10 of Swords: Ruin

Yesterday was the first quarter moon. Each new moon, I do a monthly moon phases spread that has a card for each of the key moon phases throughout the month – and the 10 of Swords, above, came up for yesterday.

Well, it was a little bit like that actually, but nowhere near as tragic as the picture. We were meant to go camping at Eungella National Park for the weekend, but on Saturday we discovered the fuel pump for my boyfriend’s ute was not working. A whole weekend of pulling the ute apart and putting it back together didn’t get us anywhere, though thankfully it was all resolved this morning.

When I first saw this card – about a week ago when I did the full spread on the new moon – I got a bit worried, thinking something rather bad might happen. But the reality is never as grim as the cards predict, really. I sort of see my boyfriend in the card above, at pains trying to work out what on earth is wrong with car, pulling the fuel pump out, checking the electrics, having no luck – while I’m just standing by hoping it will all turn out ok. Thankfully it did, though for now Eungella will have to wait: we’re off on another camping trip this coming weekend at one of the beaches in the area.

I’m slowly bonding with this deck, the Barbara Walker Tarot. It’s an interesting one, though quite a few of the cards are a bit on the dark side, and some interpretations vastly different to the traditional RWS. I’m enjoying the small size of the cards though, and I’ll do a review as soon as I get a scanner.

Hope you all have a beautiful week ahead. Many blessings,
Monica

8 thoughts on “10 of Swords: Ruin

  1. Prince Le Normand (@princelenormand) May 1, 2012 / 12:54 am

    I have had this one for many years and adore the artwork. I like the small size but it is a shame that the stunning paintings can not be seen better. A great set though, even though I haven’t used it so much. Very original.

    • Monica May 2, 2012 / 9:56 am

      Thank you Prince, I do agree it would be great to have bigger images – perhaps less of a border. It is a very intriguing deck for me – especially the Courts as I don’t know much about the mythological creatures they depict.

  2. Marina May 1, 2012 / 1:27 am

    I liked your take on the 10 of Swords. I agree that the cards can sometimes portray things much more dramatically than they are… and other times, apparently dull cards can represent huge things. The cards challenge us.😉

    I really hope you review the Barbara Walker tarot! I’ve been curious about this deck for ages but I always thought I wouldn’t work well with the darker cards…

    • Monica May 2, 2012 / 9:58 am

      Thank you Marina – I shall do a review once I get a scanner! I don’t think I would do it justice with my camera only. It is probably a couple of months away though until I get one. I’ll post more of my work with it over the next few weeks though.

  3. woley May 1, 2012 / 2:15 am

    I don’t have the deck, but am interested to see it as I haven’t seen anyone use it for years. It’s too creepy for me though. I was surprised to learn from Le Fanu’s blog and checking my bookshelves, that I actually have 2 of Barbara Walker’s knitting books–I never connected the creepy tarot deck lady with those. I got a real kick out of that.

    • Monica May 2, 2012 / 10:00 am

      Ha ha – I know what you mean about the creepy, but I’m actually getting over that… it’s such an odd little deck! Well who knew, a tarot artist and a knitting expert ha ha! Takes all sorts🙂

  4. D. D. Syrdal May 1, 2012 / 3:58 am

    I’ve had this deck for years, along with the book. IIRC, she makes some unsupported historical claims in the book re: history and the patriarchy and religion and stuff. I should reread it. I never really cared for the deck much, I find it prickly (no pun intended with respect to the card you drew above😉 )

    • Monica May 2, 2012 / 10:02 am

      I actually didn’t know there is a book – but if I do get it, I’ll have to read it with an open mind I suppose. Yes I got this deck about six months ago and it’s taken me a while to connect. It is rather well drawn and I’m a fan of small cards, so here we are🙂

Leave a Reply

