Temperance, The Hermit and Skuld

Today’s cards are a little mixed – some temperance, a little bit of hermiting and then some running around. Every work fortnight I get a day off, and today is that day. I intended to chill for most of the day, but in the end had to drive out and pick up bits and pieces. Which I can’t really complain of, since rush hour in the small town I live in consists of three cars at a roundabout.

I have laid out the Barbara Walker tarot on a recent magazine I purchased – not that I endorse it or promote it in any way. I enjoy flicking through organic gardening mags, and there’s a decent selection in a country the size of Australia.

I rather like the representation for the Page of Swords in this deck – he is replaced with a strong feminine character, Skuld. I know I wouldn’t mess with her. The booklet for this deck notes “The Valkyrie rides her black horse over storm clouds, seeking the souls of warrior-heros who dies bravely. Skuld was the leader of the Nose death angels, whose earthly embodiments were funerary priestesses, like oriental dakinis: the Slavic Wilis, Vilas, Valas, or Saxon Valkyries.” Well, I won’t get on my black horse today, especially after a most chilled weekend camping around the Cape Gloucester area of the Whitsundays. I am rather content to just do a bit of gardening, catch up with a friend and read some books. Here are some pics from the trip to keep you all warm🙂

on the way there – a dingy ride
casuarina tree over the beach
lunch time views…

…and lunch…
late afternoon siesta
playing with fire
ball games

4 thoughts on “Temperance, The Hermit and Skuld

  1. Zanna Starr May 9, 2012 / 1:49 am

    Wow, these are fabulous pictures, Monica. And I like the looks of the Barbara Walker deck. Hmmmm… trip to Australia + new Tarot deck. . . Priceless!

    • Monica May 10, 2012 / 9:48 pm

      Thanks Zanna! Unfortunately it’s back to the daily grind now… but I cherish the memories.

  2. D. D. Syrdal May 9, 2012 / 9:50 am

    Looks like it was a fabulous day! Hope you had a great time.

    • Monica May 10, 2012 / 9:48 pm

      Thanks D D🙂 I did need it. Good to get away now and then.

Leave a Reply

