2 of Cups

Most tarot enthusiasts think happy vibes, butterflies, doves and love when they see this card. Oh, and Valentines Day, naturally since this is just around the corner. It’s the quintessential relationships card, and usually augurs well for the beginning of any new relationship. I would like to share my recent experience with this card, shortly after I applied for the job I am currently working in. After my phone interview, naturally I wanted to know what the outcome of the interview would be. Eager beaver that I am, I got out my trusty Rider Waite Smith and drew a card – the 2 of Cups. I was aware this card stands for the beginning of a relationship, and also the making of an offer, but I wasn’t quite convinced it was the right card as an outcome of a successful interview (because I just know better than the universe, OK?!).

So I got out the Jolanda, which I had just received at the time, shuffled, cut, and drew a card.

Yes. 2 of Cups. Again. I guess in my mind I wanted something really solid that screamed success, like the 6 of Wands or the 9 of Cups or something like that.

Still, this was not enough. Hands up who has asked the same question over and over again – perhaps using a different deck? Uh-huh. It’s not quite the thing to do in tarot, since one is meant to sit with the answer and attempt an understanding of some form, but when you’re a fire sign, patience is a foreign word.

So, I thought “a-ha! Bring on the Haindl!” The Haindl Tarot, as I’ve blogged before, is my personal deck. When all else fails, or I need the cutting truth with no ambiguity, I shuffle this little stunner. And so I did, and for the third time in a row, yes, I received the 2 of Cups.

So next time this card comes up in a reading, if it is not specifically related to a relationship issue, I can say its meaning for the successful offer of a contract is definitely “on the cards”.

I’m guessing there will be a lot of the more romantic “2 of Cups” energy in the air tomorrow, so wishing everyone a Happy Valentines day wherever you are and whoever you are with๐Ÿ˜‰ And I’m happy to say I’m returning to a more regular blog posting as I’ve sorted my internet connection for good – this is why I’ve been away for a couple of weeks now.

Many blessings,
Monica

20 thoughts on “2 of Cups

  1. Lisa Frideborg Lloyd February 13, 2012 / 10:30 pm

    Wow! Three times in a row from three different decks… Talk about the Tarot hardwiring a specific meaning into your brain! Oh, and congratulations!๐Ÿ™‚

    • Monica February 15, 2012 / 10:19 am

      Hello Lisa – yes it doesn’t happen often, but when it does I do have to laugh a bit๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Kate February 13, 2012 / 11:43 pm

    Congratulations on getting the job. It really looks like the univers and the cards were trying to tell you something there!

    • Monica February 15, 2012 / 10:20 am

      Thank you Kate – I did this spread a couple of months ago and kept meaning to blog about it since it was rather obvious he he!

  3. Magic Mentha February 14, 2012 / 1:14 am

    Welcome back!

    I’ve definitely been there/done that with asking multiple decks the same question. I’ve had the repeat card thing happen, too, but yours is way impressive!

    Hoping things are going well for you and glad you’re going to be blogging more again.

    XOXO,
    MM

    • Monica February 15, 2012 / 10:22 am

      Hugs to you Mentha! This “repeat” one was a rare occurence but made my day – I love it when the cards do that๐Ÿ˜‰ Wishing you much luck with the house hunt. Fingers crossed for you xx

  4. Jeri Lawson February 14, 2012 / 2:47 am

    I have done the same thing, only with two decks instead of three. I’m glad to know I am not the only one who has had trouble sitting with a card. Wonderful post!

    • Monica February 15, 2012 / 10:24 am

      Hi Jeri – I knew I wasn’t the only one๐Ÿ˜‰ I really do try not to, except this instance was a pretty big event for me and I couldn’t help it ha ha… Gave the 2 of Cups a definite new meaning for me.

      • Jeri Lawson February 22, 2012 / 1:51 pm

        I LOVE your post. I often do a three card reading with two decks at once, like I’m having a conversation with two other people. These readings have been incredible informative.

  5. woley February 14, 2012 / 3:37 am

    The old Internet connection thingy…

    I don’t think I’ve ever pulled the same card across decks, but that is definitely a pay attention moment. Very neat.

    The Universe is a humorous entity. I like a good laugh myself, it’s like being tickled by the sky.

    • Monica February 15, 2012 / 10:25 am

      Yes, yes indeed – humorous is a good word. The Gods were having a good laugh that day I bet. “tickled by the sky” – what a wonderful way of putting it. Blessings to you!

      • woley February 15, 2012 / 11:31 am

        “Sky Tickler,” new name for the Universe.๐Ÿ˜‰

        Just wanted to say that the Jolanda looks so interesting, but I have pre-ordered the Mary-El this week. I have had the Jolanda on and off the wish list since I saw it here before. Maybe in a couple of months?

  6. Zanna Starr February 14, 2012 / 3:39 am

    Wow, that’s amazing! Like the cards (from that “universal deck of Tarot cards”) were saying, “What part of 2 of Cups did you not understand?!?!?!” LOL

    • Monica February 15, 2012 / 10:26 am

      I know Zanna. It’s very rare for this to happen, but when it does, it’s like you say, “what part of this message aren’t you getting?!!!” Well, it was very accurate!

  7. Prince Le Normand (@princelenormand) February 14, 2012 / 4:43 am

    Great story. And I like all three cards. The Universal Waite one just brings back floods of memories for me. And that Jolanda one is beautiful.

    • Monica February 15, 2012 / 10:28 am

      Thank you dear Prince. I’ve been very taken with the Jolanda, it’s wonderful. As for the Universal RWS, that was my first deck, so I have a long history with it. Many blessings to you.

  8. Pip February 14, 2012 / 5:16 am

    That is so funny!

    • Monica February 15, 2012 / 10:29 am

      Well, quite hilarious really!๐Ÿ™‚

  9. D. D. Syrdal February 15, 2012 / 7:05 am

    Holy crow!๐Ÿ™‚ That is funny. Perhaps this is where you’ll find your heart’s desire, whether person, career direction, it certainly suggests deep contentment.

  10. Monica February 15, 2012 / 10:31 am

    Thank you, yes I’ve been very fortunate indeed. I do love what I’m doing, as well I have time to keep up my tarot/astrology interests which I’m keen to develop further so I’m happy with the whole new direction. This year will be rather epic I can tell๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

