Work and rest

Yesterday’s draw reflected a work at home kind of day – mainly a bit of tarot work (on the personal side) followed by some gardening work, with a good dose of resting in between it all. These cards are from Alchemical Renewed Tarot, 3rd edition, which I got not long ago. I loved the previous edition and tried my best to get a copy but to no avail – so I am delighted to play with this version now. The only problem I see so far is the card stock which, while laminated, does seem to rip easily around the edges – it sort of peels off so I am trying to be delicate with it.

I love the different versions of some of the cards – like the 7 of Pentacles above. The booklet that comes with the deck is not too informative so you are left to be a bit creative and devise your own meanings, although I think the author is working on an accompanying book. I see a little bit of myself in the 3 of Pentacles, perfecting my craft and practicing tarot. I haven’t had a whole lot of time to devote to it lately, mostly because I’ve focused on getting a garden growing, so taking a couple of hours yesterday just for tarot spreads was great.

Here are the latest garden pics from yesterday – I promise not to turn this blog into a garden blog so this is the last garden photo show – for a while 😉

seedlings of Lemon Balm – great medicinal aid
first garden section is lush – planted tomatoes and zucchini in the rear bed
garlic bed
capsicums
baby eggplant
first cucumber
6 thoughts on “Work and rest

  1. D. D. Syrdal May 13, 2012 / 3:46 pm

    Wow, your garden is looking fantastic! Interesting deck, not one I’ve managed to get my mitts on either. Is there a difference between the cards in the two photos above?

    • Monica May 13, 2012 / 7:56 pm

      Hello – no they are the same cards, just a close up in the second photo. I am actually not sure what the difference between the second and third edition is, other than the back of the cards. My garden is a spiritual practice 🙂

  2. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) May 13, 2012 / 6:25 pm

    Your posts are always so lush and exciting! So green! So foliage-y!

    I want to make like Peter Rabbit and steal into your garden and gobble everything up!

    Hope you’re well.

    Hugs,
    MM

    p.s. I love this deck–think I need to get it.

  3. Monica May 13, 2012 / 7:58 pm

    Hi Mentha – thank you so much! No rabbits needed – plenty of caterpillars are enjoying a feast, bugger them all. But I am stubborn and remain true to my organic principles he he. I think you would love this deck too – it has two lovers cards 🙂 Hope all is well and very much looking forward to your posts again in June.

  4. woley May 14, 2012 / 1:36 am

    I love to see garden pictures–that chair looks so inviting. I have Lemon Balm here in my garden in Canada–it makes lovely tea or you can just add a few leaves to other tea for a hint of lemon.

    I get earwigs chewing through things in my garden as well as caterpillars. Rose chafers eat one of my peonies to bits every year. They don’t eat the roses or the other peonies, just one. I vow to pick them off one by one this year. Natural extermination: the big hand from the sky reaches down and…squish.

    I have the first printing of the Alchemical Tarot Renewed and have not noticed the laminate problem. Your cucumber looks like the Alchemical Egg!

    • Monica May 14, 2012 / 8:47 pm

      Ha ha – yes caterpillars are getting a bit annoying. Lots of squashing – until we get chickens, that is 🙂 I think the laminate problem is only with the latest edition, as I have used the second edition and it was fine. As for my one and only cucumber so far, well said. I shall ingest it ceremoniously: with yoghurt and coriander 😉

Leave a Reply

