Case studies in Tarot : Case Study 1

Question: Should I continue in my present career or put my talents to a different use?
5 card spread using the Cosmic Tarot deck
5 card spread using the Cosmic Tarot deck
Above we have the 5 card spread I did for this question. I decided on 5 main aspects as follows:
1) Where you are at, current situation – 3 of Wands
2) Main card for Option 1: continue in your present career – 2 of Swords
3) Main card for Option 2: put your talents to a different use – Wheel of Fortune
4) The outcome of choosing Option 1 – 6 of Wands
5) The outcome of choosing Option 2 – The World
~
Let’s start at the beginning🙂
Cards 1 (centre), 2 (left) and 3 (right)
Cards 1 (centre), 2 (left) and 3 (right)
~
1) Where you are at, current situation – 3 of Wands
This card tells me you are in a good place (work wise, but also overall), even though you may not think that necessarily. The woman in the picture looks radiant and happy. This is a card of realisation, it is a card of initial success and it is a card where the querent (you) has a positive outlook and good options to choose from.
~
2) Main card for Option 1: continue in your present career – 2 of Swords
This card, while showing a woman in a contemplative state, is traditionally a card of indecision, and having to go inside yourself to look for answers. In this deck, there is a feeling of serenity, calm and quiet in the scene. While not necessarily a negative card, I got the feeling there isn’t much excitement, and staying with your current course of work will leave you always asking “what if…” .
~
3) Main card for Option 2: put your talents to a different use – Wheel of Fortune
When the Wheel of Fortune rolls in, one doesn’t really know what it will bring. One thing is for sure, it will bring changes, and these will be fairly substantial. Traditionally, it is seen as a beneficial influence (linking Fortune with goodluck), however, I always look to the outcomes (below) to confirm if this is the case. In a really obvious way, this card tells me that choosing to focus your energies on something different will bring big changes for you.
Cards 4 (left) and 5 (right)
Cards 4 (left) and 5 (right)
So far, so good. But what about the outcome for each of these paths?
~
4) The outcome of choosing Option 1 – 6 of Wands
6 of Wands is a card of success, of rewards, of recognition in your chosen career. It really is a card of victory. So, if you choose to continue with your current career, success and realisation will come your way. It is certainly a great indication that this is not a bad option.
~
5) The outcome of choosing Option 2 – The World
Whoa, another Major card, and a most auspicious one. Sure, all Major Arcana cards are auspicious, but when you get the World, this is it. It is the ultimate card of fulfillment and synthesis. It says, whatever you choose to put your talents toward, you will be successful. But it is more than pure success. Where as the 6 of Wands above indicates success in your job, the World is success in your calling. There is a big difference between job and calling, and I think that is the crux of your question.
~
To summarise, I would strongly encourage you to explore your talents, and not give up on any dreams you may have. It is great to see that your current career is able to offer you rewards and success in the future, however do start to nourish your talents and dreams, and not give up on them. All the best, and thank you for your question.
Many blessings,
Monica
A request for help from any WordPress users out there: does anyone know how to insert a space between paragraphs? At present it seems my spacing bewteen paragraphs is being automatically deleted (hence my use of squiggles ~ above). Any tips are most welcome!

14 thoughts on “Case studies in Tarot : Case Study 1

  1. joe faust June 2, 2013 / 2:03 am

    How do you know how many cards to choose and from what deck since there are so many decks?It’s obvious I’m new to tarot reading.

    If you are working in a sound,adventrous and rewarding enviroment and you are content,why change.

    Learn and embrace your gifted talents, keep on this path you enjoy. Just believe in yourself. ‘All good things come to those who wait’

    • Monica June 2, 2013 / 1:08 pm

      Hello Joe

      First I think about how to structure the reading, what questions I will ask, and how many cards I choose. I could use a standard tarot spread (eg Horseshoe, or Celtic Cross etc), but I find doing a “custom-made” reading more useful. As for the deck, I choose one I feel is appropriate, or one that “calls out” to me. For readings of a practical nature (eg work, study, business etc) I try to use decks where the images are not too vague, and have a definite structure. I agree there are many decks out there, knowing what to use and how to structure a spread comes with a bit of time and experience, but anyone can do it.

      As for your comments regarding work, I totally agree – this is why, despite showing excellent cards for Option 2, I didn’t immediately say “you must definitely leave Option 1 behind and completely take up Option 2”. Rather, I do encourage this person to strongly consider Option 2 and not give up on this altogether.

      I hope I have answered your questions, but please do let me know if you need more clarification🙂
      Many blessings,
      Monica

  2. Zanna Starr June 2, 2013 / 3:11 am

    Great spread for this question, Monica – and I love your interpretation. Also, let me say, your visual presentation of the spread is lovely! (Taking notes for my own blog…)

    • Monica June 2, 2013 / 1:10 pm

      Thank you Zanna🙂 I should have said, Case Number 1 is brought to you by a hot cup of nettle, oatstraw and raspberry leaf tea😉 Many blessings x

      • Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) June 2, 2013 / 1:42 pm

        Oohh very healthy tea! Hmm. Trying to remember the properties of those. Nettle is for allergies, right? Not sure about oatstraw? Raspberry leaf is definitely a woman’s herb/hormonal. I really need to read up on my herbal stuff…

        Hugs,
        MM

  3. D. D. Syrdal June 2, 2013 / 3:30 am

    Great reading, and good advice. As far as formatting, it’s probably the theme you’re using, something to do with the CSS most likely. There may be other WP themes very similar to the one you’re using that would allow spacing between paragraphs without substantially altering the look of the blog. I keep changing themes, they come out with new, spiffy ones all the time😉

    • Monica June 2, 2013 / 1:12 pm

      Thanks DD, yes, you know I’ve been thinking about changing the theme for so long now! And getting some new headers too. Now I just need a week off work to focus on this tarot blog thing, and that will sort it out🙂 ha ha….

  4. Alie June 2, 2013 / 9:23 am

    Great post, love the spread chosen, the interpretation is positive, well written and to the point, and the presentation in steps is easy to follow!

    • Monica June 2, 2013 / 1:36 pm

      Hi Alie – thank you🙂 I enjoy doing readings and posting them. I guess it’s my contribution towards “de-mystifying” the tarot, if there’s such a word! Many blessings.

  5. JJ June 2, 2013 / 9:49 am

    Regarding spaces–I write my posts in e-mail and then copy and paste them into the body of the post on WordPress. However, I first have to strip the formatting out by cutting and pasting into Windows Notepad first, and then copying and pasting from there into WordPress–otherwise the spacing and font goes askew.

    It’s an extra step, but not that bad. Try that Monica and see if it works.

    • Monica June 2, 2013 / 1:15 pm

      Thanks JJ. You’d think by now this would be, like, a minor thing to fix, eh. I’ll try a few things. It didn’t use to do this, so I’m hoping it was a temporary thing. Will find out when I do the next post. I may well change the theme as well though, as DD suggested. But I think I’ll head off to the beach today and forget all about it😉

  6. Joseph June 2, 2013 / 2:24 pm

    Morning Monica,tarot readings are more involved than I first thought,I’m sure not everyone could do it.This could be a long process for me in understanding how you interpret the cards,but in saying that,this case study has cleared some grey areas in my life.Thankyou

  7. mallow blossom June 3, 2013 / 3:44 pm

    Well, I don’t know what to say here, Monica. Everything seems to be quite true. I guess deep inside I already know most of this, but it’s good to have it affirmed through the cards. I especially like the world card at the end of the reading. It’s very positive and I feel very encouraged to try something new in the upcoming year. Thanks for the reading Monica. I think you are an excellent reader. However, I do miss your youtube videos and I do wish you would consider doing some of them again. What’s missing from this reading is your wonderful voice.I always thought you had the perfect voice for doing readings! Thanks for all you do. Have a glorious week! Ann Livingston

    >________________________________ > From: tarot in a teacup >To: marialivingston@sbcglobal.net >Sent: Saturday, June 1, 2013 2:46 AM >Subject: [New post] Case studies in Tarot : Case Study 1 > > WordPress.com >Monica posted: “Question: Should I continue in my present career or put my talents to a different use? Above we have the 5 card spread I did for this question. I decided on 5 main aspects as follows: 1) Where you are at, current situation – 3 of Wands” >

    • Monica June 3, 2013 / 8:41 pm

      Thank you for your feedback and thoughts of support🙂 That is great to hear. I may do videos again in the future, but not soon as I don’t have the time and I need a good laptiop/camera. As it is, I’m pretty busy with the blog, but I’m not ruling it out completely🙂 Hope you have a beautiful week too. Blessings,
      Monica

Leave a Reply

