Today’s cards from the Sun and Moon Tarot, which I drew this morning. I took the photo early in the morning too, while trying to warm up my bones in the sun. The background is my vege patch – this time next to the calendula flowers.

The first card is the Princess of Pentacles. She is the equivalent to the Page in the RWS deck. Fittingly, I did sit in my garden gazing at the flowers today, much like she is doing in this deck. And while not pregnant literally, I was certainly full with ideas and plans on what to do with the garden, and also with the day. In the end, a large part of the day was spent around the house, with a bit of gardening getting done – I planted new seeds for the wormwood, beetroot and zucchini plants. Because it doesn’t get very cold, you can pretty much grow vegetables during all of winter – in fact, it’s the best season for this as summers get too rainy for most of the european vegetables.

Next we have the Moon, and I relate this to my tarot work today. Isn’t it a lovely card? One of my favourite Moon cards actually. It speaks of that moment in time when you are alone with your thoughts, your dreams, your intuition, and you are comfortable being there. I find if I spend too much time “out there”, being too busy and running around, I actively seek and need time alone to light incense and do some tarot readings. I also read for a friend today, which is always a welcome practice for me.

Finally, there is the Empress. This card is coming up a lot for me. And I know in many ways, I am her, even more than my association with the High Priestess. The Empress is all about fertility, creativity, nourishment, power as a woman and feminine strength during the peak of my adulthood. I am that woman. I think it’s easy to lose track of that, but I really don’t want to wake up being 50 and regretting that I did not appreciate the juicyness of this beautiful period in my life. So the Empress I think is just the stage that I am in, in life, but also my recognition of this.

Many blessings,

Monica

7 thoughts on “

  1. D. D. Syrdal August 14, 2012 / 3:35 pm

    I love that Moon card, too. I wish I could retreat and spend more time with my cards, but Fate it seems has other plans for me.

    • Monica August 14, 2012 / 4:00 pm

      Hmmm it can be a tricky one to manage – we are just so busy! Or sometimes I just get distracted. I do hope you find some me time for your own sweet self😉 Blessings.

  2. Chloe August 16, 2012 / 2:48 am

    What a beautiful set of cards! And I think it’s great that you are relishing the juiciness of your life😀 It’s funny, this Empress has a bit of a High Priestess feel, standing between the trees and with a crescent moon as a swing. A reminder, perhaps, that we find our creativity through connection with our environment, as well as our intuition…

    • Monica August 17, 2012 / 9:15 pm

      Thank you Chloe! I totally agree – and may I say I am so drawn to this quirky deck as well. Blessings to you.

  3. Sharyn August 16, 2012 / 3:09 am

    Pretty little deck, reminds me of the Magical Forest in coloring. Funny that, one all face one no face.
    Sharyn/AJ

    • Monica August 17, 2012 / 9:16 pm

      I don’t yet have the Magical Forest but would love it. Strangely the no face people in this deck work out really well. Blessings.

  4. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) August 22, 2012 / 4:07 pm

    I am trying to resist saying ‘pregnancy’…so I won’t say it. Oh, well I guess I just did. No, but really I loved your interpretation of this spread and the cards themselves!

    Ripe Juicy Wild Woman Hugs,
    MM

Leave a Reply

