Sirian Starseed Tarot Deck Review

Majors

I have been kindly sent a copy of the newly released Sirian Starseed Tarot for review. Always happy to shuffle another deck, I have taken my time with these cards – despite having many name changes to the Major Arcana, and also re-naming the elements and the Court cards, this deck follows the Rider Waite Smith essence in its imagery.

Sage of Chalices

The pictures are digital collage, and blend in the mystical with the “new age”, having a strong celestial vibe to it. Despite the negative connotations this may bring to some people, it would be a shame to dismiss this deck instantly purely on this association alone. It certainly has its own voice and will add insight into readings – in other words, it works.

I have found it particularly good for readings with a more spiritual bend, or those with a meditative quality – the times when you might want to get to know yourself a little better, or want to spend time in quiet contemplation.

The one drawback I have found though, is the size of the cards – they are huge!

Sirian Starseed card size
Left to right: Druidcraft, Sirian Starseed and Rider Waite Smith

I have taken a picture to show what I mean – they are actually even bigger that the Druidcraft Tarot – so I had to adjust my method accordingly and instead of shuffling and cutting, I fan the cards out on the table.

layout

Of course, this is only a drawback if you prefer the classic shuffle and cut method – if you don’t mind fanning the cards out and then drawing, it’s not an issue. I am in fact contemplating cutting off the white borders, as not only will this reduce the card size, but also make the pictures really stand out.

The Shadow

In this deck, Crystals replace Pentacles, Chalices replace Cups, Orbs replace Swords and Flames are Wands. In the Court cards, we have the Seeker, the Adept, the Sage and the Master (respectively Page, Knight, Queen and King). The booklet that comes with the deck is comprehensive and very useful. Regarding the Court cards, it notes:

In the Sirian Starseed Tarot, the People cards depict levels of spiritual maturity, descriptive of the journey along the path of awakening. They are you, as they are others; they are traits, as they are indicators; they are situations, as they are experience.

The Major Arcana cards have mostly been renamed, and I have enjoyed to see some new keywords for these. For example, the Fool is Starseed, the Emperor is Reason, the Hierophant is Guidance, the Devil is the Shadow – I really like this last one, it reminds me of the great saying “I am not afraid of the Devil, I am afraid of people who are afraid of the Devil” – and bringing one’s shadow to consciousness is such a hard journey in life.

Overall I would say there is a lot to discover and enjoy in this deck, but as with any other, it works best if one sets aside preconceived notions or ideas and really lets go. I would recommend it primarily as a deck for spiritual discovery, vision quests, meditation or reflective practice. That’s not to say one can’t use for all sorts of purposes, this is simply the energy I get from most of the cards in this deck.

I must also say that on this occasion I have taken photographs of the cards, and the quality of the imagery is not as good as it is in real life. I would recommend the Sirian Starseed Tarot website or the Aeclectic Tarot website review to give you a better idea.

Flames

Crystals

Chalices

Orbs

Images  from The Sirian Starseed Tarot by Patricia Cori and Alysa Bartha, published by North Atlantic Books, copyright © 2012 by Patricia Cori and Alysa Bartha. Reprinted by permission of publisher.

5 thoughts on “Sirian Starseed Tarot Deck Review

  1. D. D. Syrdal December 31, 2012 / 4:47 am

    How fun, a free deck! I can’t make up my mind about this one. I like some of the imagery, but photo-collage decks are generally a turn-off for me. Maybe because so many in the past were so badly done. I agree about the white borders. They should have made the cards smaller to bleed the image to the edge and ended there.

    • Monica December 31, 2012 / 12:37 pm

      Yes, I agree. It happens so often with many decks, the extra border, so far I have resisted the temptation to cut these off, but I know this is the first deck I’ll be doing this with. Hope you have a great New Year celebration! Blessings.

  2. JJ January 1, 2013 / 4:43 am

    Oh man, I LOVE big cards, the bigger the better. I have discovered that even if they are too big to shuffle, I can lay them out in a row of 7 or 8 and redistribute them in a meditative exercise, and then draw a card after putting the deck back together. It’s not a chore, it’s a meditation.

    I also like the Emperor as Reason, like Blake’s Newton.

    Digital collage is not a favourite of mine, as my long relationship with Photoshop tends to overshadow any intake of breath at digital stuff. Several artists are good at it and many more are not. However, this one seems pretty good.

    I respect their focus on self-mastery rather than divination. I think that is Krishna in his chariot from the Bhagavad Gita on the Chariot, yes? The Indigo children thing never made sense to me so the child on the Indigo card (Magician) is ethereal but rather untenable to me. I like the Glastonbury Tor on the Seven of Crystals.The authors seem to have included some mythology here which is also nice.

    Thanks for the write-up, interesting to hear your thoughts.

  3. Claudio Abbott January 6, 2013 / 5:25 pm

    When you put Patricia Cori, a new age author who channels interdimensional beings from the Sirius Star System together with metaphysical and intuitive artist Alysa Bartha you get an amazing and powerful tarot deck. The Sirian Starseed Tarot is a 78 card deck and comes with an 87 page book that explains what a starseed is and how to interpret these exquisite and unusual cards. The cards are referred to as keys rather then just simply cards, which fits with everything else regarding The Sirian Starseed Tarot.

  4. Dan February 22, 2013 / 2:15 am

    Beautiful deck! Tarot is a great tool of divination, it is lead by your intuition – which is the strongest utility one possesses in any domain. It incorporates arts and imagination. I’d like to offer an awesome free tarot that completes this wonderful article: http://www.wonderfulsoul.com/Tarot.aspx

Leave a Reply

