Lily : beetle : dogs

This post is a reflection of yesterday’s draw with the Tea Leaf Oracle. After basking in some glorious winter sunshine, the rains arrived and for about five days now it’s been raining. This is rather unusual for this region, where winters are basically dry throughout. Yesterday morning I dashed into the garden to take pictures of my daily draw, in between the mists and fog, during a brief spell when the rains stopped.

Everything was covered in raindrops, and it all looked magical and beautiful.

The Lily card reads “Spiritual love“. The accompanying book mentions “A beautiful white lily fills the querent’s heart and mind with spiritual love, divine and pure. Now is the time for you to share this love with your fellow man.” This card is a good reminder to be open and caring with those you are around. Even when you disagree with their views on life, tastes and so on. Literally, it could also be above sharing love with your partner.

I photographed the beetle against the seed head of the dill herb, laden with raindrops. Actually the dill flowers themselves bring good fortune: they attract predator wasps that clean out all the caterpillars off vegetables, taking them to their nest to feed emerging wasps. I had no idea of this until I saw a couple of large wasps hovering around stinging the caterpillars off my vegetable leafs.

I am waiting until the seeds develop so I can harvest them and plant more dill. Sometimes I just sit and watch the garden. Plants grow out of what seems like nothing, the smallest seed growing up tall, flowering, and withering.

Finally, yesterday evening we got together with friends for some food and wine and laughter. After a full working week, it was just what the doctor ordered. I have a three day weekend which will be packed with tarot and astrology🙂

Many blessings,
Monica

 

8 thoughts on “Lily : beetle : dogs

  1. D. D. Syrdal July 15, 2012 / 3:06 am

    That dill looks like it’s encased in ice!🙂 I’ve seen many ice storms, and despite the damage and danger and inconvenience, it truly is a magical sight. Have a fabulous weekend!

  2. Monica July 15, 2012 / 12:11 pm

    Yes I love the look too. The more time I spend in the garden the more I love the way it reveals itself. Hope you have a fabulous weekend too🙂

  3. Magic Mentha July 18, 2012 / 11:39 am

    Ooooo! Very pretty.

    I love the way the dill head looks. These are very nice cards, too. Some of my favorites. I’m glad you had a nice time after all your hard work.

    XO,
    MM

    • Monica July 22, 2012 / 8:58 pm

      Thanks Mentha🙂 I loved these pics too, and just watching the drops fall in the wind…

    • Monica July 22, 2012 / 8:54 pm

      Thank you! Gosh🙂

      • Pip July 23, 2012 / 4:37 am

        I love your blog and have been reading for a long time, just don’t comment often.🙂

      • Monica July 23, 2012 / 8:25 pm

        That always puts a smile on my face🙂 I reckon that’s quite common – I know I read lots of blogs – yours among them – but hardly comment, especially this year since I started working full time and gardening as well. Happy blogging🙂

Leave a Reply

