New tarot deck additions: Daniloff, Bohemia and Light Grey

Below are three new additions to my tarot collection. All three are limited editions, independent publications. The world of tarot grows magnificent and every year I am amazed at what artists conjure (also, the same for playing cards, which I do not normally go for, but clearly it was a momentary lapse of reason😉

From top to bottom:
Light Grey Tarot
Bohemia playing cards
Tarot by Alexander Daniloff
Light Grey Tarot 1
Light Grey Tarot
9 of Swords – 2 of Swords – 6 of Swords

The Light Grey Tarot is a collection of 78 cards done by individual artists – what I mean is, this is a collection of 78 different styles, and as such the variety in style, design etc is considerable. A list of all the contributing artists can be found here. The deck was published by the Light Grey Art Lab, a gallery and art events space in Minneapolis, Minnesota. I bought mine online for $25, and I believe they still have decks for sale (here).

Light Grey Tarot 2
Light Grey Tarot
King of Wands – The Sun – 5 of Cups

The Bohemia playing cards are a first for me. I have not ventured into the world of playing card divination, and can’t see that happening anytime in the near future what with all the other projects I have going on at present, but I saw them, I loved them, and now I have them🙂

Bohemia playing cards
Bohemia playing cards

These are an independent publication by Uusi and if you like what you see, the publishers are doing three more playing card decks in the near future. You really need to check out their website link for better images as the one above was taken on a rainy day and the lighting doesn’t do it justice.

Finally, we have the Daniloff. Well, what can I say.

Tarot by Alexander Daniloff 20122 of Pentacles - Strength - 6 of Cups
Tarot by Alexander Daniloff 2012
2 of Pentacles – Strength – 6 of Cups

If your eyes have popped out in your cup of tea, like mine did when I first saw it courtesy of Submerina’s blog, you can check it all out and get yourself a copy on his website. Card images are shown in all their glory on the website, so make yourself a cuppa and enjoy.

Tarot by Alexander Daniloff 2012
Tarot by Alexander Daniloff 2012

6 thoughts on “New tarot deck additions: Daniloff, Bohemia and Light Grey

  1. D. D. Syrdal April 8, 2013 / 3:42 pm

    Lovely lovely lovely! Sadly I’m too broke right now to indulge in any of them, plus I’m holding out for the Alice Tarot from Baba Studio later this year. Karen said it’s going to be pretty high-priced, hopefully by the time it’s available I’ll have the money. :::chews nails::: This is killing me!

    • Monica April 10, 2013 / 1:04 pm

      I too am waiting for the Alice – hopefully it’s a while away as I need to save up too ha ha!🙂

  2. JJ April 10, 2013 / 4:05 am

    The Daniloff is wonderful. I’ve seen it around and can’t afford such things any more, but glad that you have it. It’s very neat with beautiful artwork and historical looking, but with illustrated pips. A winner, truly breathtaking.

    • Monica April 10, 2013 / 1:07 pm

      Thanks JJ – I can’t afford such decks often, but I am moving away from mass-published decks with a few minor exceptions (I still want the Morgan Greer, Hanson Roberts and a couple of others, but that’s it…). I made a bit of a sacrifice for the Daniloff because, as you say, it is breathtaking.

      • soultarot May 14, 2013 / 12:34 pm

        Monica, I have a Hanson-Roberts deck/book set that I am about to give away somewhere if you want it? What others are on your wishlist as I am having a major clean-out.

      • Monica May 14, 2013 / 4:03 pm

        Hi Kath! Yes would love it, funny I was looking at it today online (instead bought a soap-making book ha ha). The Aquarian is also on my future “to get” list, please do let me know what you would like for it plus postage and bank account details etc Hope you are not cleaning out too much!!! x

Leave a Reply

