Work Power Magic

Above we have the significance of the Spider for me – I actually asked about the spiritual significance of the Spider in my life, since I love these guys. As I shuffled the Magician actually fell out, but I put it back and continued to shuffle and cut.

I would say that Work and Power equals the Magician, no? The Spider has always been a good omen for me. I used to watch them as a child, endlessly spinning their web. And I have to be honest and say that living in tropical Queensland has really challenged my feelings for this amazing creature.

See what I mean? The pic above is from my bathroom, 4am in the morning. As a friend pointed out on Facebook, when the spider is bigger than the lizard, you have a problem🙂 Still, I couldn’t bear to even remove it – I just left it to wonder around. It’s a Queensland Whistling Tarantula, though I think the name is more ferocious than the critter.

In the spread above, I thought the 3 of Pentacles relates to weaving work, spinning the web of life, of interconnectedness, of eternity. The 9 of Wands I relate to personal autonomy, integrity, and transformation. Part of my journey over the last few years has been reclaiming my own power, reclaiming what has been taken from me, and in a sense it’s a bit like calling your soul back to you – Caroline Myss and Clarissa Pinkola Estes have written at length about such journeys and how imperative they are on the path towards healing.

Wishing you all a beautiful week weaving the threads of your own lives,
Monica

 

10 thoughts on “Work Power Magic

  1. Zanna Starr January 16, 2012 / 3:41 pm

    Monica, you are braver than I am about spiders! I do love all creatures (well, most of them) — and I enjoy watching spiders from a safe distance. But I think I would pass out if I saw one like that in my house, loose and on the move!

    What a cool idea to ask the cards about your connection to spiders. I must try that with the animals I feel drawn to — cats, wolves, walruses (yes, I said walruses)…

    • Monica January 18, 2012 / 10:01 am

      Hi Zanna – well I know it’s a bit odd, though I admit I completely freak out when I see a cockroach🙂 Irrational fears, what can I say…

      Hmmmm walruses. Yep, first time I hear that one ha ha🙂

  2. Prince Le Normand January 16, 2012 / 9:04 pm

    After seeing that spider, I found it hard to concentrate on what you were saying about the cards, lol. I don’t have a problem with spiders really, but boy, that’s a biggun!!!

    PLN

    • Monica January 18, 2012 / 10:03 am

      Hee he he🙂 Thankfully its bite is not fatal, although it does say vomiting for up to 6 hours may occur. Poor thing was really terrified of me actually, which is why I couldn’t get close enough for closeup photos.

  3. Magic Mentha January 17, 2012 / 3:05 am

    I see what you mean…

    Cool reading, though. Maybe it’s your totem animal. It’s big enough to be one. :p Aren’t tarantulas generally pretty mellow and safe? I don’t know. Don’t ask me–I am not an expert.

    Hugs,
    MM

    • Zanna Starr January 17, 2012 / 3:14 am

      I wrote a children’s book about a tarantula named Rosita (no publisher yet). In my research, I found that some types of tarantulas are more aggressive than others. Some seem to make fairly mellow “pets.” However, they are so fragile, I would be afraid to have one for fear of killing it accidentally.

      • Monica January 18, 2012 / 10:07 am

        I hear you. I feel it’s meant to be out and about killing the huge cockroaches. Which get pretty big around here, believe me!! Rosita, eh. I must think of good names for it. I think Rosita is pretty cool though.

    • Monica January 18, 2012 / 10:05 am

      Mentha – it definitely is my totem animal even though I have not “journeyed”. I know. This fellow is rather scared of humans, every time I approached him it would start to run silly. Not fatal as well🙂

  4. submerina January 17, 2012 / 4:41 pm

    THIS is a brilliant idea! I do _not_ feel the same way about spiders – I am phobic – but doing a spread on their significance would be verrrrry interesting. Living in the southern hemisphere most of my life, I also had several unexpected “encounters” at inopportune times. Those 4am bathroom sightings are the best😀

    • Monica January 18, 2012 / 10:08 am

      Yes. Best not get up at all in the middle of the night around here… I swear this whole house turns into a jungle…

Leave a Reply

