Aotearoa, yoga and cake

blue skies

Friends, I have been away. I meant to blog before I left, to be organised and neat and tidy in packing my suitcase, and all that. Instead, a great wave came and pulled me out to the shores of the Long White Cloud, and before I knew it, there I was again. Fresh, crisp air, sunshine, clouds and rain, and the winds.

Yoga studio, before class
Yoga studio, before class

I spent the first 5 days at a yoga course. It was a mix of theory and practice, specifically on yoga therapy for anxiety, depression, and addictions. So many people I know, myself as well, have struggled with at least one of these issues. I aim to teach yoga soon with a focus on its therapeutic applications, hence my interest in this course. The course was presented by Ganesh Mohan of Svastha Yoga, and I would highly recommend it.

Afterwards I spent a few days catching up with friends, relaxing, reading and sight-seeing around Auckland.

Morning tea views: local church
Morning tea views: local art gallery in Mt Eden
Colour coodination of the mystical kind
Colour coodination of the mystical kind

 

Despite the relentless attack on Auckland's tree preservation laws, some giants remain.
Despite the relentless attack on Auckland’s tree preservation laws, some giants remain
Pigeons grooming themselves on a cloudy morning
Pigeons grooming themselves on a cloudy morning
Admiring historical architecture
Admiring historical architecture

 

Caught up with friends at an astrology class - mostly attended by Sagittarians
Caught up with friends at an astrology class – mostly attended by Sagittarians
Bush walking in Titirangi
Bush walking in Titirangi
titirangi bush
Titirangi bush
Reaching for the sky
Reaching for the sky

I thought I’d summarise my trip by drawing three cards from the Morgan Greer tarot, aided by a fortune cookie:

Fortune cookie 1
Morgan Greer Tarot:
The Empress – The Chariot – Page of Cups
Fortune cookie 2
The seeds you sow today, are your trees for the future

Finally, I shall leave you with a delectable moment the day before my departure. Exhausted after a day of walking around inhaling the crisp autumn air, I decided to sit down with a cup of tea and carrot cake, watch the people pass by, and just savour the moment.

cake

Blessings,
Monica

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Aotearoa, yoga and cake

  1. D. D. Syrdal March 25, 2013 / 3:39 pm

    Your life and mine seem to be polar opposites. I never have downtime like that, even weekends are frantic preparations for the coming work week. I’m glad to know there are still people in the world whose lives have quiet moments, it gives me hope that someday mine might again.

    • Monica March 26, 2013 / 9:53 am

      Ha – if only it was like this all the time😉 Because I don’t do it very often, when it does happen, I make the most of it. I certainly do hope you have some time to yourself, even if for a short amount of time, to just be. A slice of carrot cake would, of course, help too🙂 Blessings.

  2. JJ March 26, 2013 / 3:18 am

    I love your purple shoes. Looks like a lovely respite and spiritual retreat.

    You had to post a pic of that carrot cake, didn’t you. Groan.

    • Monica March 26, 2013 / 9:49 am

      🙂 Yes, yes I did. It was great too😉 In all seriousness, I don’t get to do this, any of this, where I live in Queensland – I live in a small town, and I work full time, so I made sure I made the most out of my trip. Blessings.

  3. Sharyn AJ March 30, 2013 / 2:53 am

    Don’t apologize for leading your life. Time is what we make of it.
    That room looks like the Yoga Conservatory where I had the pleasure of learning yoga. Beautiful country, thank you for sharing. Sharyn/AJ

  4. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) April 3, 2013 / 9:55 am

    This fills me with an indescribable longing! I always love your posts. A perfect balance of nature, tarot and food. Mmm! I’m glad you got to do this. That is a strange fortune cookie. Isn’t it chocolate?

    I also have some purple all star shoes. I love it! Mine are shorter, don’t come up to the ankle. I like the classic ones like yours.

    Sending goodness to you!!

    Hugs,
    MM

    • Monica April 3, 2013 / 3:46 pm

      Ha ha! Happy to uplift you Mentha – and yes, that was a chocolate fortune cookie and so very yummy. Those are my first all star pair, thought I’d make a statement and go bright purple🙂 Excellent choice, may I add😉

  5. chloetarot April 20, 2013 / 11:35 pm

    Loved seeing snaps of your time away! And lovely reading and fortune cookie😉 I didn’t even know you could get chocolate fortune cookies… Amazing trees!

Leave a Reply

