Today’s card brought to you by Crown Lynn

 

Lots going on today, starting with the op-shop hunt which resulted in buying my first ever set of china. Above (and below) is the very delightful Crown Lynn Laura set, which I snapped for $20. I think “snapped” goes well with the 5 of Sticks energy, teeeheeeheee. I don’t know what the odds are of finding this gem in the middle of central Queensland, but I’d say pretty rare. Kiwis will no doubt smile with fondness – Crown Lynn is quintessential kiwi, made in New Zealand long ago when such things were possible, before virtually all manufacturing jobs got exported to China. The factory didn’t make it past 1989, which is such a shame, but this means the pottery and ceramics they made are rather sought after. I don’t think this set is actually worth a lot, however I am so happy to have a little bit of kiwiana gracing the dinner table.

It’s funny because I see myself and my friend in the 5 of Sticks, rummaging for good bargains at the local op-shops. We didn’t knock each other out 😉 but had a great time looking through for bits and pieces. It’s my day off so at some point I would like to set aside the action-packed vibe of this card and light a candle, some incense, and shuffle some cards quietly. Perhaps tonight.

Many blessings and a great week to you all,
Monica

 

3 thoughts on “Today’s card brought to you by Crown Lynn

  1. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) November 5, 2012 / 5:59 pm

    Wow!

    Gorgeous set. Congrats on your find. They’re so simple, cheerful and pretty.

    Those Tarot of the Absurd cards are also quite quirky and cheerful–I like them. Reminds me of the Gorgon’s Tarot but a bit more energetic, less wooden.

    Have a swell one,
    MM

    • Monica November 5, 2012 / 7:08 pm

      Thank you Mentha. I am rather chuffed with it. Will definitely have to make a cup of tea and savour it from the lovely cups. 🙂

  2. Sharyn November 13, 2012 / 2:47 am

    Lovely to have something made locally. and as you say almost impossible to do anymore.

Leave a Reply

