A full moon, a tarot card, some incense, a few gemstones and hot tea

Well let’s start with the full moon – in Aquarius. I admit, I have slowed down a bit over the past couple of weeks. Tarot has taken a back seat to other necessities, such as getting chickens, feeding chickens, naming chickens and so on. But today, in recognition of a beautiful full moon (and feeling it rather intensely), I took a much-needed break and focused on me.

I decided to light up the candle, the incense, and brew a decent tea this early afternoon, right around the actual time of the full moon, and drew one card to offer some insight for me, not just for today but for the year ahead. I drew the Knight of Pentacles from Legend: The Arthurian Tarot. Focus, perseverance, practicality, work. I instantly thought about how I need to stick to my path and practice this. I am specifically referring to the study and practice of tarot, astrology and also yoga – as opposed to trying out and diffusing my energies with other interests.

I recently had an astrological reading specifically on vocation, which was extremely valuable. I shall write about that another day. For now, I think I need to just accept where I am and not run away in a million other directions, be that geographically or work-wise. As a Sagittarius, the grass is always (always!) greener, somewhere else, just not here. I like the Knight of Pentacles, for he has a grounded, steady practicality about him, a plan and a method, and diligently and patiently goes about achieving his goals. I actually associate my partner with this knight, for he is a Virgo, and all knights represent the mutable signs of the zodiac, with the earthy Knight of Pentacles associated with Virgo.

Part of my ritual always involves tea. This time I brew thyme, dandelion root, calendula flowers and oatstraw. I am not a herbalist, though I secretly covet to being one, and squeeze in bits of folk knowledge with growing a few herbs. I particularly loved how the light came through and highlighted the calendula flower heads swirling around.

I’ve also gathered my gemstones and crystals into one bowl – I have some stones that I found along creeks, in between the more common crystals. I need to take the time to just sit and learn or meditate on these, but for now I just enjoy looking at them and placing them in odd spaces around the house.

Many blessings,
Monica

7 thoughts on “A full moon, a tarot card, some incense, a few gemstones and hot tea

  1. D. D. Syrdal August 3, 2012 / 7:20 am

    Well, a good card to keep in mind as the year progresses. Always good advice, it seems. I like your collection of stones and crystals.

    • Monica August 5, 2012 / 5:33 pm

      Thank you – I’ll try to keep that one in mind. Slowly but surely, as the saying goes. Blessings.

  2. liliana August 3, 2012 / 8:50 am

    Gracias…today is my birthday…nice pics!!🙂

    • Monica August 5, 2012 / 5:34 pm

      Happy belated birthday🙂 Hope you had a beautiful day. Blessings.

  3. Magic Mentha August 6, 2012 / 12:37 am

    Gorgeous…

    I love the tea. It reminds me of those ‘blooming tea’ kits. Have you seen those? I am sure you have but thought I’d ask. I love the look of herbs and flowers steeping. That’s another ritual I need to do more–making beautiful pots of tea. I tend to make individual cups, but making a pot of tea is very good, too. I should make various blends depending on mood…

    The crystals are very nice. I haven’t messed with stones and crystals for a while–it might be fun. Your posts remind me of these things, so thanks!

    I had the most exquisite drink experience–I was given some hibiscus flowers in syrup. You place one in a glass (champagne flute) then either add champagne or sparkling water (I used the latter) and a couple tablespoons of the sweet hibiscus liquid. It’s just so good. I made my own later by buying a bulk bag of hibiscus from the health food store and cooking them with honey. So delicious and addictive!

    Herbal, Crystal Hugs,
    MM

    • Monica August 6, 2012 / 10:37 pm

      Hi Mentha – I actually haven’t seen the bloomin tea kits🙂 And also – I haven’t tried hibiscus flowers syrup either. Hey, I’m still young🙂 Sounds delish. Gosh, so many things to try in this world – thank you!! xx

  4. Chloe August 9, 2012 / 7:19 pm

    Those were beautiful pics of your tea! I don’t drink tea much, but this certainly makes it look tempting😉 And your crystals are lovely – how great that some of them you just found!
    Good luck with staying grounded and focusing on your spiritual growth again, as well as on chickens😀

Leave a Reply

