Hermiting with the Gaian Tarot

After months and months of waiting, finally it has arrived. I am really taken with the Gaian Tarot, and all I can say is, words and pictures don’t really do it justice. But I’ll try🙂 The deck is the creation of Joanna Powell Colbert, taking the author 9 years of gestation before its glorious delivery in 2012.

Gaian Tarot parcel

The deck arrived with a superb book, a luxurious bag, and a striking amulet, all part of the limited edition package. I chose the Empress for my amulet, as I find her most fitting for my life right now. She is indeed radiant and full of creativity.

Gaian Tarot amulet

I am seriously contemplating getting another one, seeing that my deck is already number 781 out of 1000. The main reason being, in keeping with her vision, Joanna has chosen an environment – friendly printer, and this means the cards are not laminated, which I love, but it also means that in the long run, the deck may not hold up, especially as I will be working with it a lot (I just know I will. Even if this remains my only copy, this is not a deck to stow away in a box somewhere “for the future”. It demands to be energised and shuffled.)

book and deck

Today I drew the Hermit, and that’s exactly what I’ve been doing. The day is not over yet, and I’m still planning an astrology study session and a yoga session. I guess that’s what a good Sunday is all about. I’ll be happily shuffling this deck all week long, and taking my time with it. Hope everyone has a great week ahead.

Warm tropical blessings,
Monica

 

6 thoughts on “Hermiting with the Gaian Tarot

  1. Carla January 6, 2013 / 8:30 pm

    You could get a mass market version for hard-wearing daily use…

    • Monica January 6, 2013 / 9:17 pm

      Hi Carla, that’s not a bad suggestion. I am afraid the mass market version will be disappointing after experiencing the original, but I think I might try it if I end up working with this deck with the public. Nothing worse than people bending cards or spilling liquids over them! Blessings.

  2. D. D. Syrdal January 7, 2013 / 3:53 am

    I’m sorry, but for what she wants for that ‘limited edition’ bundle the book should be a hardcover, and the whole shebang should come in an oak hand-carved box inlaid with the jewel of your choice, lined in velvet. This is one deck I don’t foresee ever owning.

    • Monica January 7, 2013 / 10:08 am

      Hi DD, I know what you are saying. I didn’t order this for a long time, as when I first heard about it I was a broke student with a Baba Studio wish list🙂 But I love what she has done, and what she stands for, and look up to that. I think a 9 year work is not negligible, and in the end it is the artist’s right to name their value, though I agree unfortunately it does mean some people will miss out on the limited edition. I suppose that’s why there’s a mass market version as well which is lots more affordable. I was meant to post the Hermit card up, and forgot doh! Blessings.

  3. JJ January 7, 2013 / 6:39 am

    I’m afraid the price of her limited edition and the cost of joining her Gaian group put me off owning this deck too. I had planned to get the mass market edition but I didn’t in the end.

    However, how special to get a nice deck that you can afford. I’m sure given your similar interests with Joanna that this deck will be a treasure for you. I loved the Death card in this–I have a thing about herons. For me, that is a magic card–very, very special.

    • Monica January 7, 2013 / 10:13 am

      Hi JJ, it was my birthday/Christmas present to myself🙂 I don’t think I’ll have another deck quite like it though, except for the Baba Studio ones – looking forward to their Alice in Wonderland release this year. I did actually take a picture of the Hermit from the Gaian, and forgot to post it – I’ll be shuffling this for a while yet and will put up some of my draws with it during the year. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

