Fan: romance, celebration, party

This is today’s card from the Tea Leaf Oracle. I looked at it and thought it sounded pretty nice, but didn’t give it much thought initially. I placed the card in the middle of a photograph of a mandala by Steve McPherson, which is on the cover of the latest Resurgence magazine. Resurgence is hands down my favourite magazine, and I took the luxury to subscribe this year. It’s subtitle “at the heart of earth, art and spirit” sums what it’s all about.

The mandala was created from “unaltered marine plastic objects found on the UK coast between 1994 and 2010, collated and created to reflect the mean temperature of the UK official summer of 2010.”

Well, I had a relaxing day off, since I work a 9 day fortnight, so today it’s the extra day off. I caught up with a friend at the local organic cafe, and when I got home, this beauty was waiting patiently in the living room.

They’re too big for the vase, I know, but it’s the only one free at the moment. So, the keyword of Romance was well placed after all – such a beautiful surprise. I am being spoiled. So I got into a bit of a domestic groove in the afternoon and busted these babies out. Oh yes. Celebration, amen.

If anyone is wondering, they are crackled chocolate cookies, using a recipe from the latest Cuisine magazine. I think I have a magazine fetish at the moment. Keeps my Gemini moon happy πŸ™‚

Blessings to you all,
Monica

10 thoughts on “Fan: romance, celebration, party

  1. woley May 22, 2012 / 2:06 am

    I love magazines and used to subscribe to several art ones but they are so expensive. I see that issue of Resurgence has an article on David Hockney–looks very interesting. It really looks like a fabulous magazine.

    That is such an interesting Mandala–imagine that it’s made from found detritus? Neat. And what a lovely bouquet–yes, you’re being spoiled but you must deserve it!

    Hurray for the Tea Leaf Cards too. I have had them for 7 years or so and love the watercolours.

    • Monica May 22, 2012 / 9:46 pm

      Yes – I finally indulged after a draught in reading material. The mandala is all found rubbish along the coast – there’s something of a contradiction that is actually beautiful about it – all this rubbish, and someone has made turned it into a mandala. I still have over half the mag to read – there’s quite a lot packed into it. Off I go…

  2. D. D. Syrdal May 22, 2012 / 3:01 am

    I hadn’t heard of that magazine, I’ll have to look for it. Those flowers are A-MAYZ-ing. You lucky girl πŸ™‚

    I’ve made those cookies, did you add the mint flavoring? I got the recipe as a ‘Christmas cookie’ recipe, it called for mint or peppermint flavoring (like the candy canes). They’re yummy!!

    • Monica May 22, 2012 / 9:50 pm

      He he. Yes. I am lucky. I have to stop gloating about it, people will get angry with all my happiness and stop reading my blog πŸ˜‰ Well I don’t actually like mint – so no, no mint here. But I can see the appeal though. I’m thinking some ground almonds or such wouldn’t go amiss – mmmm…

  3. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) May 22, 2012 / 3:53 am

    Oh, no!

    I thought I commented already. Weird!

    Anyway…wow. I love the ocean-tumbled plastic pieces and, of course, I adore the local bouquet. Have you seen the bouquet card in the Tea Leaf Fortune Cards yet? I would be surprised if you hadn’t!

    Anyway…love seeing you work with this. It’s always neat to see how these cards play out for others.

    Hugs galore,
    MM

    • Monica May 22, 2012 / 9:56 pm

      Hi Mentha. You know I thought you’d find the mandala appealing. Indeed I have seen the bouquet card – the subtitle is “compliments from an admirer”. I would think that would be more fitting if the flowers came from someone I wasn’t actually seeing – though I suppose my boyfriend is an admirer in a way. I love this deck!!!

  4. liliana May 22, 2012 / 6:22 am

    I Likeso much your post….sorry because my english, i m argetine…kisses

    • Monica May 22, 2012 / 9:58 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Liliana – hope you enjoy browsing through. Blessings.

  5. Madame Nadia May 22, 2012 / 1:58 pm

    What a lovely post. Thanks for sharing.

    • Monica May 22, 2012 / 10:00 pm

      Thank you Nadia πŸ™‚ Many blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

