New Moon in Aries : Ritual

tarot room

This is my tarot room on Wednesday, on the New Moon in Aries. It was rainy and windy outside, though here the weather is still really hot, so beautifully hot. It’s well into “autumn” yet the overnight low is 20 degrees – Celsius!  You may wonder why there are clothes on the line in such weather – when the rain arrived, it lasted for nearly two weeks, until yesterday. I’m just happy the lavender bush is still alive and coping with all that rain.

To me, a New Moon in itself is about new beginnings, but one that falls in the sign of Aries, the sign of enterprise, initiation and leadership is extremely potent for starting something new. So I did a ritual to encourage and support my own endeavours as a tarot reader, budding astrologer and yoga therapist.

New Moon Aries altar

My altar is actually quite simple. I have a picture of Quan Kin, which is actually a postcard I bought when I visited the Rietberg museum in Zürich. I like having her in my tarot room, she is a beautiful reminder of grace; I also have an icon of Mary and Jesus which was a gift from my grandmother; a couple of candles, mala beads, a talisman of the Empress from the Gaian tarot, and an amethyst crystal. I am not a fan of ceremonial magic or anything like that. I don’t rhyme spells or chant – I’d feel too uncomfortable doing that, for it’s not my thing. And one must be comfortable in ritual, or any practice of magic.

Ritual for me is sacred time, time to create some stillness and offer prayers and gratitude to the divine. It always starts with a thorough cleaning of my tarot room, after which I set everything out. I did gather some herbs that I grow – rosemary, sage and basil – and their heady aroma filled the whole room.

candle and herbs

This time I didn’t actually include a tarot card on the altar. I suppose a New Moon in Aries might suit the Chariot, or Ace of Wands, maybe the 6 of Wands. I guess this time I didn’t feel the need to incorporate tarot. As I said before, I am not a fan of ceremonial magic, but I am exceptionally drawn towards natural magic – so my practice is free to flow with my intuition, to draw and bring in natural elements as I feel the need to.

I would love to see what other folks did on this New Moon – if you have something to share, you are most welcome to leave a comment 🙂

Many blessings,
Monica

4 thoughts on “New Moon in Aries : Ritual

  1. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) April 15, 2013 / 3:25 pm

    OOoh! I love this post.

    I can almost smell the herbs!

    I love your set-up. I know what you mean about certain ritual things. I get a bit uncomfortable with them, too.

    I think I did set some intentions but I’m not sure if I could put it into words. I definitely was aware of this New Moon. One thing I did was to actively try to sell my bath and body products, even if only to a few friends and family via e-mail. And now I’m actually working on a website (my own website, not Etsy) instead of giving up. I’m trying to embrace the initiative and the newness, and finding new ways of doing things.

    I hope you have a beautiful week.

    XOXOOX,
    MM

    • Monica April 22, 2013 / 10:31 am

      Hi Mentha! It was a great combination for “new” ventures, what with the Aries energy. I admire your website determination, as personally I’m not into coding but wish I was 😉 And I had a great week, thank you, hence why I’m only replying now- sorry! Blessings xx

  2. D. D. Syrdal April 16, 2013 / 7:58 am

    I like your little altar, it’s very calm and soothing, so pretty. I didn’t do anything remarkable for the new moon, but I’m busy on some projects and it seems like a good time for starting new things.

    • Monica April 22, 2013 / 10:33 am

      Thank you, I agree about the altar. It gives the room a calming energy too. I think the New Moon in Aries is a great time to work on any projects or set the wheels in motion for new work/business projects etc. All the best with these! Blessings.

Leave a Reply

