Midheaven in Scorpio

This little three card spread is specific to my Midheaven in Scorpio. Briefly, in astrology the Midheaven stands for career and public standing, among other things. It is one of the critical factors to check out in regards to work, vocation, aspirations and accomplishments. It can also represent the dominant parent in a person’s life, along with any planets placed there.

I have Midheaven in Scorpio, and have spent quite a bit of time trying to find some good information on what exactly this means. For vocation, Scorpio is associated with detective work, occult work, research and sex. It is also the sign of intensity and crisis – and I can personally say this has been true, having undergone a complete transformation in the last few years in terms of career, as well as furthering my interests and studies in what is often referred to “the occult”: tarot, astrology and yoga. What may well annihilate other signs, Scorpio thrives under. Nothing like a good crisis to pit oneself against and come out completely transformed and rejuvenated.

So the question for this spread was, “What is the vocation path indicated by my Midheaven in Scorpio?”

The World to me is all about success, but this is not the 6 of Wands kind of success, it’s more like the end of the journey for the Fool, after all those trials and tribulations and lessons. But ultimately, I see this as well-earned success, and possibly recognition in a field I choose to follow – well, maybe that’s my own wishful thinking he he πŸ™‚ I think with the World this is something that will come later on in life as well.

Together with the Ace of Wands and the Queen of Wands, I got a distinctive sense of being my own boss. From what I’ve read and my own experience as well, Midheaven in Scorpio doesn’t do too well being in a position where it is not appreciated. I mean, nobody does, but with this particular placement it’s a big no-no. At some stage, some form of recognition is important, otherwise the end is near. Either one works in a position with some form of recognition/responsibility (and yes that is tied into power which is a Scorpio keyword), or one works for oneself.

Naturally, as a fire sign, I identify with the Queen of Wands: lots to do, lots to see, lots to learn, many visions to follow. The one thing I didn’t factor in doing this spread, was key planet placement around my Midheaven. I have both Uranus and Mercury smack on my Midheaven and that definitely adds a couple of punches but I’m not experienced enough to fully understand their implication.

Speaking of career and vocation, on the environmental side I am happy to say the new job is going great, I love all the potential projects I am getting involved in, from a local marine turtle strategy, new botanical garden, revegetation projects and other bits and bobs. This is keeping me rather busy though, since I have about a gazillion trees to learn about!! So this is why my blog entries are rather sparse at the moment, and for the forseeable future I can’t see myself writing more than once a week – sorry folks!! It’s also the reason I haven’t been commenting as much on everyone else’s blog, though I do read them and thoroughly enjoy the beautiful, ethereal or plain wacky posts out there πŸ˜‰

Wishing you all a beautiful week ahead.
Much love,
Monica

6 thoughts on “Midheaven in Scorpio

  1. Zanna Starr January 30, 2012 / 6:32 am

    I really enjoyed reading this, Monica. Just out of curiosity, do you use the cusp of the 10th House as the Midheaven? I have been experimenting with using the Equal House System. As you probably know, when you use that system the MC isn’t necessarily the cusp of the 10th House. The MC can fall in a different house. When I use the Equal House System for my chart, my MC is in the 9th House, very close to the cusp of the 10th, but in the 9th, which adds an interesting component to the interpretation. The MC is in Gemini in both systems. (I think I just came up with an idea for a Tarot Notes blog post… so thank you!) πŸ˜€

    • Monica January 30, 2012 / 12:01 pm

      Hi Zanna, I do use the cusp of the 10th as the Midheaven, and so far I have not used the Equal House System – I haven’t explored this option and I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed already ha ha. It’s fascinating though, isn’t it?! πŸ™‚ Looking forward to your blog updates, many blessings.

  2. Ditto January 30, 2012 / 9:34 am

    Happy New Year Monica, I have been thinking about your Scorpio Midheaven and have another couple of career options for an adventurist woman like yourself, Pathologist; Funeral Director and Deep Sea Diver. Although when I look again at the World card in this context, could she be a Pole dancer?

    • Monica January 30, 2012 / 12:06 pm

      Kia ora and Happy New Year to you too πŸ™‚ Ha ha – having a good laugh now. You know, pathologist is quite a good one, what with my upcoming medical astrology course. But Funeral Director!! And as for Deep Sea Diver, I see where that’s coming from but I have a fear of sharks (goes well with my move to Australia)… now Pole Dancer… hmmm…. I think I’ll stick with tarot/astrology/yoga… πŸ™‚ Have a great week and sending you lots of sunshine and tropical heat from the Whitsundays x

  3. Magic Mentha January 31, 2012 / 2:24 am

    Great post. I wish I knew more about the midheaven–maybe I should go read about it right now since I appear to have insomnia.

    Sorry I haven’t commented much lately, either! I too am having trouble keeping up with blogs, mostly because I am distracted mentally and also having to constantly clean and leave the house and all that wacky crap.

    Yes…go be a pole-dancing detective? Just kidding! I thought your description of the card meanings sounded apt. Plus, as a fellow fire sign, I can relate to wanted to be your own boss and wanting to take charge! At the same time I have too much Pisces in my chart to be truly effective so I guess I lose out. LOL.

    Your job sounds stimulating, outdoorsy and worthwhile. It’s the kind of thing i might do if I was even remotely good at math or science. I’m such a painfully right-brained person with the math skills of a 5-year-old, but botany (particularly herbalism, etc) has always appealed to me. My little sister, the Sag with a Taurus moon and Virgo rising, actually is currently applying for a job which sounds fairly similar to what you’re describing–at least in terms of sustainable botanical work. She has an environmental biology and Spanish degree (double major). She’s just about to graduate and is seeking out jobs.

    Anyway, sorry–I was just thinking about the concept of this type of work so it’s nice to read you’re enjoying the work for the most part.

    Looking forward to your next post, whenever that may be.

    Hugs,
    MM

    • Monica February 4, 2012 / 1:33 pm

      Hi Mentha!!

      Thank you for the great comment πŸ™‚ Wishing your sister all the best with the job hunt – it can be frustrating but worthwhile…. As for my next post, I haven’t had internet in a week as I’m trying to sort out a new connection and here they need like three types of ID and your blood signature so it will be a few more days before I get something up again… I’m with you on the herbalism study – I’m saving this year for some more tarot and astro stuff though. Will be posting again soon πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

