Tarot spread : Dealing with anger

I try to keep this blog inspirational. Not because I am a fan of all that is light and fluffy at the expense of owning one’s own shadow; nor am I a fan of superficiality, or some Eckhart Tolle neophyte. Well, I have read Eckhart actually and found his writings of great help, but that’s another story.

I mainly try to keep my blog on the beautiful side of life, because to me, life is beautiful, despite all the tragedy that besets us at one time or another. This does not mean that, in my personal life, I do not confront issues or aspects of my personality that are, more or less, unfavourable. As a tarot reader, I have to acknowledge and work with these aspects, the most persistent of which is anger. To be honest, there are times when it can correctly be called rage. Such times do not happen often, but when they do, can be devastating.

I know many people have to deal with this. I know the incidents in my life (childhood, adolescence, etc) that have accumulated over the years, and trigger an anger response in me. I also know the genealogical roots of anger and where I can trace them from in my family tree. There is a wealth of psychological knowledge and research out there that has explored our make-up in terms of what we actually inherit (and what we don’t) from our ancestry line, though, once this is obvious, it doesn’t necessarily solve the problem. Not at all, in my case anyway, and one must be very careful in not playing the blame game, no matter how convenient that is.

I trust my own work with the tarot and know that, given a sacred and respectful setting, the cards answer my questions, no matter the topic. Finally, after a few months of thinking about where to start on this topic, I set aside some time and did a simple spread: two questions, 3 cards for each question:

1. What is the root cause of my anger?
2. What I need to do to heal/resolve my anger issues

Tarot Spread - dealing with anger
Gaian Tarot by Joanna Powell Colbert

1) What is the root cause of my anger? Four of Cups, Strength, Nine of Earth

What struck me about this the most, is the first card. It’s as if the woman in it is looking at the past, absorbed in it – how true! Without exception, when the dark clouds of irritability and range appear, I have instant flashbacks to certain events and people. I am not talking about the sense of unfairness or exasperation one may feel when seeing or reading about current events and so on. I think any sane person with the bare minimum of emotional intelligence would have a reaction to say, mass shootings in primary schools or the brutal deforestation of rainforests. I am particularly talking about a spring of deep rage that swells up, most noticeably at certain times of the month, and engulfs everything. There is nothing rational about it. The volcano erupts, and the lava flows, unstoppable.

Gaian Tarot4 of Cups - Strength - 9 of Earth
Gaian Tarot
Four of Cups – Strength – Nine of Earth

The Strength card – the Strength to keep on going, no matter what. And in this instance, perhaps not the best option. How could Strength be a root cause of my anger? Easy. When one bottles things up – because sometimes that is the only way to survive, when one puts the face of Strength on and keeps going, because they may have no other option but to bury their feelings deep, deep down – such feelings sink into a pool of vitriol that poisons you, little by little, and eats you away.

The 9 of Earth puzzled me a little. I would say it’s about trying to stand on my own and not asking for a lot of help, not accepting a lot of help either. Not appearing to be vulnerable (ties in with the Strength card). I see the 9 of Earth as a card of self-sufficiency, a card of holding back certain desires in order to achieve security.

2. What I need to do to heal/resolve my anger issues

Gaian TarotThe World - Ace of Earth - Three of Swords
Gaian Tarot
The World – Ace of Earth – Three of Swords

I saw the World card and it filled me with so much hope. Not imaginary, but a real sense that this is something I can overcome and surpass. It’s not insurmountable, though certainly when I am in the midst of it, it certainly feels that way.

I read the Ace of Earth not just as a card of a new stage of growth and realisation in my life, but I looked at the image and felt tenderness: Be kind to yourself, this card said. Allow yourself to feel vulnerable – for Gaia holds you and protects you.

And the Three of Air spoke to me about the process of literally writing it all down, so I may heal. This in itself is a huge ask, because writing such things down makes me feel uncomfortable and – once again – exposed. The Three of Air (3 of Swords) is a card of deep sorrow and pain, but here, as concrete advice for me on what to do, rather than allowing myself to unconsciously wallow in it like the woman in the Four of Cups above, I am actively working through it.

I hope you all had a blessed Easter break. Many blessings,
Monica

9 thoughts on “Tarot spread : Dealing with anger

  1. Sharyn AJ April 2, 2013 / 1:21 am

    Nice reading. I was in a black rage for a whole year, and another year getting it gone. I’m sure it is what trigger my breast cancer. Good luck, you can do it, I have no doubt at all.

    • Monica April 3, 2013 / 3:52 pm

      Thank you Sharyn. I am convinced the state of one’s emotions affects their physical and mental health. Heck, it’s already known by medical doctors. Vitriol is a poison, but sometimes the hurts are just so bad. I know a few other women who have directly attributed their breast cancer to emotional upsets such as abusive relationships, wrong marriages etc. Thank you for your warm words and support. Blessings.

  2. D. D. Syrdal April 2, 2013 / 8:56 am

    I’m not sure where it comes from, but periodically I fall into very dark moods, where I hate everyone and everything, and it would really be better if I stayed off the road… especially during rush hour when the idea of a flame-thrower on the hood of my car seems like a really good idea. Ah well, I haven’t gone Mad Max on anyone yet.

    • Monica April 3, 2013 / 3:49 pm

      Ha, yes – no driving in rush hour😉 Luckily I don’t have to deal with that anymore, but life is still there to be lived. I find beach walks or garden walks really helpful and grounding in a calming sort of way. Would love to do a Bohemian style garden as my “time-out” chill corner of the world. One day🙂

  3. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) April 3, 2013 / 9:57 am

    This is very interesting and timely. I think that I have some unexpressed anger and other emotion stuff. I think it can cause a lot of problems if not dealt with. I love your idea of writing it out. You can always burn it if you feel too exposed!

    Hugs,
    MM

    • Monica April 3, 2013 / 3:53 pm

      Thank you Mentha. I shall certainly burn everything ha ha! Though I know people who have done that and regreted it despite the content of the writing. Oh well. The earth swallows everything in the end🙂 Blessings.

  4. The Tarot Donkey November 16, 2015 / 12:52 pm

    Thank you so much for this! I certainly need it today. Time to go do the spread …

    • Monica November 17, 2015 / 3:50 pm

      Thank you and you are most welcome. Many blessings on your journey.

Leave a Reply

