Medical astrology – the first book arrives

The Encyclopaedia of Medical Astrology, by H L Cornell (M.D.) found its way into my letter box this weekend. I used the Herbal Tarot to give some indication of the size of it.

It’s a chunky thing. Thankfully, it is an encyclopaedia, so I’ll only be referring to it as I need to – it is packed with medical astrology references. Cornell spent 15 years compiling it – he started way back in 1918. Very impressive. Here’s a small sample from it, where I looked up “occult” out of interest.

Ignore the text above it unless you are comfortable with human anatomy😉

As it happens, I tick quite a few of the boxes for occult studies: Uranus is strong in my chart, conjunct the Midheaven, and also conjunct Mercury. So there you go. This post shall end here, since I am knackered after an epic and wonderful trip to Eungella National Park over the long weekend (god bless the Queen and all that). Here is the evidence:

9 thoughts on “Medical astrology – the first book arrives

  1. woley June 12, 2012 / 1:07 am

    OMG look at that magical tree!!! What a place, great photos.

    • Monica June 12, 2012 / 9:00 pm

      He he – it’s a strangler fig tree. In this part of the world, even trees are dangerous😉

  2. Zanna Starr June 12, 2012 / 1:49 am

    What a gorgeous place! I could look at those pictures all day.

    The medical astrology book looks awesome. I worked for 10 years in the health care business (public relations) and I have copy edited many nursing textbooks as a freelancer — so the anatomy stuff is fascinating to me. (I once stood at the head of an operating table and watched a surgeon perform open-heart surgery!) I love studying the astrological correspondences for the medical field.

    Thanks for sharing!

    • Monica June 12, 2012 / 9:02 pm

      Thanks Zanna. I look forward to sharing more of this medical astro stuff, though it will be quite the very long and arduous journey. Ok, not that bad, but still. I don’t think I’d have the heart to watch open heart surgery. Pun unintended…

  3. D. D. Syrdal June 12, 2012 / 2:59 pm

    That’s your basic hefty tome right there. Wow, for those nights when you can’t sleep😉 What a gorgeous park! Hope you had a great time.

    • Monica June 12, 2012 / 9:03 pm

      Yes! Pride of place for that “tome” indeed, right under my pillow. I look forward to messing it all up, bookmarks everywhere, notes on the side….🙂

  4. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) June 14, 2012 / 8:39 am

    Haha. Orifices indeed!

    Well, I am impressed, as always. I really need to study astrology in earnest. I can’t remember what the status of Uranus is in my chart (ahem) but anyway.

    I also think I’d like the Herbal Tarot. Hmm…I wish I was 10 years younger, had no child and actually had energy and drive to pursue anything. I feel so tired and old…even though I’m only 33. I guess that’s more the fault of my personality and circumstances than it is my age. There are people twice my age or more in great shape and with vigor to spare.

    Le Sigh!
    MM

    • Monica June 14, 2012 / 11:11 pm

      Hi Mentha – ha! I wish I was 10 years younger too!! Ok I’m not trying to dismiss your trials as of late – you’ve really been through it all. I wish I knew enough of Medical Astro to help you out, but I’m just getting started and feeling rather daunted already. Hope you have a smooth and sunny weekend ahead with your daughter. Hugs x

      • Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) June 16, 2012 / 2:08 am

        Hehe–yeah, I’m sure everyone wants to be 10 years younger, unless they’re 10.😀

        No, I mean…I am just being whiny. I really need to get off my @$$ and exercise. That’s #1. I have not done that. That is a big issue, I think. But that issue existed long before my daughter came along–so I definitely can’t use her as an excuse!

        Oy. We’re going to try to have a good mix of activity and relaxation for the weekend. My goal is to go on more walks and hikes.

        I’ll be thinking of your magical strangler trees when I go walking.

        Snugs!
        MM

Leave a Reply

