Everywhere, water

It has now been raining for a whole week, continuously. For a country associated with the desert, it is incredible how much rain pours down over parts of it. Roads have been flooded and there’s a mini moat around my house. Everything is damp, slightly moist. After having clothes hanging on the washing line for a week, I ended up taking the whole lot to the laundromat and paying for a dryer. I’ve learned it is not a good idea to leave tarot cards out on a table overnight – the paper absorbs moisture and they end up feeling damp. My Fairytale tarot deck actually got bent out of shape – the whole deck just became wavy after I left it on the table for a night uncovered. I suppose I should take more care of my precious possessions, eh?

So when the Death card turned up yesterday, I saw the boat on the river and thought, That’s about right. Actually since one is not meant to drive through flood waters a lot of my co-workers weren’t even at work as quite a few roads were flooded. A canoe might be just the thing at the moment, at least to get through the front yard 😉

So this weekend I’ll be investing in some clove oil and wiping the walls to stop mould from growing – no point in getting a dehumidifier around here anyway. I do wonder how people managed a hundred years ago, with no modern appliances, air conditioning, and usually six children around to clean and feed. Death is a final card for all of us, but until then, I guess we are a pretty resilient bunch 😉

Hope you are all warm and dry. Many blessings,
Monica

 

10 thoughts on “Everywhere, water

  1. D. D. Syrdal March 21, 2012 / 12:47 pm

    Surprisingly for as much rain as we get here in Portland, moisture is not that much of an issue (at least in the heated part of the house. The basement is another story). It’s pouring and cold here. Hope the rains stop soon for you!

    • Monica March 23, 2012 / 9:53 am

      Well you are very lucky! Although if you have a well built and insulated house, mould should not be too much of a worry… but having an insulated house in the tropics is kind of silly, no? It has finally stopped!! Blessings x

  2. Zanna Starr March 21, 2012 / 3:38 pm

    Water can do so much damage. We had a sump pump in our basement one year that failed during heavy rains. I had old photo albums stored in cardboard boxes down there, and many of them were ruined. I really hated that! Take care and stay dry!

    • Monica March 23, 2012 / 9:55 am

      Oh no – not photo albums!!! 😦 I guess there’s a case for going digital there! Finally, I am dry 🙂 Blessings to you x

  3. woley March 22, 2012 / 8:46 am

    I am embarrassed to say, I don’t think I have ever noticed the boat on the river on this card.

    Holy cow on the moisture and humidity. Oh, and a hundred years ago they all had servants to clean up and wipe things down. We have dehumidifiers. You would probably need about 4 of them going full blast by the sound of it. Wow.

    • Monica March 23, 2012 / 9:59 am

      Hmmm… but what if you were the servant?!! 🙂 I have thought about dehumidifiers, but I feel it’s kinda pointless in this part of the world. The rainy season lasts 3 months and the rest it’s pretty dry – from what I’ve been told anyway! Blessings.

  4. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) March 23, 2012 / 4:04 pm

    Very apt post, m’dear!

    Good idea about the clove oil. Essential oils have so much anti-fungal and other anti-microbial properties! I used vinegar and tea tree oil for fungus myself. I got a book not long ago about making all sorts of household cleaners, and even pet products from various natural sources. Very satisfying to do these things yourself and not rely on chemicals. I can’t abide by chemical cleaners…eeek.

    I am glad to hear the rain stopped. I think I’d go crazy if that went on too long. I do LOVE rain but if it got really soggy and my tarot decks started getting wavy I’m sure I’d start to panic.

    Mwah!
    MM

  5. True Manticore July 10, 2012 / 12:39 pm

    Hi, I’m really curious about this card, may I ask what deck it is from?
    I would really appreciate it if you could let me know, thank you!
    I’ll keep checking this page for a reply ^-^

    ~iris

    • Monica July 10, 2012 / 8:53 pm

      Hi Iris – it’s the Haindl Tarot. Hope you get to shuffle it – it’s a great deck. Monica

      • iris August 1, 2012 / 4:55 am

        Thank you so much, it seems to be a beautiful deck, I will definitely look for it! I find the imagery and feel of this deck oddly appealing 🙂

        ~iris

Leave a Reply

