Alchemy

A lovely depiction of Temperance is my card for today, from the Cosmic Tarot by Norbert Losche. I have been playing with this deck for a while now – and meaning to post it all, but alas – other things keep popping up.

The ability to blend two waters, or matter, or aspects of one’s life, so it doesn’t lead to extremes is a fine skill. “Walking the middle path” is noted in the LWB that comes with the deck – and that is something I am at least trying to do. I think for me (and the meaning of this card in general), this is about blending the spiritual with the material aspects of life, and having a harmonious blend of both. I especially love the woman in the card above, the mix of nude with colourful clothing, her jewels, and serenity. I love the fact that she is so comfortable in her environment, and in herself.

Note she doesn’t hold the two chalices in balance (a tricky interpretation often attributed, more appropriately, to the Justice card). She actually pours and blends – an alchemical process. It’s a lovely card to meditate upon when you feel the need to mix the waters of your own cups (whether creative or stagnant) into the wider flowing river of the world. And it’s great to be able to do so at such a crucial and challenging time in our collective history.

Harmonious alchemy to you all,

Monica

6 thoughts on “Alchemy

  1. JJ September 6, 2012 / 7:31 am

    I love the Cosmic Tarot. Many people find the movie stars disconcerting but I think the artwork is worth it. Lovely to see this card here.

    • Monica September 7, 2012 / 9:48 am

      Yes – totally agree. What are the movie stars doing there??!! Ah well. I love the rest of the deck, and some cards are just sublime. I’ll be shuffling this one for a little while more.

  2. princelenormand September 6, 2012 / 10:59 pm

    The movie stars do bother me a bit, but I agree that that is a small problem since the general feel of the artwork is superb. I love the palette and the delicate nature of the pictures. The 9 of Cups (I think) is one of my most favourite cards.

    • Monica September 7, 2012 / 9:50 am

      I love that 9 of Cups too! And also the 6 of Cups, and the 10 of Cups as well. Very beautiful. I got this deck from the Theosophical Bookshop in Melbourne when I last went there a few months ago, and it brings up happy memories.🙂

  3. Sharyn September 9, 2012 / 1:45 am

    Monica, re: your search for Songs, email me from the About Me page, I have a potential suggestion.
    Thanks for stopping by, Sharyn/AJ

    • Monica September 10, 2012 / 6:21 pm

      Ooooh ahhh – will do right now! Thanks Sharyn!

Leave a Reply

