2012 Vision Board

This year’s vision board has taken me a while to get started on. It’s still in the process of being created, but I’m mostly there. I like my vision boards to be a fusion of things I would like to do, but also aspects of my life and inspiring beauty.

It is something I would like to see when I get up in the morning, to contemplate a while and remind myself of the essence of being alive, of feeling alive. I see so many people get up, every single day, and settling for the mediocre when the magnificent is right in front of their eyes. And I’ve known how easy it is to get sucked into a vortex of mundane existence and close off the divine, allow the insidious creep of pointlessness to take over.

This year I’ve added the courses I am interested in, such as Bach Flower Essences and Medical Astrology. I have a picture of Diana from the Goddess Oracle Deck by Thalia Took. I’ve put her there because she is the guide for Sagittarius – she is Goddess of wild places, Goddess of the hunt. I love the way she has been drawn in this card, such a strong and fierce look about her. Not to mention that green frog, which I’ve become very good friends with over the last few weeks🙂

I’ve also added a picture of a journal, which is something I’ve wanted to start for a long time: a journal of my studies and practices associated with astrology, tarot, herbal magick, crystals, oils and whatever else strikes my fancy. Now, this is no easy task. I want this to an exquisite work, so I’ve been taking my time in trying to figure out the best way to go about it. I would love to find that perfect journal, the perfect size, the perfect paper… Living in a small town means, in theory, I am free from the distractions of the world, so I should have plenty of time to unfold all these projects, but the reality is that sometimes I get home after work and just vegetate. Hence the need to create this Vision Board…

I’ve added a couple of images from one of my favourite blogs, The Hermitage. One is a quote by Roald Dahl that Rina has drawn up beautifully:

“And above all watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.”

I’ve also added The Star from the Haindl Tarot, because I love her, I love the way she is washing her hair yet her face is hidden. This is a year of rest, a year of healing, and a year of stepping into my own. There is an image I am yet to put up, but it’s something I am keeping quiet and all to myself until I’m ready to unveil it…

Finally, I had to add some poetry. I have a love for words and sometimes a good poem is just what the doctor ordered. A little Bukowski with my morning coffee sets the day right – a little reminder that somewhere out there, there are people writing poetry, creating music, planting gardens, forging metal, and “making love while other men – poor fools – work”.

Many blessings,
Monica

6 thoughts on “2012 Vision Board

  1. Zanna Starr March 11, 2012 / 4:49 pm

    This is wonderful, Monica! And I agree with you about Diana from the Goddess Oracle. As a Sagittarius, I love the look of her!

    • Monica March 12, 2012 / 11:24 pm

      Thank you Zanna – I too love her, and this version is one of my favourites. Blessings x

  2. woley March 12, 2012 / 1:20 am

    Well, a little Bukowski will certainly keep you grounded! I have my favourite Canadian Bukowski–Al Purdy, who was thought very highly of by his friend Charles Bukowski.
    http://www.library.utoronto.ca/canpoetry/purdy/poems.htm

    You know how to get the perfect journal? Make your own. Seriously, that’s what I did.
    http://woley.wordpress.com/2009/02/04/update-shmupdate/

    It isn’t as hard as you might think. The one you show could be done easily, or you could use that type of hand-ripped paper and make your own cover but use a different stitch to put it together. I like the Coptic stitch because it makes the book lie flat when open.

    Also, what is that black and white round card with the tree figures on it–is it from a deck? Thanks.

    • Monica March 12, 2012 / 11:26 pm

      Wow I’ve checked out your journals, very nice. I’ll have to do a bit of research into making my own – I want a big chunky one, to keep me busy for a few years and more! The black and white card at the top is actually a sign Rina from The Hermitage blog has drawn up – you should check her blog out🙂 Blessings.

  3. Magic Mentha March 13, 2012 / 7:07 am

    I love it.

    I have only read a small bit of Bukowski. Seems cool–I’ll have to get back to reading poetry again. It’s been a while!

    I need to do a vision board. The last time I did one was like, 5 years ago. Of course, a lot has happened in that time and who knows? Maybe I needed that much time. I feel like I did. It’s been a long, painful transition into motherhood. I’m sure it’s worthwhile but so hard.

    Hope you have a swell week…

    Loooove,
    MM

    • Monica March 14, 2012 / 10:46 pm

      Yes poetry is a smooth elixir, eh?🙂 I would love to see a vision board creation of your Mentha – bet it would be amazing!! Wishing you all the best with the house moving mayhem!!! xx

Leave a Reply

