Vocation path studies

Today I asked – yet again – about my vocation path. I really hoped the cards would narrow my choices down for me, but not really. The details of the spread above are as follows:

1. Tarot – The Sun
2. Astrology – Ace of Cups
3. Yoga – 8 of Wands
4. Herbal Medicine – 10 of Cups

The last card underneath the deck was The World. They all look pretty good as far as pursuing for study and vocation, I reckon. Naturally, The Sun being the only major places more emphasis on Tarot, but all paths looks beautiful for me :)

I guess I’ve done this spread far more than I care to count, since doubt is sometimes a necessary part of life. I also did another spread specifically on studying Medical Astrology this year. My intent in doing this spread was to find out if it’s a good option for me. I drew three cards and was surprised to get three majors, just like that.

Here I see the Hierophant as the teaching of knowledge within a structured system. Astrology is actually very structured and organised, not to mention it is an occult science and art – the quintessential Hierophant knowledge. Judgement is definitely a great card to get when having doubts about following a path. I guess it does depend on the surrounding cards, but I’ve always felt it is a very positive sign, though a bit intense. As for the Wheel of Fortune, I see this as a student and teacher interaction, more than anything else.

So I reckon around April I’ll enrol for an online course and just go with it :) Until then, I have plenty to keep me busy, such as checking out the local cafes, going for walks through the national parks, not to mention the beaches!! Though, to be fair, I’ll be honest and admit swimming isn’t exactly advisable at this time of year – deadly jellyfish are flourishing over the summer months. It wouldn’t be Australia without some poisonous or deadly wildlife around… For your viewing pleasure, I’ll end with the most spectacular sight to grace my eyes in a long while…

Source: wettropics.gov.au

Yes, Ulysses butterfly, and they are rather abundant in the lush forest. Bliss.

Many blessings to you all,



18 thoughts on “Vocation path studies

  1. KittyNoir504 January 7, 2012 / 10:40 pm

    Thank you so much, I am so shocked that I won your give away! :D

    I am so happy to hear you are adjusting so well in the country that is so dear to my heart! And this butterfly is absolutely gorgeous! Did you really see one up close?

    Medical astrology sounds so fanscinating, I can’t wait to hear how the class goes. I need to do a career reading for myself, tarot or being a trolley dolly again.

    Light and love

    • Monica January 10, 2012 / 9:26 pm

      You are most welcome! :) Yes I did see quite a few flying around – none as close as the photo above, but just in front of me, fluttering around, and you can’t really miss them, it’s an incredible irredescent blue that pulsates through the green foliage… very trippy!! Many blessings.

  2. Zanna Starr January 8, 2012 / 2:48 am

    Interesting cards, Monica! I look forward to hearing more about your journey.

    • Monica January 10, 2012 / 9:27 pm

      Thank you Zanna! I will certainly be sharing my experiences once I start. Many blessings.

  3. Lisa January 8, 2012 / 3:05 am

    Nice to see someone else using the Jolanda Tarot! They are all indeed lovely vocational choices but the Tarot seems emphasised. I suppose there’s nothing to say you can’t do it all :D Medical astrology sounds absolutely fascinating and I hope to learn more about it from your blogs. Brightest blessings, Lisa

    • Monica January 10, 2012 / 9:28 pm

      Hello Lisa – I do love the Jolanda. I only got it late last year, and I truly love it. I definitely look forward to studying something so alternative and fascinating as medical astrology… can’t wait!! Many blessings.

      • KittyNoir504 January 10, 2012 / 9:41 pm

        I’m with Magic Mentha: do them all LOL! It seems that no matter what you choose, you can’t go wrong!

        I have loved the Swedish Witch Tarot since I first saw it on Lisa’s blog a couple of years ago. I like this new version of it because I love anything purple, but the boarders do seem to be a bit wider.

        I am looking forward to the day when I shall see one of these butterflies myself! Although I had to laugh at Submerina’s comment about everything being out to kill you in a horrible, nocrotizing manner LOL! My friend who moved there almost a year ago posted a picture on FB the other day of a redback or what we call a black widow over here. They say they are even more toxic in Oz. I am truly looking forward to some of the wildlife. Some of it though, not so much! ;-)

        Holy cow! The bizarre connection I seem to have with Australia. I just say my friend in Adelaide just tagged me in a post! We will have to meet for tea and tarot when I finally make it there!

        Light and love,

  4. D. D. Syrdal January 8, 2012 / 4:13 am

    My gosh, they do all seem like the cards are saying any one of them would be good. Maybe they’re indicating you can combine them, with an emphasis on Tarot?

    That butterfly is gorgeous, what a sight that must have been! Do you see them often? Lucky girl! :)

    • Monica January 10, 2012 / 9:30 pm

      Uh-huh, they do, don’t they?!! I do think I’ll end up doing them all, but who knows how I’ll go about studying sooo much (the Sagittarius rolls her eyes…) :) You see the butterflies in the local forests so not outside of it (like not on the beaches). Very very amazing! Many blessings.

  5. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) January 8, 2012 / 4:46 am

    Do them all! We live in an age where we HAVE to do everything, all the time. I can’t decide either. So just do what you can, when you can and don’t worry about pigeonholing yourself!

    Of course, I do find that focusing on one or two things, maximum, at any particular time frame does help, but you don’t have to eschew the other things entirely–just take turns!

    Have a lovely one,

    • Monica January 10, 2012 / 9:33 pm

      Yes! Yes!! Do them all! As it says on the card from Baba Studio (I just got the Bohemian Cats!!) “Nothing succeeds like excess” from my good friend Oscar Wilde. Big hug and many blessings!

      • Magic Mentha January 15, 2012 / 6:32 pm

        Great quote!

        I really think people are so multi-faceted and really embracing that more and more nowadays. It causes some chaos and confusion but it can be worth it. I think. I’m still figuring that out.

        Massive Minty Mwahs,

  6. woley January 8, 2012 / 6:08 am

    I keep putting the Jolanda on and off my wish list. Maybe in a few months when I get some money. Book Depository has affordable copies.

    Medical Astrology sounds interesting. Lots of people are medical intuitives so you might combine that with cards perhaps?

    • Monica January 10, 2012 / 9:34 pm

      I’m not really sure if I’ll blend the two together, but at this stage in life, who knows really, eh. I’ll definitely be mixing it with Bach Flower essences and further down the line the Australian Bush Flower essences. Let the journey begin! Many blessings.

  7. submerina January 8, 2012 / 12:34 pm

    Just to be difficult, I’m going to pick the 10 Cups – herbal medicine ;) it seems more… satisfying and out-there. Astrology seems to be the beginning of something (leading to the 10C?) and yoga will quicken your fire fo’ sho’! I think it’s interesting that there’s The Sun and then The Night in the 10Cv- a beautiful balance. But really, with The World as the shadow, you really can’t go wrong!

    I know I’ve blogged somewhere before that Oz is the land where everything is actively out to kill you in some nasty, paralysing, necrotic way. I’d give that butterfly a wide berth ;D

    p.s. Please could you link me to the medical astrology course? it sounds FASCINATING and all kinds of up-my-street.

    • Monica January 10, 2012 / 9:39 pm

      Yeah, I just can’t let go of my green-fingered-witchy-poo love of herbs. Sigh. He he, yes Oz is the land of critters and I’ve given up trying to stay bite-free: it’s futile. The course I’m interested is an online one, run by Judith Hill. Here’s the link:

      There’s also one I think by an author called Marcia Starck that I’ll be looking into. Excitiiiing, eh?!! Many blessings.

      • submerina January 17, 2012 / 4:37 pm

        Ooh, thanks! I will have to get myself quite a bit more “edumacated” before I sign up for that course. I get lost somewhere around “transits” and “returns” :)

        Keep us up-to-date with how it goes?

  8. Keri January 11, 2012 / 1:01 pm

    That butterfly is GORGEOUS!!!

Leave a Reply

