Tarot collection shelves

For a while I’ve so wanted a tarot chest or something similar in which to keep my tarot decks and bits and pieces🙂 My partner gifted me the beautiful shelves above and I am so happy to have a dedicated space for my collection. He got the wood from his father, and a friend put it all together. It has a beautiful rustic feel to it, and it’s stunning. The edges have been left in their original state, as opposed to being cut in straight edges – definitely my kind of finish.

I haven’t quite finished organising everything, but it gives you an idea. On top I have two brass candle holders, which I actually got for 50 cents each in a thrift store in Melbourne, and I now use to hold up my earrings – yeah, I rather love my trinkety jewels🙂 There’s also an icon of Mary I received a long time ago from my grandmother, and a vase of dried flowers I can’t bring myself to throw away.

My tiger’s eye pendulum rests on the top which is carved out of the leichhardt tree, while the rest of it is made of camphor laurel which is a declared pest plant in Queensland so that’s a good resource to use.

Well there you have it. The beginnings of a serious tarot collection – now I just have to sort something out for all my books…

11 thoughts on “Tarot collection shelves

  1. Prince Le Normand (@princelenormand) May 17, 2012 / 12:46 am

    This is absolutely amazing. I adore it. So natural. Most definitely the best tarot shelves I’ve seen!! What a wonderfully thoughtful partner you have!

    • Monica May 17, 2012 / 1:31 pm

      Thank you Prince – I adore it too. It was a complete surprise – and what a great one! He knew I wanted something for storage, and his father and friend are both carpenters – I am really happy, elated actually. Many blessngs to you.

  2. D. D. Syrdal May 17, 2012 / 2:56 am

    This is magnificent! I love the rough-hewn look of the wood, it seems perfectly suited to this.

    • Monica May 17, 2012 / 1:33 pm

      Yes – the roughness is beautiful. I love the organic look, and not just for my shelves, but I can’t stand overly sterile and character-lacking furniture. As one friend once said, I don’t like to feel as if I am living in a sanitary pad. Enough said😉 Many blessings.

  3. Pip May 17, 2012 / 6:45 am

    Gorgeous!!!! I love every single aspect of it!!!

    • Monica May 17, 2012 / 1:36 pm

      Thank you Pip. It is amazing. It’s like magic😉 Many blessings to you.

      • Pip May 17, 2012 / 1:39 pm

        And to you.🙂

  4. woley May 17, 2012 / 8:13 am

    Wow, gorgeous, all I can say. You are lucky!

    • Monica May 17, 2012 / 1:39 pm

      Aye, that I am. We both keep on saying that we both are. My partner actually says to people that I just happened to fall from the sky and onto his little patch somewhere in Queensland🙂 I am just eternally grateful and happy. Warm blessings to you.

  5. submerina May 17, 2012 / 2:28 pm

    More of the same from me – beautiful, and I loooove the natural edges! That wood has a gorgeous grain and colours too.

  6. hersixthcircle May 29, 2012 / 5:16 am

    Oh, how beautiful! The wood has so much character – it seems perfect to house your tarot collection. I love it.🙂

Leave a Reply

