White Magic, Black Magic

I did this spread while on holiday in Romania, and recorded it as I thought it’s rather interesting. In Romania, the practice of magic is largely confined to the gypsy (or Romany) people. This does include both white and black magic, as well as both genuine practitioners and charlatans alike. Unfortunately the more mainstream and educated Romanian populace look down at what they perceive primitive and uneducated practices of magic, and there is a lot of biased media attention on this subject. So I did this spread one night after seeing some news item about a black witch and another on a white witch. It’s a highly – highly – controversial topic back home, not least because of deeply ingrained issues of racism and hate.

I asked two questions:

1. What is white magic? The universe
2. What is black magic? 7 of Cups – Illusions of success

Initially I had a very black and white notion of the answer – as in, white magic is good and black magic is an illusion and don’t even think about going there. But now I think the answer is really saying that with black magic, there is the danger of losing oneself if not careful, of going too far in the smoky haze between the worlds if not being well grounded and having a good grip on reality. You may think you are in control, but are you really? Aleister Crowley came to mind here.

I guess I’ve started exploring this topic – magic in general – as I do feel drawn to certain aspects of it, largely natural magic (as opposed to ceremonial magic) and I’m definitely starting to investigate more in-depth the properties of crystals and herbs. So far I’ve just spent a lot of time researching organic gardening principles as there is a decent size raised bed where I’m living, and I’m looking into planting a whole lot of herbs (and vegetables!) for use.

Most of it is bare except for grass clippings, but the soil is very rich and looks perfect. I’ve spent the past week removing the grass weed from it, and last night sowed the green manure seeds for nitrogen-fixing. The whole process feels very Empress-like, but there’s a lot of preparation and patience required since I’ll be doing it all organic style…

Hope you all have a beautiful week ahead,
Monica

 

9 thoughts on “White Magic, Black Magic

  1. D. D. Syrdal January 22, 2012 / 4:59 pm

    The terms ‘white magic’ and ‘black magic’ have largely fallen out of favor with pagans/Witches/Wiccans here in the US. The usual line is all magic is magic; it’s a tool, like electricity. Only the intent of the caster distinguishes it. Any spell (‘white’ or ‘black’) could have good or bad consequences depending on your perspective. A spell for a job seems harmless, until you consider who might lose out on the job if you get it instead. It all has ramifications for more than just one person, that sort of thing.

    If you’re interested in herbal magic, I’d recommend Scott Cunningham’s book “Encyclopedia of Magical Herbs.” You might also be interested in his “Encyclopedia of Crystal, Gem and Metal Magic.”

    Good luck with the garden! It sounds wonderful, I wish I had time but I can’t even keep up with watering the grass in the summer.

    • Monica January 22, 2012 / 9:04 pm

      Well that’s interesting. I wasn’t aware such terms have fallen out as you say (but then again, I am a beginner)… Still, for me there is a clear distinction, in that black magic is something performed on a person without their request/permission. I really love Scott’s work, his books are slowly making their way into my library – the man is a legend. There is something really grounded and peaceful about the way he writes… Have a great week, xx

  2. Lisa January 22, 2012 / 11:35 pm

    Lovely post, Monica! Interesting, apt cards and thoughts. I don’t care what terms you use or if they are outdated. There is magic which is a rampant expression of a person’s ego. I’d consider that black magick. White magick is concerned with the greater good of all. You hit your head on the nail – people who practice black magick are in grave danger of losing themselves. xx

    • Monica January 24, 2012 / 9:17 pm

      Thank you Lisa – it’s a rather contentious topic, eh? I’ll keep learning and quite look forward to growing my own herbs for experimentation. Have a beautiful day, Monica.

  3. Zanna Starr January 23, 2012 / 2:56 am

    Fascinating post, Monica! From my (limited) perspective, your interpretation is right on. However, I do understand what D. D. Syrdal is saying.

    • Monica January 24, 2012 / 9:18 pm

      Hi Zanna! Thought it was a nice little spread for y’all🙂 I was reluctant to post it since I know every man and his dog has a different opinion, but I can’t censor myself now, can I?!🙂 Many blessings.

  4. Sharyn/AJ January 23, 2012 / 2:58 am

    I think as soon as we are old enough to reason we begin the practice of magic and it has nothing to do with witches, it has to do with knowing right and wrong and the intent of our thoughts.

    On the other hand, Moon Magic is my choice🙂
    But there again if I stop to think about it, the moon can be cloudy or clear…seen or unseen.
    It is a funny old world, Sharyn

    • Monica January 24, 2012 / 9:19 pm

      Magic words in there, Sharyn. Bull’s eye. Many quirky blessings to you🙂

  5. Shaheen Miro January 25, 2012 / 5:33 pm

    What an interesting thing to ask about. I love the cards you received. I like your interpretation. Magic is pure energy… it has no true color, just intention. But sometimes not even we know the higher purpose that could be at work. I just always ask that it be the best for all.

Leave a Reply

