I am Kali

While shuffling the Oracle of Shadows and Light this morning, I asked “who am I”. I’m not having an existential crisis or anything along those lines, it was more of a curiosity and entertainment question. Well here you go.

As it happends, I am very fond of Kali and all her necessary destructive ways. The booklet writes,

Kali is the blue-skinned Hindu Goddess of birth, death and rebirth. Here she represents the destruction phase of this natural cycle, and it is her role to clear away all that is no longer needed.” Fitting for where I’m at, I say.

I then drew a second card, from the Barbara Walker Tarot, and got Doom, or the Ace of Swords. I say, it’s a very apocalyptic draw today!

I am happy to say that today was more true to the Ace of Swords energy, rather than Doom. I decided to start a new blog, because I want to write about all my garden adventures and keep this separate from the tarot side of things. Starting a new blog is quintessential Ace of Swords energy – new start, new beginning, but in a mentally inquisitive way.

If you would like a peek, here it is:

Tropical Tomatina

Blessings,
Monica

6 thoughts on “I am Kali

  1. D. D. Syrdal October 15, 2012 / 5:56 am

    I love the Oracle of Shadows & Light. Haven’t used that one recently, but I love the art and the cards themselves, the way they feel. I have the BW tarot, never much cared for it. Glad your day isn’t ‘doomed’! Congrats on the new blog, have fun with that🙂

    • Monica October 15, 2012 / 3:25 pm

      Yes it’s a beauty. I love it too. It’s not one that I use often, but now and then it’s perfect for what I crave. I think the BW tarot is definitely not for everyone, it’s a bit of an aquired taste, but I have found it to work really well despite having a lot of cards with negative depictions. Thank you for the wishes.

  2. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) October 16, 2012 / 9:38 am

    Cool. I love it! Will definitely frequent the blog.

    Those draws are so wicked cool. Very Halloweeny. I am wondering whether I should get dressed up for Halloween this year. Maybe being a bad-ass goddess like Kali would be the perfect costume!

    Kick-ass Diva Hugs,
    MM

    • Monica October 17, 2012 / 11:47 pm

      Thanks Mentha! I don’t think I will update it more than say once a fortnight, but when I do I’ll try and add lots of photos🙂 And you should totally get dressed up for Halloween and post some photos too😉

  3. JJ October 17, 2012 / 3:40 am

    As a dedicated gardener, I have made sure to follow your new blog. Your plant and garden photos are exquisite–have to get my fix!

    As far as Kali goes, I love the deck by Mandala Publishing called Gods and Goddesses Card Deck ISBN 1886069468, and they have Kali in there. Think the deck is OOP but you could probably scrounge one up in the used market. I love decks with Hindu mythology and good classic art. I also have and use their Gita Deck as well.

    • Monica October 17, 2012 / 11:50 pm

      Hi JJ – thank you for the heads up! I look forward to taking loads of photos and posting these. I’ll have to look around for the Gods and Goddesses deck as I’ve always loved all that mythological godly stuff he he🙂

Leave a Reply

