Cultivating magic

The Magician (Herkimer Diamond) - Knight of Wands (Iron) - 10 of Coins (Tiger's Eye)

The spread above was done using Annikin Divination, a free tarot website where you can choose from a plethora of decks and spreads and get a free reading. I’m more fond of the tangible shuffle, but sometimes it’s nice to try other decks out, if only virtually (thanks to Mentha for sharing this online tarot gem, I am now mildly addicted).

I drew the above yesterday morning, and wondered what it was all about. Looking back now, to me it speaks of the evening movie we saw, Urban Roots. In Melbourne, the community owned Ross House organization has a screening once a month for an environmental or sustainability related movie. Urban Roots “follows the urban farming phenomenon in Detroit. Urban Roots is a timely, moving and inspiring film that speaks to a nation grappling with collapsed industrial towns and the need to forge a sustainable and prosperous future.”

If I were to link the three cards above, creating urban farms from desolate lots is the act of the Magician, with the help of visionary and idealistic people represented by the Knight of Wands, in creating communities that are healthy, vibrant and sustaining generations, which is the 10 of Pentacles. It is truly an inspiring movie. I was really moved by people’s recognition that something just had to be done and they simply took the matter into their own hands (very Uranus in Aries energy that one!).

Highly recommended!
Many blessings,
Monica

In many ways, the urban farmers in Detroit are like most of us in that we are all experiencing the painful transition from the industrial, centralized world to a post-industrial world in which the jobs are changing, the economy is changing, the neighborhoods are changing and it seems like we have no control over the outcome.

Well, enter urban farming, a way in which individuals can take control over something so critical as food that in the very act of growing it, they not only feed themselves, they also become healthier, more self-reliant and in some cases they become entrepreneurs. And most remarkable, they create a new approach to community, the economy and life overall.

So when everything collapses, this urban farming story of Detroit demonstrates that one good option is that people come together to solve their problems, and discover that the fiber of community is powerful.  And, we hope so powerful that it will prevail when the old, larger forces, the very same ones that have created the collapse in the first place, don’t override this beautiful upwelling of the human spirit.” Leila Conners, Producer

9 thoughts on “Cultivating magic

  1. Zanna Starr November 10, 2011 / 1:49 am

    Oh dear, Monica, I want this deck. I started making jewelry a year ago, and I love using gemstones. And the urban farming story is so interesting. There’s a farm in Chicago called City Farm that I wrote about in one of my books. So I’m connecting with this blog post on various levels! Thanks for sharing the Annikin Divination site as well!

    • Monica November 10, 2011 / 1:31 pm

      Oh I want this deck too!!! Like, a lot! From what I’ve seen it’s well put together, and great for readings – amazing when you consider it’s only showing gemstones and crystals, but the way they’ve been captured gives it depth and beauty. I do have a fondness for crystals, though I don’t have many (only about 5) since I’ve moved country… and I am dubious about how sustainable mining them is. Sigh.

      I was not aware you have written about urban farms or similar topics – please share the book details! Good food is close to my heart🙂

      Many blessings!

  2. Magic Mentha November 10, 2011 / 6:13 am

    Sounds like a great movie. I may have to check it out.🙂

    Hugs and Deck Addiction,
    MM

    • Monica November 10, 2011 / 1:32 pm

      Yes, deck addiction, indeed. For the moment I’m keeping with the Gemstones and Crystals, I can see myself getting this deck. Get better soon!

      Blessings xx

      • Magic Mentha November 10, 2011 / 5:54 pm

        I have that deck and it’s really excellent. I do recommend it. When I first purchased it I feared it would read as ‘cold’…you know, because it’s stones, but actually it has a really interesting feel, and I like the way they tie the meanings to the various stones. Plus it’s visually really stunning, I think.

  3. woley November 11, 2011 / 3:37 am

    I have this deck and I love it. If you are a gemstone collector you can lay all the cards out and put a piece of matching stone or crystal on each card–very soothing meditation.

    I started making jewellery after I got this deck and I’m not sure I believe in the magical properties of such things but I did buy The Crystal Bible by Judy Hall and enjoy reading about the stones and where they are mined etc. while drawing a card from this deck.

    The photography is stunning as MM says.

    There is no such thing as deck addiction, just curious humans going about in life learning new things!😉

    • Zanna Starr November 11, 2011 / 3:47 am

      I ordered the deck. How could I not? LOL. I really like your meditation suggestion, Woley, and The Crystal Bible sounds interesting!

      • Monica November 11, 2011 / 12:53 pm

        I just received my Jolanda deck yesterday (review coming up soon!) but this is definitely next on my list. Can’t wait to get my hot little hands on it!!! Have fun shuffling it and looking forward to any insights or spreads you do with it.

        Many blessings.

    • Monica November 11, 2011 / 12:50 pm

      Nice suggestion – will be trying the meditation out when I get the deck (won’t be too far away). I do believe gemstones have healing abilities, though I have not tried this out so at present it’s more of an intuition – I would love to explore this in the near future. I do have an issue with where and how these are mined though. I stopped buying and wearing gold for this reason (I’m not a fan of it anyway), so I will look at “sustainable” options – but really is there such a thing with carving the earth.

      No such thing as a deck addiction. At all😉

      Many blessings.

Leave a Reply

