Two frogs

Above we have my cards for today from the super wonderful Fairytale Tarot, courtesy of Karen and Alex at Baba Studio. A rather good mix for today, and even the weather matched with a tropical high reaching about 29 Celsius. For those who may like what they see above, there are about seven (7!!) kits left over at Baba Studio with a very reasonable price – the kit contains the deck and the book, and this is one deck where you want the book, trust me here🙂 This gem arrived a couple of days ago, and if I had the money I would seriously order a second one. They already sell for a ridiculous amount on Amazon…

The cards above I think refer in general to my whole weekend, since both yesterday and today I was doing work (8 of Pentacles) that I love (4 of Wands) in reading tarot. The Page of Wands is rather interesting though, since overall it’s a rather dark time for our Vassilisa. I think this refers specifically to today’s reading, where I had to hold the torch for someone trying to come out of a deep troublesome darkness. I cannot of course go into specific details, aside from saying the gravity of the situation made for an intense and challenging reading.

The situation this person is in reminded me of a similar time in my own life and a fairytale I heard as a child. I thought I’d share this here, so grab a cup of tea and make yourself comfortable. I should actually also say that this fairytale was completely buried in the depths of my mind and I only remembered it during an epic crisis. One day, during this epic crisis, it just burst forward from out of nowhere. I do not know who wrote the original, and my rendition here is based on my memories, so if any readers out there know who wrote this please share.

Once upon a time like no other time…
Once upon a time two frogs were wondering about in a forest. It was a beautiful day and they were having a wonderful time exploring and enjoying the beauty all around. As they wandered here and there, they came across a lovely cottage, and a delicious aroma was floating in the air. Curious as they be, they saw the kitchen windows open and proceeded to enter… They couldn’t believe their luck when right in the middle of the kitchen table sat a big jar of cream, and despite some apprehensions, they both jumped right in and proceeded to devour the tasty cream. There was so much of it in fact they couldn’t even finish it. Having had enough to fill their bellies, it was time to leave. To their horror, they realised the jar was too tall for them to jump out of! And so they tried and tried, over and over again, to climb out, but each time they slid back down, and hours passed.

“I can’t keep on going” said one, finally exhausted.
“You have to, otherwise you’ll sink and drown in the cream” replied her companion. “You must keep going!”

And so they kept at it, alas to no avail. There seemed no way out at all. Every attempt was futile, with no escape in sight and no way out. Eventually, the first frog again began to slow down, and eventually stopped. Exhausted, she sank into the cream and drowned. Her friend, shocked and horrified, mustered up the last of her energy and kept on trying to jump out. Not long after, something strange started happening: she felt the cream change texture, and before she knew it, she could actually feel it solid under her feet. The constant beating of the cream by her feet had finally turned it into butter. She couldn’t believe her luck, and after resting a little while on the block of butter, she finally pushed herself against it and jumped out of the jar. Free at last, she ran to the forest and enjoyed a happy long life.

Many blessings,
Monica

6 thoughts on “Two frogs

  1. Sharyn/AJ October 24, 2011 / 1:58 am

    I found trying to use this deck was exhausting, I finally gave it to Grizabella.
    Good luck! Sharyn

    • Monica October 24, 2011 / 12:45 pm

      Smile😉 Yes it’s not an easy deck as such, but so far it’s working very well for me. Sometimes it is difficult because of the extra layers and it’s not a rush-job kind of deck, time and patience required. I’m gutted the cards are so thin, since it means I won’t be using it with clients or very much at all… Blessings.

  2. Digital Dame October 24, 2011 / 4:25 am

    Your fairytale reminds me of Dory in “Finding Nemo” singing “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming”😀

    I am torn on this deck. I can’t say I much care for the artwork. Generally l love anything from Baba Studio, but this one… not so much.

    I have to do a reading for someone today in a very bad situation. Not looking forward to it. It’s over email which is not good, or not as good as in person anyway. Just hope I’ll have something positive to pass along.

    • Monica October 24, 2011 / 12:51 pm

      Seems you are not the only one, huh. Tarot decks are such a personal thing, though, everyone has a different energy they get out of a particular deck.

      It would have been good if a skype or similar could have been arranged for such difficult readings. I understand it’s not always possible, but in grave situations communication is so necessary. I do hope all goes well – in the sense that, even if the cards do not all come out rosy (and the reality is so often reflected in the cards), there is some advice or information as to the path to take or what to do or simply acknowledge and accept the situation. All the best with it. Blessings.

  3. Chloe (@ChloeTarot) October 24, 2011 / 9:18 am

    Wow, that’s a pretty gory fairytale (aren’t all the best ones). I think it will float about in the depths of my mind, and I wonder what will solidify there after a time…
    Thanks for sharing,
    Chloë

    • Monica October 24, 2011 / 12:53 pm

      Thank you Chloe!🙂 I knew, the moment I remembered it, why it surfaced. What are the odds of remembering something like this after 25 years plus, instantly. There is magic in the air.

      Blessings!

Leave a Reply

