Morning Tea

tarot of the absurd

Today’s morning tea, served with home-made hazelnut mocha biscuits. I admit the biscuits don’t look that flash (and nothing like the picture in the cook book!) but they do taste mighty fine๐Ÿ™‚ Served with a cup of detox tea (just to balance all that icing out, you know) and three cards from Tarot of the Absurd: 8 of Cups, Wheel of Fortune, and Knight of Cups.

The 8 of Cups I think refers to our temporary flatmate, who is moving out tomorrow. He has just started working for the same place I work at, and needed a place to stay while he sorted something more permanent. I can’t see this card being about anything else, so that’s what I’m going with. The Wheel of Fortune and Knight of Cups relate to my trip out to see a friend and enjoy some much-needed conversations around tarot / astrology / herbalism and world at large. I work a 9 day fortnight, so today was the day-to-myself dedication. I totally relish it. Immensely๐Ÿ˜‰

tarot room decorations 2

I’ve also started to decorate the bare walls in my tarot room. Above is a print from the lovely Hermitage artist, Rima Staines. Unfortunately the frame is not big enough (and I now realise it doesn’t really go with the print anyway), so that will change.

magic framing
Excuse the reflection…

I’ve also added some green hanging foliage and a crystal hummingbird. I try hard not to add too much clutter, but one does need colour in one’s life, no? And plants…

tarot room decorations

hummingbird crystal
Until next time, with blessings,
Monica

10 thoughts on “Morning Tea

  1. Zanna Starr May 20, 2013 / 10:55 pm

    What lovely photos, Monica! Makes me want to sit down and take a bite out of one of those biscuits. I do like the way you so clearly identified the meaning of these three cards for today. I really have trouble doing that sometimes when I draw for myself.

    • Monica May 22, 2013 / 10:03 am

      Thank you Zanna! Always a pleasure to share๐Ÿ™‚ Blessings.

  2. Sharyn AJ May 21, 2013 / 2:04 am

    I look forward to seeing more of this deck, many see to like it muchly.
    happy days off~

    • Monica May 22, 2013 / 10:04 am

      Thanks Sharyn – it is a great deck, on the unusual side but in a good way๐Ÿ˜‰ Definitely recommend it. Blessings.

  3. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) May 21, 2013 / 6:53 am

    How nice. I like the touches you added to your tarot area. It reminds me that I need to sort out and beautify my tarot space. I have let the tarot and oracles spill out into too many spaces and now it’s getting all chaotic!

    You’re killing me with your mocha/hazelnut treats. I tried making a grain-free coconut and cherry brownie (low sugar, grain-free, etc), but it didn’t turn out as tasty as I’d hoped. I’ve made a number of lower sugar, low grain bakes but sometimes it doesn’t work as well as I would like. My daughter liked it, though.

    Much Love,
    MM

    • Monica May 22, 2013 / 10:06 am

      Ha ha Mentha – I can say with absolute certainty there isn’t one thing healthy about those cookies… maybe the hazelnuts?! Perhaps that’s why they taste so good๐Ÿ˜‰ Would love to see some pics of your tarot nook. Blessings.

  4. Siddaleah May 21, 2013 / 5:42 pm

    That’s a beautiful space you’re creating. I have to figure out a way to carve some space out of my own little over-populated house too.๐Ÿ™‚

    • Monica May 22, 2013 / 10:10 am

      Thank you – I’ve come to realise just how much I need a space of my own. Would love to see what other people do with their little tarot nook, please share! – at present I want lots of art on the walls, but more of a folk / pagan / tarot / astrology etc kind. Blessings.

  5. JJ May 23, 2013 / 4:03 am

    Hey, one of my favourite decks! Tea Gal, you are showing sweets on the blog again–no fair.

    Your room seems very peaceful, love the artwork and plant.

    • Monica May 24, 2013 / 12:34 am

      ๐Ÿ™‚ Well I only bake sweets once in a blue moon, so I have to show off๐Ÿ˜‰ Thank you, I aim for a peaceful and serene tarot room since that’s my “retreat”. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

