2012 New Year Tarot Spread

Today I composed a simple five card spread on my year ahead. I’m sure there are plenty of similar variations out there, and my one is by no means very original, but I love the simplicity of it. I used my favourite deck, the Haindl Tarot, and chose 5 cards specifically for a pentagram shape.

1. My card for this year: The Lovers
I wasn’t really expecting this one. I’d rather not contemplate what it will bring, since it will be either a new relationship or a testing choice. Possibly both, really, but I am rather determined to have a focus on my work and studies.

2. The challenges of this year: 10 of Wands – Oppression
Doing too much and having too many things happen at once is very Sagittarius. And then one gets overburdened. You’d think this would be a lesson learned by now, but no. I am planning on studying Medical Astrology online, as well as Bach Flower Essences. In between getting to grips with a new job where I actually do have a lot to learn, mainly about tree species though which I really love. Still, it looks like it may be wise to wait a few months until I’m settled into my work before starting the astrology course or the Bach Flower studies.

3. What I will achieve this year: King of Cups – Odin
I would like this to mean some progress towards work as a tarot reader, however I’m not sure exactly. I’m very weary of reading for others at the moment, even though it’s been hinted at more than once (word does get around…) My main reason is that I am in a new place and it’s not a big city, plus I have to be careful of keeping my tarot work and my environmental work completely separate. I’m sure in a few months’ time it will be fine, so perhaps I’ll be employing the King of Cups qualities further down the line.

4. What I need to focus on this year: Prince of Wands – Krishna
I loved to see this card in the “focus” place: it says, keep things light and fun. Keep an open mind and a playful attitude. Keep learning and have an open attitude toward life.

5. What I will learn this year: 10 of Stones – Richness
I will learn about building firm and secure foundations, about the importance of friends and community in general, about the value of physical, material things. It’s about enjoying life without over-indulging. Rachel Pollack writes, “The Ten of Stones refers to a good life, to health, and to a sense of solid reality. Like the Universe, it shows the materialization of the person’s hopes and desires.

Many blessings,
Monica

15 thoughts on “2012 New Year Tarot Spread

  1. Zanna Starr January 2, 2012 / 3:58 am

    Very nice spread, Monica! I thought The Haindl worked very well in this, and love your interpretations! Happy New Year!

    • Monica January 2, 2012 / 2:39 pm

      Thank you Zanna šŸ™‚ My thoughts were the same regarding card placement and meanings too. Happy New Year to you too. Many blessings.

  2. D. D. Syrdal January 2, 2012 / 8:06 am

    What a wonderful spread for the new year! It all looks very good.

    I keep kicking around the idea of reading publicly, but after a couple readings I’ve done recently I’m not sure I have the stamina. I had forgotten how much people like to read into everything you tell them, and try to twist it to what they want to hear. I don’t blame you for being burned out on that.

    Maybe that King of Cups is the new man hinted at in the Lovers?

    • Monica January 2, 2012 / 2:44 pm

      šŸ™‚ Thank you – and may I say I do understand your reticence to read in public… still, I would encourage you to keep going. A great reading with one person makes up for all the mediocre or awful ones, and gives you a tangible realisation of how useful tarot is. Also, regarding stamina, I have to say I’m not too keen on the whole “day of readings” or anything that intense anymore – yep, very draining. But spacing them out so you only see one person a day or something like that works better… Hmm I didn’t link the King of Cups with a new man – possibly because I feel it’s too early and also I’m keen on getting to grips with my work. Plus my other studies… I guess time will tell šŸ˜‰ Many blessings.

  3. Sharyn January 3, 2012 / 2:43 am

    Love always comes when you least expect it ~
    All the best in the new year!

    • Monica January 4, 2012 / 1:16 am

      Wise words there Sharyn šŸ˜‰ Thank you and many blessings to you.

  4. Jason January 3, 2012 / 4:47 am

    Hi Monica,

    I just wanted to say I enjoyed seeing your reading here, with your honesty about the cards. (Such as your reluctance to see The Lovers.)

    I think I’ll borrow this spread. Those are good questions for a short and structured reading.

    Happy new year!

    • Monica January 4, 2012 / 1:19 am

      Hi Jason – thank you for your comment, much appreciated. Short, succint spreads are so useful and often straightforward if the energy and intent is clear. Hope you have a great New Year ahead too. Many blessings.

  5. Lisa January 5, 2012 / 1:58 am

    Hi Monica, nice spread. I came up with something similar in terms of the shape for new year’s eve – just one more card at the centre of the spread – and different meanings for the positions (elemental pentagram). Focusing on the Prince of Wands energies sounds fun… and what if following your passion and having fun leads to the 10 of Pentacles space? Yay! Wishing you a fabulous 2012!

    • Monica January 5, 2012 / 9:47 pm

      Hi Lisa, thank you! I do look forward to a carefree yet settled year – it will be an interesting combination to maintain šŸ˜‰ Happy New Year to you too and a beautiful year ahead. Many blessings.

  6. ressacar January 2, 2014 / 8:02 am

    I just used it for 2014, thank you for sharing! btw the Haindl tarot is beautiful

    • Monica January 7, 2014 / 11:49 pm

      Thank you, enjoy!

  7. Ranie Bhalla January 6, 2014 / 6:58 pm

    Hi Monica ,
    I liked your spread and trued in me with playing cards . And I think seeing the cards looks fairly good according to my circumstances.
    Just wanted to ask that do we have to read suit meanings like heart over spade mean healed feelings etc. ? Can we ?
    Wishing you a lovely and blessed New Year ahead .
    With love .
    Ranie ..

    • Monica January 13, 2014 / 10:04 am

      Hello, thank you for your comment – I am not sure what your question truly means – but each suit has a distinctive set of meanings, for example cups relate to feelings, emotions, whereas pentacles are about practical, material stuff. I hope this makes sense. Monica

Leave a Reply

