4 of Swords and tomato sauce

Hmmm. I drew these 3 cards this morning, before the day really began. Being a Sunday, and part of a long 4-day weekend, today was going to be a chilled and homely kind of day. So I felt the Queen of Pentacles reflected this – but then struggled to interpret the following cards, 10 of Swords and 4 of Swords.

And now, looking over the whole day, I have to laugh at how literal these cards are, in a very mundane sort of way. Rest assured, I have not disintegrated like the character in the 10 of Swords. But within an hour of waking up, I started feeling sick, and very shortly had every symptom of a cold. Much like this guy, I felt all the energy drain out of me, as if my essence was being sucked out and evaporated. I spent much of the day lying on the couch watching movies, eating garlic and blowing my nose. Finally, in the evening I decided to actually do something, and went out to harvest tomatoes from my garden, intent on making a nice tomato sauce.

That’s them below, plus some parsley and oregano.

This photo was taken before I washed them, so they still have dirt on them. The funny thing about this is, the 4 of Swords card sort of resembles me next to a pot of freshly made tomato sauce🙂 Tee hee heee.

I assure you I didn’t cover myself with it! I know the main meaning of this card – rest and recuperation – is very fitting for my day of rest. But also I think the visual is matching my tomato sauce making experiment too.

So I thought this was quite funny. Oh well. I shall enjoy a glass of red wine and have a nicely relaxing evening, and hopefully will get better by tomorrow.

Blessings, Monica.

9 thoughts on “4 of Swords and tomato sauce

  1. Sharyn/AJ October 1, 2012 / 1:49 am

    Yesterday I was standing in front of our tomato bed, fists on hips, wondering why they always all come ripe the same instant…They sure are beautiful though, perfect year here for them, no rain to give them blight.

    feel better soon.

    • Monica October 1, 2012 / 12:52 pm

      Hi Sharyn – totally agree – we have lots of them at the moment. I am contemplating some tomato soup tonight with fresh bread🙂 I am better already, thank you. Happy tomato season!

  2. D. D. Syrdal October 1, 2012 / 4:12 am

    Awww, hope you feel better soon! Nice that you have a 4-day weekend to kick back. It’s funny how our bodies keep going until they know we have time sort of collapse. I used to get sick on holidays all the time.

    That’s funny about the 4 of Swords, first thing I thought of when I saw the post title was it looked like someone making tomato sauce! lol

    • Monica October 1, 2012 / 12:55 pm

      Yes it was well timed actually. Monday is a public holiday, so it’s been great. When I came back to my daily draw, after all the cooking, I had to laugh too, seeing the cards again. I love tarot for being like this, sometimes it is light hearted and mundanely literal, which I find refreshing.

  3. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) October 1, 2012 / 4:39 am

    This post made me laugh! I loved the image of the fairy spreading tomato sauce on her face and body! Hilarious. I love literal interpretations like this. They crack me up. Also love the double meaning regarding rest and recuperation. The sauce sounds tasty. I hope you do have a short-lived cold.

    XOXO,
    MM

    • Monica October 1, 2012 / 1:11 pm

      Yeah I know it’s great, isn’t it?! I think you’ll love this deck. And I can confirm my cold was very short lived🙂 Much better today, phew.

  4. Siddaleah October 1, 2012 / 2:23 pm

    I love it when that happens! That 3 of swords is very striking.

  5. Dragon's Moon Studio (@DragonsMoon) March 4, 2013 / 10:35 am

    Oh my Fey! This is one of the most amusing and delightful tales of people’s experience with the Fey deck that I have come across. I love the Fey deck, when I saw it was to be released- I was on the pre-order list (Back then I distributed Llewellyn books). I have found the Fey to be so very cleaver and amusingly in your face about things. Even when I work with them on a heavy issue- they always make me laugh.
    Thank You!

    • Monica March 4, 2013 / 9:02 pm

      Hello – agree🙂 it’s a fantastic deck, I love it absolutely. I will be getting the book as well. It’s so quirky yet totally adorable. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

