New beginnings

A warm and fruitful Happy New Year to you all! Finally, after dodging the Mayan end of the world apocalypse and a few too many glasses of wine, it has arrived.

Today I am spending most of the day on me: my dreams and my goals for this year. So it is fitting that my card of the day is the Queen of Wands, or rather the Mother of Flames, from the Vision Quest Tarot. This is the one archetype I identify with the most out of all the Court cards, being a fire sign myself.

Mother of Fire

And as a fire sign, naturally there are lots of activities on my to do list. Lots. I am aiming for a list of 100, ranging from the indulgent (having relaxing baths, eating organic food, reading Dion Fortune, Rudolf Steiner, Diane Stein and other similar authors); to the spiritual (meditate, practice yoga, create Full Moon rituals, just surrender); to the practical (get native bees, declutter, get a new laptop); to the powerful (create a business website for my tarot work, do a yoga course, create and run three workshops) and let’s not forget the whimsy (bake a darn good cake, grow flowers, make my own sweet smelling soap). Oh it’s a great list! As you can see, it’s a mixed bag of goodies, some light and some scary. But I am determined.

Underpinning it all, is the energy I experienced on 21 December, when a group of us gathered for a women’s circle. We gathered to put our energies together, and facilitate the creation of a healing essence. The group was led by Felicity Chapman, who runs The Healers Role in the Whitsundays. Each of us was given a piece of paper with a message, a poem, or wishes for our collective new dawn, written by members of the larger healing community who could not be there in person.

DSCF4817

These, together with any other thoughts, words, flowers or crystals we shared, went into a basket, which had at the centre the essence water in a bowl. Afterwards we each rang a stunning crystal singing bowl. It was magic. It was so moving. It was powerful. And I promised myself that I would keep this wonderful energy, the messages and the love, throughout the coming year.

The crystal singing bowl
The crystal singing bowl

circle decoration

Most moving was the following poem by Jesse Brett, who has kindly given permission to share it with the world. May 2013 be a year of peace, healing, love and empowerment to all the women and men creating this new world. Blessings.

If all the women in my community rose together today,
They would stop sending our sons and brothers to be slaughtered, to be slay.
If all the women in my community stood up and said no,
There would be an end to all abuse, simply because we said so.

If all the women in my community looked deeper than they’re told,
A love for self would prosper, no bodies could be sold.
If all the women in my community stood together side by side,
As daughter, sister and mother we’d know what we could do if we tried.

The women's circle group
The women’s circle group

4 thoughts on “New beginnings

  1. soultarot January 1, 2013 / 10:40 pm

    Would Jesse object to me posting her poem to my facebook page if I credited her with writing it? It is an amazing poem.

    • Monica January 2, 2013 / 3:45 pm

      Hello, as long as you credit the artist, I don’t think there will be any problems. It is indeed a beautiful poem. Blessings.

  2. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) January 2, 2013 / 1:41 pm

    Squeee!

    This is a cool post. I love it. I love the women’s circle group and everything about this.

    I wish it was warm here like it is there…

    Anyway! I keep drawing and posting the same cards as you! How funny.

    Hope you have a lovely 2013!!!

    XOXO,
    MM

    • Monica January 2, 2013 / 3:47 pm

      Hiya, yes that is funny! I saw your post on the 2 Queens, very good. The women’s circle group was amazing, I would love to do something like this every month, say meet at the New Moon or something. It is very inspirational and uplifting. You have a great 2013 and keep up the blogging!🙂

Leave a Reply

