Frogs, winners and 2012


One thing about living near the tropics is the abundance of wildlife. The house I am living in is rather rustic and usually the windows and doors are left open, night-time included. The other night I came across this little fellow, wandering across the hallway heading for the bathroom. To say I am a frog fan would be an understatement. As it is, I’ve mentioned my affinity for these creatures in my childhood story here. Aside from this, frogs are revered in many cultures as symbols of fertility and goodluck, and I’m rather happy to have not just one but a few of them wondering about, inside and outside the house. 🙂 One in particular has a habit of climbing up the stairs to the back door at night and sitting on the entrance green mat watching the night pass by…

Finally I am happy to announce the two winners to my giveaway are Merriam and Krysten – I used the stock standard random number generator to decide this round as I wanted it to be, well, random. Please email me at tarotinateacup at gmail dot com with an address and I’ll post a little something your way… it may be a while though, realistically looking at the middle of January after I settle down some more… but it will be well worth the wait 😉

And today being the last day of 2011, I drew three cards on the year ahead. I’ve also done a twelve card month by month spread separately, but felt like a general three card would be a nice addition.

The 5 of Swords feels like being pinned down after a hectic upheaval, what with all the travel and changes of last year. It is now time to rest and recover, though it’s also bringing a vibe of intensity and fears – notably the full moon and the complete darkness above the hermit… I see the 4 of Pentacles as a very solid foundation for me – the security of castle walls keeping the rough seas outside at bay. The structure provides a secure haven for me to grow and develop. In some ways, I see this as me being – finally – in a place of structure and secure foundations from which I draw the necessary resources to explore my interests in tarot, astrology and yoga, as well as getting some excellent experience in environmental issues and projects. Lastly, there’s the 10 of Cups. Happiness, contentment, emotional fulfilment and joy. One of my favourite cards, really, and I think it’s about making new connections and friendships where I am now, which I didn’t think would happen that easily but it is. One of the more difficult decisions about relocating was the fact that I did so on my own, and my now ex-partner stayed in Melbourne. We remain very close friends, but despite this it was the part I found more challenging, even though we both acknowledged our relationship was ending quite a while back. So the 10 of Cups for 2012 is a beautiful confirmation of new friendships and a sense of community developing around me.

Happy New Year everyone!

Many blessings,
Monica

4 thoughts on “Frogs, winners and 2012

  1. D. D. Syrdal January 1, 2012 / 3:54 am

    Oh my, I had wondered if you had split with your partner. I hope you’re ok, those are some major changes for you. We are all here for you! It sounds like you’re adjusting well, but I’m sure it will take time to fully get into the new routine.

    I love your little frog!! I’m a frog fanatic too, I have some tiny green ones in my yard that I have to chase out of the lawn before I mow it. I see them clinging to my rose bushes sometimes, I’ll have to try to get pics in the spring when they come back. THEY’RE SO CUTE! 😀

    Congrats to the giveaway winners! I’m sure they’ll enjoy what you send. Happy 2012! It feels to me like you’re off to a great start.

    • Monica January 1, 2012 / 8:07 pm

      Thank you for your warm wishes and I have to say that despite the sacrifices and challenges, I know it’s the right move for me. And I’m glad to read I’m not the only frog fan out there 🙂 Wish you Happy New Year and much happy blogging! Blessings.

  2. submerina January 1, 2012 / 2:55 pm

    *eeeeeeeeee* Froggie!!!! 😀 You’re so lucky (and you too, DD) I need to move from this semi-desert stronghold to somewhere where there’s wildlife again…

    I am sorry to hear that your move wasn’t without sacrifice, but I hope you _do_ find the wonderful sense of community and togetherness that the 10C promises!

    A very happy new year to you – I guess it’s happened by now, so let us know what to expect 😉

    • Monica January 1, 2012 / 8:08 pm

      Hello submerina 😉 I highly recommend a place with lots of wildlife – I think there’s something to be said about being surrounded by some form of wildness and nature. It’s good for the soul. Wait until I post some gecko photos up he he!! Happy New Year again to you and many blessings.

Leave a Reply

