Poppies and wands

The warm energy of the 6 of Wands blends in well with the glowing yellows of these Californian poppies. I’ve been nurturing these 3 little bushes of poppies for about six months now, and finally, they have shown their glory. I shall be drawing cards from my new Fey Tarot, which I must say is totally wonderful. I think I say that about a lot of decks, but really, this one is gorgeous, and whacky oddball with beautiful paintings and colours πŸ™‚ I would do a full review if I had a scanner, but I am holding back buying a scanner until I cross to the other side and buy a Mac laptop – ooohhh and then you’ll all get a plethora of reviews and photographs. At least until I am threatened with copyright anyway!

Well this card has a distinct garden feel to it, what with the potted seedling, though today I think I am just enjoying the garden, visually, rather than doing a whole lot of seed sawing or anything like that. Tonight we shall have a brazier fire in the garden with a few friends and a bottle or two of wine. The fire is just for the pyromanics inside all of us – because it’s about 30 degrees right now and the nights are really warming up. So on that note, I wish you all a beautiful weekend.

Many blessings,

Monica

13 thoughts on “Poppies and wands

  1. princelenormand September 22, 2012 / 8:28 pm

    I always thought I’d dislike this deck, but it is beautiful. Do you have the companion book? Has loads of interesting stuff in it. I think it was The Sun that did it for me. I love that image, so uplifting. And some of those fierce swordy characters.

    I actually prefer your photos to scans. So much more personal. The card looks almost vintage-y in this one, which looks lovely.

    Hope you have a great weekend too. Gorgeous poppies!

    • Monica September 23, 2012 / 1:07 pm

      Hello Prince – gosh I didn’t even know there is a companion book with it. I’ll have to get it, of course. I agree with the Sun card, it is pure joy. I take on board your comment about more personal photos – I’ll keep doing that for sure, as I love my garden and the beauty it shares with me. Blessings.

  2. Krysten September 22, 2012 / 8:29 pm

    How exciting Monica, have a wonderful time this evening

    xx
    Starlit blessings to you

    • Monica September 23, 2012 / 1:08 pm

      Thank you Krysten – it was beautiful πŸ™‚ I have meant to comment earlier and say your blog looks great! I’ll be checking it out and love the video too. Blessings.

  3. Zanna Starr September 23, 2012 / 1:26 am

    I love your photos of the cards in “real life” settings, Monica! As we in the States drift slowly into autumn, it’s lovely to see your world beginning to bloom. Thanks for a great post.

    • Monica September 23, 2012 / 1:09 pm

      Thanks Zanna – gosh I’ll be keeping this up πŸ™‚ The tropical summer will be exceptionally hot this year so we’ll see what survives eh. Blessings.

  4. Pip September 23, 2012 / 3:23 am

    I love that deck. πŸ™‚ I trimmed the borders off mine and the pictures really pop!

    Beautiful flowers!

    • Monica September 23, 2012 / 1:11 pm

      Thank you Pip – I am seriously considering trimming a couple of decks now, I can see how this would make the images really stand out. But I’m too scared to do it yet! Blessings.

      • Pip October 3, 2012 / 2:32 am

        Look at it this way, if you don’t like it, you can always get another copy of the deck, right? πŸ™‚

  5. JJ September 23, 2012 / 8:36 am

    I love California Poppies. I decorated a bundt cake for my husband once with icing and the petals from California Poppies–it looked very Art Nouveau.

    And the Fey was the 13th deck I bought–the spouse bought it for me for Valentine’s day in 2003 (I had to circle it in the catalogue so he’d know what I wanted!) It’s a wonderful deck and book set, one of my favourites and I agree with PLN about The Sun card–magic.

    I wrote a wonderful poem with the Ace of Wands of this deck, it is a GREAT deck and I’m so glad you now own it. It stands up for me.

    • Monica September 23, 2012 / 1:12 pm

      Oh that sounds amazing – a cake decorated with poppies’ petals. I can just see it in my head already. And yes, totally agree, can’t believe how much I love this deck already. It’s very true to me. Blessings.

  6. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) September 23, 2012 / 3:45 pm

    Oooh! Man, oh, man.

    When I went to the metaphysical fair today I was THIS CLOSE to purchasing this deck. This guy had a number of decks and none of them really appealed to me except this one, and I’ve seen it on several people’s blogs but haven’t purchased it. I just didn’t want to spend the money right now–still tight. But I will get this one, I think. It’s quirky yet pretty. It’s sort of like the Tarot of Sweet Twilight but I think I like this Fey Tarot better.

    Also, once again, I love your outdoorsy photos with the cards and the feeling of fellowship and activity in your days.

    XOXO,
    MM

    • Monica September 23, 2012 / 7:25 pm

      Ahhh, so close Mentha! πŸ™‚ I’m sure you’ll get this deck too. I think you’ll adore it. I’ll post a bit more with it so you’ll get a better idea (and drool). Blessings.

Leave a Reply

