Living it up like a Queen (of Wands)

First let me start by saying that this is not a Le Creuset advertisement (but boy, do I love their cookware, all the way from France, beautiful cast iron like they had back in the day…)

This is just my card for yesterday, when I decided to make an organic chicken casserole and live it up like a Queen. I saw a neat little quote a while back that said “Organic food is what our grandparents called food” and it made me smile. Of course, like the Queen of Wands, I am an idealist. Ever met a fire sign who was not idealistic? Neither have I. Naturally, she is the Queen I identify with the most, followed by the Queen of Pentacles. Though I am not sure about this version of the card – is that meant to be Elizabeth Taylor or what?!

Now the title of this post may have some folks thinking I was lying on the beach all day, or did some glamourous shopping or some other nonsense – when quite frankly, I just indulged in some decent cooking and tended my garden. Because I do feel that it is rare to find your average middle-class citizen creating a whole meal out of certified organic or home-grown ingredients, including the meat. For many it is indeed a luxury – and one I have stubbornly clung onto, even during my days as a broke student, and even more during the whole year I was unemployed a few years back.πŸ™‚

In any case, learning to appreciate the art and beauty of a delicious meal has been one of the best things in my life in recent years, and long may it continue.

I hope you all had a great weekend,

Monica

13 thoughts on “Living it up like a Queen (of Wands)

  1. mallowblossom September 11, 2012 / 1:52 am

    Hi, Monica! That stew looks delicious…how about a recipe?

    • Monica September 11, 2012 / 8:40 pm

      He heπŸ™‚ Thank you! As for a recipe – it’s sort of very loose – I included garlic, onions, potatoes, carrots and mushrooms and of course the chicken and some organic chicken stock. Oh a loads of pepper, cause this Queen likes it hot!

  2. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) September 11, 2012 / 5:07 am

    Looking good! Mmm. Nothing like a home-cooked meal.

    Great Le Creuset! I need to pop by the local discount department store (called Marshall’s here) and see if they have any more of this fancy cookware for a reduced price. I may wait until early next year and get a big stewpot like this, because I definitely would use it. I have a stainless steel soup pot but I’d like something like this that I can put in the oven. And I no longer use anything aluminum (Alzheimer’s…etc) and so I cook with the safest materials I can, whether cast iron, enamel, glass, etc.

    Home-cooked hugs,
    MM

    • Monica September 11, 2012 / 8:43 pm

      Well what would you know – I actually got mine at an online discount store, and would you believe it, it had free delivery – true to its cast iron composition, the thing weighs a tonne. I’m with you on Aluminium cookware, I also avoid the non-stick stuff, I just have one non-stick for the very rare occasion. Anyhow, I totally recommend such an “investment” – I reckon it will last forever.πŸ™‚

      • Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) September 12, 2012 / 5:38 pm

        Oh, so true! Yes, I got rid of all my non-stick stuff too. Full of chemicals! Plus it just peels off into the food and the coating eventually goes away. Sometimes I feel like I want a nonstick pan but it’s worth it to not have the chemicals. I also like my cast iron skillets. I love them, but I admit i haven’t used them as much recently since getting a smooth top oven. Oy. Afraid to scratch it! Anyway…perhaps I will get one of these as a gift to myself someday.πŸ˜€

  3. JJ September 12, 2012 / 3:16 am

    You did it to me. I had to pull out my Cosmic Tarot and use it. I will keep it close for a while and use it periodically.

    Beautiful stew! I feel a cassoulet craving coming upon me. My Mom used to have those pots in red, I still remember a beautiful Beef Bouguignon she made in the big one when we had company over.

    • Monica September 12, 2012 / 10:04 am

      Ahhh happy to see us all getting cosmicπŸ™‚ It is a fine deck in my humble opinion – and doesn’t it go marvelously well with some old fashioned cookware? Oh my god, I think I need to get the Housewives Tarot!!πŸ™‚ Mmmmm beef bouguignon yes to that. I’ll have to try it one day soon.

      • JJ September 12, 2012 / 11:29 am

        You don’t have the Housewives Tarot (nudge, nudge, wink, wink.)

        I bought the Housewives because the boy being spanked on the Justice card looks like my brother; he gets Justice for his ratty ways, mwuahaha. We also had a chair in our living room with that exact upholstery–the nubby stuff so popular in the 50s. Takes me back!

  4. Sharyn/AJ September 13, 2012 / 7:37 am

    I was Jonesing for the Cosmic a month or so ago, but fortunately the feeling has passed, I need another deck like I need a hole in my head. It is nice to see well done faces though, whoever they are.

    • Monica September 14, 2012 / 10:07 am

      Sharyn – the need for a new tarot deck waxes and wanes like the moon cycles with me. Last week I received the Fey Tarot, and am happy I got this, but otherwise, I think 30 is about enough?!!πŸ˜‰

  5. JJ September 16, 2012 / 6:36 am

    I thought I was done until I ordered a playing card deck about snakes and 100 postcards of botanical prints and educational wall charts this week.

    When in doubt, there are more things on heaven and earth than tarot decks. I use postcards as oracles and just to look information up, and playing cards are neat because they exist. The South Sea Bubble Cards: I rest my case.

  6. Siddaleah September 20, 2012 / 11:44 am

    What a delicious looking meal! Now I must eat! lol

  7. Krysten September 21, 2012 / 7:24 pm

    What a nice post Monica and th stew looks delicious! Le Creuset is so lovely from what Ive been told.
    I’ve been wanting this deck since about 2001 lol! Maybe I will feed my tarot addiction and go get it this week.

    Blessing

Leave a Reply

