Exploring and growing

DSCF5093
The Gaian Tarot by Joanna Powell Colbert

 

These are the cards I drew this morning. I keep on drawing the Justice card, reminding me to keep life in balance. I have certainly tried to, and am getting better every day. I have increasingly changed my habits. Small things, add up daily, and year after year, make a huge difference. The main one last year, and this year, has been to stop eating meat unless it is free range, organic and grass fed as well. This goes for eating out as well, though when I do go out to eat I stick with the vegetarian options. Other habits – like a yoga practice, healthy teas, and moon rituals, are building up on previous years’ work. I also have a juicer now, and am experimenting with different juice combinations in the morning.

Before: carrot, apple, orange and beetroot
Before: carrot, apple, orange and beetroot
DSCF5087
After: best served in a wine goblet!

Last week I started acupuncture, which I will do again this week, and twice more in February. It was rather painful for me, but I am determined to stick with it. I am treating PMS symptoms, and I hope that together with yoga things will improve.

I see myself in all the cards above, trying to figure out the best way forward in the Explorer of Air, and tending to my garden, and myself, as the Guardian of Earth. Justice helps to keep things in perspective and continuously weigh up the consequences of each daily action, without harsh judgement.

I wish you all a blessed week,

Monica

5 thoughts on “Exploring and growing

  1. Carla January 29, 2013 / 2:15 am

    You are doing some lovely things for yourself by making these changes, and best of all you are doing them in your own time. Well done. I really envy you that back garden, I live in a flat and have no outdoor space at all. Make the best of it, and post about it so I can live vicariously through you! x ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Monica January 29, 2013 / 11:12 am

      Thank you Carla, I must say the back garden is a quiet love of mine. There is a sprawling pumpkin patch taking over the veggie garden, we have a native garden patch where our 3 chickens love to scratch. I used to live in a flat so I know the feeling! I actually started a garden blog (tropical tomatina) but it’s slow going as I don’t have enough time for updates – in any case, thank you for your enthusiasm!! Many blessings.

  2. D. D. Syrdal January 29, 2013 / 4:22 pm

    Wow, you sound like the picture of health with all that! ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope the acupuncture helps with the PMS.

    • Monica January 29, 2013 / 8:13 pm

      Ha! If only! ๐Ÿ˜‰ but I am so much better than I used to be. I hope the acupuncture helps too. The practitioner I went to was highly recommended so that is always a good thing. Blessings.

  3. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) January 30, 2013 / 7:00 pm

    Great self care stuff! I love it. I really need to take a page from this book. I also have weird hormonal/thyroid issues that I’m trying to treat with supplements and diet, but I really need to exercise and also embrace meditation and yoga.

    Lotsa Hugs,
    MM

Leave a Reply

