 (right)

1. Main card for you, your current situation – 5 of Cups
This is a card of dejection, loss and sadness. Even though you have not received any confirmation yet, this card shows someone feeling rather down on themselves, dwelling on a loss of some form. His demeanor is not very encouraging or happy. I think you may be anticipating the worst, even though from your email it seems nothing is in concrete as yet.

2. Advice for you: how you should focus your efforts during this time – King of Wands
The King of Wands is someone who exudes confidence, determination and drive. Compare his stance with the man in Card 1 – what a difference! The King of Wands has no fear, he is rather confident, not just because he believes all will be all-right, but because he has confidence in his skills and experience. As an advice card, this card tells you to adopt all these qualities, of course without being arrogant or false. Some other qualities of this King are charismatic, energetic, and optimistic. I hope you can draw on some of these qualities in the near future, as this is the main advice for you.

3. Your job: current situation – 5 of Wands
This is a card of competition. In many decks this card shows a number of people competing against each other, or having some form of conflict with each other, though this is not necessarily a major conflict. When I saw this card, I thought about the usual competition and politics that take place in a large organisation (I work in one myself!!), and this will be even more so now that cut-backs are looming. The thing with this card is that it may feel like everyone has their own agenda and no-one is working together constructively, but once again, is not really a card showing major, ugly conflict.

Cards 4 (left) and 5 (right)
Cards 4 (left) and 5 (right)

4. Your job: what the future will bring – 3 of Cups
This is the main card to really answer your question about whether you will lose your job, and in a nutshell, it is incredibly positive and shows you will not lose your job. The 3 of Cups is a card of celebration and good times.

5. Will you be able to keep the house? – Ace of Pentacles
Well I must say I don’t usually ask direct Yes or No questions, but there are no definite rules with Tarot. When asking a Yes or No question though, the Ace of Pentacles stands for a definite Yes! All Aces do, really. I did note that the card underneath the deck is the Strength card, showing you will have to draw on your own strength to make it through this period, and it won’t necessarily be easy, and the same goes for keeping the house. Naturally, common sense is advisable, and spending habits have to be really frugal with a mortgage – but your question largely also depends on what will happen with your job, which is a very positive outcome, and this is reflected in a Yes answer to this question.

I wish you all the very best with work and your home. Many blessings,
Monica

 

4 thoughts on “Tarot Case Studies : Case Study 3

  1. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) June 6, 2013 / 4:49 am

    Gorgeous reading, as always. Good luck to the person asking the question. And I hope you have a truly wonderful time at the festival. I wish I could go with you! Lotsa hugs to you and see you when you get back.🙂

  2. D. D. Syrdal June 6, 2013 / 5:19 am

    Sure looks good. I would say to the person since they’re worried about their job, keep your resume up-to-date. These days everyone should be doing that. Update it at least annually. Even if you don’t lose your job, something better might suddenly appear and you want to be ready with your resume and references.

    Have fun at the festival Monica!

  3. Joseph June 6, 2013 / 1:14 pm

    You certainly know how to enlighten people,Monica. Don’t stop.

    Enjoy being a part of the festival!

  4. Erika June 9, 2013 / 6:12 am

    Thanks for the reading – it’s very helpful. It’s quite true that I’ve been living more 5 Cups than I need to be – if nothing else, trying to let go of unneeded worry and disappointment will be good for me. It’s a really positive reading and comforting. I think too, that a change in attitude may help change my interactions from 5 Wands into something better.

    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

