Case Studies in Tarot : Case Study 2

Question: My business venture: should I bother continuing with it, or should I throw in the towel? Also: if I do continue with it, what form should it take? Recommendations? Is there something else my time could be better served doing?

5 card spread using the Baroque Bohemian Cats Tarot (mini deck version)
5 card spread using the Baroque Bohemian Cats Tarot (mini deck version)
(click on the photo for larger size)

First, my apologies for the photo quality. In a perfect world I would have a new laptop, and a new camera, and an editor🙂 As it stands, we don’t live in a perfect world, and I no longer use credit to pay for stuff. But I digress…

Above we have the 5 card spread I did for this question. Here are the card positions and the answer for each:

1) The business venture: current situation – 10 of Swords
2) How you feel about this venture – 8 of Cups
3) Advice for you: what to do – The Magician
4) Advice for you: what not to do – Queen of Wands
5) Outcome for your venture – Strength

It was a bit difficult to focus on key aspects, given the querent’s initial questions above, but I hope this gives some direction.

Cards 1 (bottom) and 2 (top)
Cards 1 (bottom) and 2 (top)

1) The business venture: current situation – 10 of Swords
Oh dear. Things aren’t looking that good when this card comes up. I don’t want to make it sound “nicer” or “happier” than what it actually is. Sometimes, things are just not rosy. In this card, we have a cat covering her eyes while 10 swords hang above her. Perhaps she is afraid they are ready to fall on her, perhaps she just doesn’t want to look. Either way, this is a card of “reaching the lowest point”.

2) How you feel about this venture – 8 of Cups
Well, it looks as if you are ready to walk away from it. Certainly you have your back turned towards it, though not entirely, as the image shows. I asked this question because I think it’s important: feelings colour so much of our life, and in this case the answer gives some understanding to your questions.

Cards 3 (left), 4 (right) and 5 (centre)
Cards 3 (left), 4 (right) and 5 (centre)

3) Advice for you: what to do – The Magician
The Magician is a strong ally: he tells you the power is in your hands, and you are capable of transformation. You may not feel like this (as noted above), but it is definitely achievable. Here are some of the keywords for this card by the authors: “focused creativity; the power to transform; applied energy; thrilling concepts brought to life; a flash of inspiration.” The key to it all, is taking action. It advises you to keep going, but to use your energies to create and transform, rather than walking away, even though you may well feel like it.

4) Advice for you: what not to do – Queen of Wands
Hmmm… I was a bit puzzled by this card initially. To me, it tells you not to engage in the dramatic – that is, the drama that often plays in our mind when things don’t go according to plan. But more than this, in this deck I see the Queen of Wands as simply watching, whereas the Magician, above, is doing. The Queen of Wands is enjoying the opera, while the Magician is in his laboratory, creating. The Queen of Wands is distracted by the show, the Magician is focusing his creativity towards realisation.

5) Outcome for your venture – Strength
Strength is the card of fortitude. It’s about having the determination and perseverance to overcome obstacles and challenges. It’s about not losing the plot when the going gets tough. It doesn’t mean your venture will be that dramatic, but the ability to take it into the future hinges on adopting this quality. The cat is able to tame the demon dragon, without a crinkle in her dress😉 With this card, a bit of patience goes a long way. You will have to apply strength, patience, determination, to have a good outcome to the business venture. I am sure there are many independent business owners that would agree with this!

I do wish you all the very best with your business venture. Thank you for your request, and I do hope it was of help to you. Many blessings,
Monica

10 thoughts on “Case Studies in Tarot : Case Study 2

  1. joe faust June 3, 2013 / 12:32 am

    Well presented Monica,excellent business principles

    .Why would anyone want to just walk away when you have come this far.

    • Monica June 3, 2013 / 10:28 am

      Thank you for your comments. I have not started a business myself, so I admit I do not understand all the ins and outs. I have received feedback on this reading so will post this up in the near future. Blessings.

  2. Zanna Starr June 3, 2013 / 2:03 am

    Wonderful reading! I appreciate the challenge of trying to focus on key aspects, given the question(s). I love that the cards are acknowledging the possibility that the new business venture might not be all roses and sunshine, but that doesn’t mean it should be dismissed.

    • Monica June 3, 2013 / 10:30 am

      Thank you Zanna! I think I may do a post on asking questions, or how to ask them, rather ha ha🙂 But I don’t mind usually, I just don’t have the time to do a 12 card spread so have to limit to a maximum of 5 or 6 that are relevant to the real issue. Many blessings.

  3. D. D. Syrdal June 3, 2013 / 3:00 am

    So on point with that 8 of Cups! I don’t know how long the person has been working on their business, but they say the first 5 years are the hardest. It’s always tough getting started, you spend those first years mostly marketing and trying to build a clientele. A lot of people start their own business thinking it will be half as much work as working for someone else when the opposite is true- they’ll probably work twice as much. Even Honda has to do marketing😉

    • Monica June 3, 2013 / 10:32 am

      Yes DD, that was actually spot on – the querent has given me feedback which shows it to be true. I guess it all depends on how much one loves what they do? I don’t really know as I haven’t started a business myself. I do think it is very hard work, way harder than working for someone else though! Blessings.

  4. Alie June 3, 2013 / 11:13 am

    I really like the way you work and the spreads you choose.

    • Monica June 3, 2013 / 8:42 pm

      Thank you Alie, that is great to hear🙂 I really do love doing these “case studies” as well. Many blessings.

  5. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) June 3, 2013 / 2:50 pm

    Truly excellent job with the reading, Monica! Still marveling at the similarities between the two case studies. I adore this deck, by the way. I love the cat decks! I have the Tarot of White Cats (mini) and the Tarot of Pagan Cats (mini). I would love this one if I could find it for not too expensive.

    Have a lovely week.

    xoxo,
    MM

    • Monica June 3, 2013 / 8:45 pm

      Thank you Mentha! Yeah I have seen your posts with the cat decks, this is the only deck with cats that I have. I think the mini sold out pretty quickly, and I haven’t seen it for sale since. It would probably be an exorbitant price now – but you never know, they may publish it again🙂 Blessings.

Leave a Reply

